Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Nancy Furstinger


Nancy Furstinger has been speaking up for animals since she learned to talk, and she hasn’t shut up yet. She is the author of nearly 100 books, including many on her favorite topic: animals! She has a trio of rescued pooches and 7 house rabbits.

Nancy Furstinger is the author of nearly 100 books, including many on her favorite topic: animals! She started her writing career in third grade, when a play she wrote was performed by her class. Since then, Nancyhas been a feature writer for a daily newspaper, a managing editor of trade and consumer magazines, and an editor at two children’s book publishing houses. She shares her home with 3 dogs and 7 house rabbits (all rescued), volunteers and fosters pets for several animal organizations, and is a member of The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. http://web.me.com/nancyfurstinger/Animal_Author/Welcome.html

 Interview with Nancy Furstinger author of Maggie’s Second Chance.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? The last adult book was “Rin Tin Tin: The Life and the Legend” by Susan Orlean. The first third of the book was the intriguing history of the famous dog, but then it spiraled into stories of human obsession and greed. The last children’s book was “Wonderstruck” by Brian Selznick–another marvelous masterpiece interweaving two stories through narrative and illustration–nearly as spellbinding as “The Invention of Hugo Cabret.”

What were your earliest memories of writing? When I was in the third grade, I wrote a play that my class performed–I thought it was wonderful to hear my words being spoken and decided to become a writer. And when I was in the fourth grade, we were elevated to the Ink Club, switching from pencil to pen, which is not as smudgy an instrument for a left-handed kid.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? It always came naturally (and still does). Several of my teachers encouraged me, especially my 8th grade teacher who foresaw my writing career. She told me to write about what I love (sage advice), so I write about all types of animals–wild and domestic. However,  never being passionate about history or science, I’m determined to bring both of these subjects to life so kids will be intrigued by them.

What was your favorite children’s book? “Alice in Wonderland”–I continue to adore this book and find it fascinating on a multitude of levels. I have an array of theAlice books, but the original Tenniel illustrations cannot be topped.

Are you working on a new book? Yes, several! Among them is a biography about the founder of the ASPCA, who lead a fascinating life and persisted in his quest to champion animals (and children) despite ridicule and hostility. I’m also working on a fictional “tail” of a rabbit whose family loses interest after the excitement of Easter and banishes her to an outdoor cage, where she nearly loses hope until she is finally rescued and re-homed (loosely based on the past life of my big red-eyed white bunny, Marshmallow Fluff).

What inspired you to write Maggie’s Second Chance? Two nonfiction stories: the inspiring story of the 4th graders who started D.A.W.G.S. (Dalhart Animal Welfare Group and Sanctuary), who I profiled in my book “ASPCA Kids: Kids Making a Difference for Animals,” and the story of how I rescued my third dog, Jolly, who had been abandoned in 2006. This has become a pertinent topic today, alas, with foreclosure pets. I interwove both stories into a fictional book, giving it a young protagonist because kids prefer to read about their peers as heroes.

What is the most difficult part of writing? I love to research, so if I’m not careful I might find myself going off on an irrelevant tangent for hours. And with my background as an editor, I have to turn off that internal critic when I start writing.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? I love to hike up mountains with my dogs, take photographs, bake, swim, and kayak. I also believe in giving back so I volunteer with several animal organizations, donate a percentage of my book proceeds, and visit schools with my books and my furry family.

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job? I became a full-time freelancer when the imprints of two book publishing companies I worked for were dissolved. I’m fortunate to write from my home office, surrounded by dogs and rabbits.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? Thankfully I’ve never experienced either.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? That children have the power to make a difference in the life of an animal. As I wrote in my ASPCA book: Perhaps you’re wondering, “I’m just one kid. How can I make a difference for animals?” Throughout history, the power of one ordinary person has sometimes changed the world in extraordinary ways. The inspiring kids in this book used compassion to help combat cruelty and assist homeless animals.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? There are oodles, but probably Philip Pullman would be at the top of my list. With a wave of his pen, he can create entire imaginary worlds. I have a multitude of questions for the man whose imagination inspired the heroic fantasy “His Dark Materials” trilogy. And since I adore writing about animals, I’d like to have a roundtable of animal authors who inspire me, including Richard Adams, Beatrix Potter, James Herriot, E. B. White, Dick King-Smith, and Eric Knight–what a memorable meal that would be!

What author inspires you the most and why? It’s almost laughably cliched at this point, but Dr. Seuss, who said so much using so few words. His books were revolutionary at the time. I tend to overwrite and then cut like mad, so I’d like to learn the method to his concise vision. And his imagination is zany, like mine!

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I recall the words of Jane Yolen, who I met at a writers’ conference: Butt in chair! I tend to write when the inspiration strikes, but push myself to constantly promote and market.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Read to your kids even before they are born to create a lifelong reader. Ask the advice of your librarian–a wonderful free resource in every community. If you’re searching for a picture book, be aware that you will be reading it a multitude of times so make sure that the text will also hold your interest.

What advice you would give to new writers? Read, read, read: old books and new, best-sellers and obscure! And then just let the words flow without editing. When you’re all written out, put your story aside for several days and then read it with a new perspective. Don’t be afraid to pare away the adjectives and adverbs to create a stronger story. A critique group can be invaluable to offer constructive criticism and advice.

And remember to keep your sense of humor. Author Dean Koontz said this about slippers shaped like rabbits: “Bunny slippers remind me of who I am. You can’t get a swelled head if you wear bunny slippers. You can’t lose your sense of perspective and start acting like a star or a rich lady if you keep on wearing bunny slippers. Besides, bunny slippers give me confidence because they’re so jaunty. They make a statement; they say, ‘Nothing the world does to me can ever get me so far down that I can’t be silly and frivolous.’ If I died and found myself in Hell, I could endure the place if I had bunny slippers.”

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? I recently learned from my publisher that “Maggie’s Second Chance: A Gentle Dog’s Rescue” was awarded the 2011 Moonbeam Children’s Book Award gold medal Spirit Award for most humane book! I’m thrilled. You can read about all of the Moonbeam books at:http://www.independentpublisher.com/article.php?page=1483

 

 

November 3, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I am so happy that Nancy is speaking up for animals. It is so delightful to read that she has been writing since third grade and author of nearly 100 books! I think Maggie’s Second Chance will have a big impact on children (and adults) alike. I can’t wait to read it and I know my granddaughter Abby will want to read it too! I would be happy to win a copy for her!

    judyjohn2004@yahoo.com

    Comment by Judy Burgi | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great interview I work at a doggie daycare where we foster dogs form the local shelter.I volunteer at the shelter itself,the thrift store it operates to raise money and at fundraisers .I try and educate people on the wonderfulness of adopting shelter pets .This is a cause thats near and dear to my heart.
    flanagan@mebtel.net

    Comment by Wanda L Flanagan | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. My 12 year old granddaughter volunteers at a vet hospital and loves all animals. She loves to read anything about animals.

    Comment by Ann Council | November 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. I loved this interview! I find it interesting that she has choosen to write her books based on facts and on animals. H opefully it will open up some peoples eyes and make them make more wise choices regarding animals and babies, or even abusing. Great job

    Comment by larissa brunken | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  5. Congrats to Nancy on her award for Maggie’s Second Chance. What a beautiful story about children saving Maggie from such a terrible fate. The power of a group of 4th grader’s shows what can be accomplished if you keep at it. I really enjoyed this post.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  6. wondeful on the award! just finished another round of ______ books. (guess who) marshmellow rabbit book- childrens picture book???
    🙂

    Comment by sharon holm | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  7. You surely deserve the award!! Yeah!!
    I have 3 dog rescues and a cat. You lab looks a lot like the rescue my Hubby had as a service dog…a major blessing~
    Thank You

    Comment by Maureen Timerman | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  8. I love that she has rescued so many animals. That’s wonderful! I can see how that would great inspiration for her book! 🙂

    Comment by Kristie | November 7, 2011 | Reply

  9. What inspiration shared in this interview and what a caring, kind person Nancy is! Her concern and compassion for animals smiles through her words and actions in helping animals in need. Such dedication and devotion does so much in making this a better world for animals, who touch our lives in so many ways.

    Comment by Carole P. | November 7, 2011 | Reply

  10. Great interview and thanks for being such an amazing animal lover and writing books about them 🙂
    dawnhagan18@yahoo.com

    Comment by dawnhagan | November 16, 2011 | Reply

  11. […] which does not shy away from the very difficult subject matter of shelter issues. However, through the author’s sensitivity there is an impressive dignity that accrues throughout the telling of Maggie’s […]

    Pingback by Maggie’s Second Chance | November 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment