Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Spotlight: Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child & Watch Out, Hollywood!

About the Book: It’s Mean Girls for tweens in the tradition of Paula Danziger’s Cat That Ate My Gymsuit and Judy Blume! Watch out, world: here comes Charlie C. Cooper-computer whiz, reformed bully, and so-called middle child-in this seriously funny debut tween novel from screenwriter Maria T. Lennon.

Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child stars the hilariously cheeky reformed bully and tween hacker Charlie Cooper as she tries to ditch her middle-child reputation and make cool friends at her new school in Los Angeles. But being cool isn’t as easy as it looks. Charlie has to face down the mean girls and decide between right and wrong once and for all when she learns the terrible truth behind Marta the Farta’s bad attitude and loner status. And Charlie has to do it all in outfits meant for the runways!


  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (August 26, 2014)
  • Cost: $6.99




About the Book: Hilarious tween heroine Charlie C. Cooper—reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child—is back! This sequel to Confessions of a So-called Middle Child will delight fans of Louise Rennison, Mean Girls, and Harriet the Spy.

Charlie’s adventures offer a fresh look at middle school, bullying, and mean girls. In Book Two, Charlie navigates sudden celebrity and auditions for a television series, but a little white lie may endanger the one friendship Charlie can truly count on—and her connection to swoonworthy crush Bobby! Poignant and seriously funny, Charlie’s account of her dilemma is one all tweens will relate to.

Charlie knows what it feels like to be stuck in the middle, but it’s finally her time to shine. After saving her friend Marta in the old Houdini tunnels of Los Angeles, Charlie’s become a local hero, gained sudden celebrity, and *MIGHT* just become a TV star! But will Charlie let her newfound fame go to her head? Watch out, Hollywood


  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (August 26, 2014)
  • Cost: $16.99



About the Author: At fifteen, I left Santa Barbara to study at The American School in Switzerland. I continued my studies at Brillantmont in Lausanne, got kicked out, then went on to London to complete her A levels. I was accepted to the London School of Economics and studied International Economics and the Politics of International Aid. After graduating, I moved to Italy where I ate and drank enormous quantities. I also taught summer school at The American School in Genova, an elementary school. I later moved to Paris and wrote my first novel. When I returned to Los Angeles, I quit all bad habits and continued working on my novel, Making It Up As I Go Along, which was published in 2004.

I also completed a screenplay about the Red Brigade, which was a third place finalist in Francis Ford Coppola’s screenwriter’s competition. Today, we live in Laurel Canyon and have four children ranging in ages from 5 to13. When not driving one of my four children to school or volunteering at school libraries, I can be found sitting in a parked car, a café or a library writing novels, travel articles or just passed out.





FTC Disclosure: I received these books from HarperCollins Publishing. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.



May 17, 2016 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: