Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Halloween Book Review: Coraline by Neil Gaiman


 

About the Actor: Neil Gaiman was born in Hampshire, UK, and now lives in the United States near Minneapolis.  As a child he discovered his love of books, reading, and stories, devouring the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, James Branch Cabell, Edgar Allan Poe, Michael Moorcock, Ursula K. LeGuin, Gene Wolfe, and G.K. Chesterton.  A self-described “feral child who was raised in libraries,” Gaiman credits librarians with fostering a life-long love of reading: “I wouldn’t be who I am without libraries. I was the sort of kid who devoured books, and my happiest times as a boy were when I persuaded my parents to drop me off in the local library on their way to work, and I spent the day there. I discovered that librarians actually want to help you: they taught me about interlibrary loans.”

http://www.neilgaiman.com/p/About_Neil/Biography

 

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

 

About the book: When Coraline steps through a door to find another house strangely similar to her own (only better), things seem marvelous.

But there’s another mother there, and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go.

Coraline will have to fight with all her wits and courage if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life.

 

 

My Review:  This is a story filled with fantasy and twisted imaginations. If you love fantasy you will love reading Coraline (not Caroline). When Coraline and her parents moved into a new house she couldn’t wait to explore her surrounding. She was interested in looking for the well Miss Spink and Miss Forcible told her to keep away from.  Coraline spent her first two weeks exploring the garden and the grounds. While exploring inside the house she came across a door that leads to a different world that looks familiar.

Everything looks like her world but not exactly the same. Her other mother and father has buttons for eyes and looks creepy. She notices everything seems to be better in that world, until the other mother plan to make her look like them. Coraline realizes that this alternative world really isn’t a good place to live in.

What a great story, with interesting characters that catches your attention from the start to finish. This anniversary edition features a new foreword by the author, a reader’s guide and author Q & A. I highly recommend this book not only for kids but for adults.

 

Ages: 8 and up

Pages: 160

 

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from Harper Collins Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

October 3, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. How funny. I just finished this book too for no apparent reason. Well, it was on my to-read list. Lol. I enjoyed it. Scary though for younger readers. I liked Stardust too, another of Gaiman’s books that was made into a movie. The movie reminded me a lot of The Princess Bride…my favorite book/movie.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | October 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. I loved this book when I read it. Have you seen the movie? I thought it was pretty good.

    Comment by CherokeeWriter | October 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment