Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Author/Book Spotlight: The Forget Me Not Summer by Leila Howland


 

22934470

 

The Forget Me Not Summer by Leila Howland,  Ji-Hyuk Kim (Illustrator)

About the Book: This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and The Mother-Daughter Book Club. Full of moments both humorous and reflective, The Forget-Me-Not Summer is a story about three girls facing their fears, adjusting to change, and learning how to band together as the strongest version of themselves: sisters.

Though Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily Silver couldn’t be more different, they’re all excited about their various plans for summer vacation. Twelve-year-old Marigold is hoping to get her first kiss from her big crush, while Zinnia, eleven, will most likely spend her time in Marigold’s shadow. And little five-year-old Lily, though angelic, has a knack for stirring up mischief wherever she goes.

But any expectation of summer fun comes crashing down when the sisters’ parents send them to Cape Cod to visit their aunt Sunny. Small-town life is not what these L.A. girls had in mind. They must adjust, however, to things like sharing a room and living without a TV. With the help of Aunt Sunny’s zany disposition and yummy brownies, though, the girls are quickly won over, and before Marigold, Zinnie, and Lily know it, they’re cracking lobster shells at clambakes, making new friends, and even organizing a local talent show.

 

Jacket Copy: Sisters Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily Silver can’t wait for summer even though it’s warm all year in L.A. Twelve-year-old Marigold, an aspiring actress, has boys on the brain and is hoping to become more than friends with her crush. Zinnia, eleven, having failed at trying to tame her unruly curls, has plenty of time on her hands during summer vacation and will most likely spend it in Marigold’s shadow. Five-year-old Lily, whom everyone adores, is content to play with her beloved nanny all day. But when their parents announce they’re sending these California girls to their aunt Sunny’s house on Cape Cod for several weeks, it’s a complete disaster.
They’re forced to adjust to a much simpler way of life—no TV, no Wi-Fi, and, worst of all, sharing a room. Could their summer get any more awful? While at first reluctant, Marigold, Zinnia, and Lily are charmed by their warmhearted and quirky aunt Sunny, whose cheery attitude is contagious. Resolving to make the most of their situation, the sisters decide to spice up this quiet town by organizing a local talent show. As they start to make friends—like Peter, the Red Sox–loving sailor boy with an eye for Marigold—and see the magic of the Cape, the summer becomes one of firsts, fun, and plenty of sun . . . all while they learn how to band together as the strongest version of themselves they can be: sisters.

http://www.harpercollins.com/9780062318695/the-forget-me-not-summer

Reviews: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22934470-the-forget-me-not-summer

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Cost: $11.39 Hardcover $9.99 kindle @amazon
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (May 5, 2015)

 

 

 

5815415

About this author: LEILA HOWLAND loves to read, explore L.A., and have funny and meaningful conversations with her friends and family, especially her brother who calls from Washington D.C. whenever he’s waiting for the bus. A lot gets discussed in those phone calls, but they tend to end abruptly when the bus shows up. She can really cut the rug, but wishes she could sing without people covering their ears. A graduate of Georgetown University, Leila spent five years acting in New York where she was a company member of the award-winning Flea Theater in Tribeca. It was a lot of fun and she often talks about “getting back into it.” The closest she has come was a stint as an extra on The Young and the Restless in 2010. Leila now lives in Los Angeles with her husba LEILA HOWLAND loves to read, explore L.A., and have funny and meaningful conversations with her friends and family, especially her brother who calls from Washington D.C. whenever he’s waiting for the bus. A lot gets discussed in those phone calls, but they tend to end abruptly when the bus shows up. She can really cut the rug, but wishes she could sing without people covering their ears. A graduate of Georgetown University, Leila spent five years acting in New York where she was a company member of the award-winning Flea Theater in Tribeca. It was a lot of fun and she often talks about “getting back into it.” The closest she has come was a stint as an extra on The Young and the Restless in 2010. Leila now lives in Los Angeles with her husband and son. http://www.leilahowland.com/about/
Advertisements

July 10, 2015 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I love the girls’ names!

    Comment by tmy56 | July 10, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: