Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review: AH – CHOO!


I asked my mom if I could have
a pet, or even two.

But every time I brought one home,
my sister went

When hunting for his new best friend, a boy goes through an alphabetical menagerie of animals. From an antelope, to bobolink birds, to wolves and zebras—and of course, a cat and dog, too—he brings them all home. But each creature just makes his sister go AH-CHOO! Will he ever be able to have the perfect pet?

  • Age Range: 4 – 8 years
  • Grade Level: Kindergarten – 2
  • Hardcover: 40 pages
  • Publisher: Sterling Children’s Books (March 1, 2016)
  • Cost: $10.46 @amazon



My Review: When a young boy asked his mom if he could have a pet or two, his mother don’t seem t mind. But when he brought home an Antelope and a Bobolinks that flew, his sister went AH-CHOO!

He tried a Cat and a Dog but that didn’t help. So what about a feathered Emu, plus a Ferret, Goose and a Hen, an Ibis, Jackal, Kangaroo, a Leopard Seal. But his sister just kept sneezing. So he decided to take his pets to the zoo because not even a Monkey, Nightingale, an Owl, a Pig, Quail, Rooster, Skunk, Takin, Umbrellabirds, Vultures could he keep as pets because his sister sneeze just got bigger and bigger. He even had tried a Warthog, Xantis, a Yaffle and a Zebra. Will he ever be able to find a perfect pet that would cause his sister to sneeze?

What a great way to learn about the letters in the alphabet using animals and how they can cause allergies. The colorful illustrations helps to tell the story.


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Sterling Children’s Books in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

September 16, 2016 - Posted by | Book Review | , , , , , , ,


  1. I love the idea behind this book – I can even see my 3 year old granddaughter performing the AH-Choo part!

    Comment by tmy56 | September 16, 2016 | Reply

  2. What a wonderful concept. I love the lessons kids get while enjoying the read.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | September 16, 2016 | Reply

Leave a Reply

