Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Award-winning Author Donna McDine, Author of The Golden Pathway.


We welcome Award-winning Author Donna McDine to Mymcbooks Blog.

Biography

Donna McDine is an award-winning children’s author, Honorable Mention in the 77th and two Honorable Mentions in the 78th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competitions. Donna’s stories and features have been published in many print and online publications and her interest in American History resulted in writing and publishing The Golden Pathway. Donna has two more books under contract with Guardian Angel Publishing, The Hockey Agony and Powder Monkey. She writes, moms and is the Publicist Intern for The National Writing for Children Center and Children’s Writers’ Coaching Club from her home in the historical hamlet Tappan, NY. McDine is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators and Musing Our Children.

Learn more about Donna at: http://www.donnamcdine.com Sign the guestbook, you’ll receive a FREE e-Book Write What Inspires You: Author Interviews, http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com and http://www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com

Donna McDine, children’s author – interview with Ella Johnson (Mymcbooks Blog)

Interview

What is the last book you read?

 Abithica by Susan Goldsmith – I had the privilege of reading and writing a media release for Ms. Goldsmith’s debut novel due outJune 15, 2011 by Twilight Times Books

What were your earliest memories of writing?

Looking back on it, every September when returning back to school my elementary school teachers would ask us to write about our summer vacation. At first I disliked the same old assignment over and over again, but I eventually started making up stories of my summer which seemed much more exciting.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

As a student I was always encouraged to write and when I thought outside the box of an assignment it came natural to me.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes, I’ve been working on a historical fiction middle grade manuscript entitled, Images of the Past. I’m finally at the editing stages and I’ve been concentrating the majority of my writing time on this when I’m not working on book marketing for The Golden Pathway.

Synopsis:

Two young girls separated by 200 years, experience similar traumas of unspoken abuse. The long ago occupants find the strength to fight against negative forces with negative results. Will the current day occupants have the same outcome? Images of the Past takes you on a unique journey across time as each attempt to break free from the shared experiences which bind them.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I am the Editor-in-Chief of Guardian Angel Kids Ezine and Publicist for the National Writing for Children Center. I also work as a virtual assistant for International Business Leaders Forum, which is sadly coming to an end with the closing of our office in the United States.

What inspired you to write ‘The Golden Pathway’?

I’ve always been interested in American history and when the opportunity arose to write an outline for a children’s book for an Institute of Children’s Literature assignment I jumped on the chance of the Underground Railroad. Especially, since I live in Rockland County, NY where there is history of the Underground Railroad and the American Revolution.

How did you come up with your characters?

Many times my characters are based on people from my life and are usually a blending of different personalities and traits from each.

How do you react to a bad review?

I’ve been lucky so far and have received only bad review. At first I took it really personal, but my husband told me that not everyone is going to like your style of writing and it has nothing to do with you personally, it’s an opinion and what people prefer.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? 

Hmm…this is a tough question. Off the top of my head since I love to be scared I’d have to say Stephen King.

And now that I write for children I’d go with:

Jacqueline Woodson

J. Aday Kennedy

Beverly Stowe McClure

Kevin Scott Collier

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Read book reviews and the book itself before selecting for your child to make sure it’s a topic they would enjoy reading and that it is of appropriate age.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Read, read, read constantly in the genre you want to write in. Many times people think writing for children is a snap, but it is quite the opposite. Children are in tune if someone is speaking down or preaching to them, and many times it turns them off immediately.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I’d be delighted if you would visit me at: 

www.donnamcdine.com – sign my guest book and receive myFREE e-Book “Write What InspiresYou! Author Interviews and opt-in to subscribe to myFREE newsletter, “Write What Inspires You! which is published quarterly. Here you will find author, illustrator, editor, and publisher interviews, book reviews and articles on the writing life.

www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com – visit and become a follower to stay up-to-date of the latest happenings of my historical fiction storybook, The Golden Pathway – a story of the Underground Railroad.

Ella, thank you for interviewing it has been an honor and privilege.

May 13, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ella:

    Thank you for taking the time out to interview and profile me on your blog. I appreciate your time and pleasure. I’m thrilled we connected through the Mom Bloggers Club!

    Best wishes,
    Donna

    Comment by Donna McDine | May 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. his is a book I’d want my older grandkids to read. The bravery, devotion and loyalty to free slaves into independence.I’m off to your website again Donna. I sat and watched a documentary about the Underground railroad with my grand kids a few months ago. Quite a moving story.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750@aol.com

    Comment by Carol L. | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Carol:

    Thank you for your interest and support. I appreciate your support.

    Regards,
    Donna
    Children’s Author
    Write What Inspires You Blog
    The Golden Pathway Story book Blog
    Donna M. McDine’s Website

    Comment by Donna McDine | May 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/interview-with-award-winning-author-donna-mcdine-author-of… May 13, 2011 – Donna McDine is an award-winning children’s author, Honorable … She writes, moms and is the Publicist Intern for The National Writing for … […]

    Pingback by The Almighty News Release | The Working Writer's Club | August 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment