Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book/Author Spotlight: Mars Evacuees


Mars Evacuees #1 by Sophia McDougall

About the Book: The fact that someone had decided I’d be safer on Mars, where you could still only sort of breathe the air and sort of not get sunburned to death, was a sign that the war with the aliens was not going fantastically well. I was worried that I was about to be told that my mother’s spacefighter had been shot down, so that when I found out that I was being evacuated to Mars, I was pretty calm.

And, despite everything that happened to me and my friends afterward, I’d do it all again. Because until you have been pursued by terrifying aliens, been taught math by a laser-shooting robot goldfish, and tried to save the galaxy, I don’t think you can say you’ve really lived.

If the same thing happens to you, here’s my advice: always carry duct tape.

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Cost: $16.99


For reviews visit




About the Author: Sophia McDougall (born 1979) is a British novelist, playwright, and poet, who studied at Oxford University in England.

She is best known as the author of the series of books: Romanitas in which she creates an alternative history, one where the Roman Empire still exists in contemporary times.


November 17, 2015 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. This book looks like it would appeal to young middle readers who love science and adventure.

    Comment by Merry | November 17, 2015 | Reply

  2. I just finished reading The Martian, which has language inappropriate for middle schoolers – Mars Evacuees sounds like a great first science fiction book.

    Comment by tmy56 | November 18, 2015 | Reply

Leave a Reply

