Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Battle of the Grandmas. Ends June 25th


Battle of the Grandmas by Anthonette Klinkerman, illustrated by Justin Acquavella


About the Book: One little girl, three grandmas! Sounds pretty good, doesn’t it? Well, three times the presents from Grandma, Granny, and NaNa (the real ones pictured at left) isn’t as wonderful as most grandkids would think in this humorous tale. Based on a true story, find out what happens when gift-giving becomes a battle!
My Review: When a little girl received three packages from her grandmas, it turns out they all sent her the same book. But they each wanted their gifts to be different and the best. So each grandma set out to out do each other by sending their grand daughter the best gifts they can find. Soon packages from each of them started to pile up in the girl’s house, from toys, music boxes, flowers to goodies and more. Even the postman was getting exhausted.

Finally, the little girl have had it, all she wanted was for her grandmas to spend time with her. Take her to the park, spend time with her reading a book or doing silly things to make her laugh and smile. All she wanted was hugs and kisses from those she loves.

I wish kids would think like this little girl. But society has changed all that because a lot of grandmas are guilty of trying to buy the love of their grandchild with gifts, and trying to out do the other grandma. I found this book very educational and that every grandma’s household should have a copy. The illustrations by Justin Acquavella an aspiring independent artist, graphic designer and illustrator help tell and bring the story to life. Pick up a copy today from


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way


About the Author: Anthonette Klinkerman is a public school English teacher and public speaker. She teaches English at a night high-school for at-risk teens, and conducts her award-winning mobile etiquette school, Courtesy Bootcamp, for businesses during the days. Battle of the Grandmas was written first, but actually is her second published book. Her first book is titled Courtesy Bootcamp: a not-so-gentle reminder to live by The Golden Rule. Married in 1999, Klinkerman was born in San Diego, California, and moved to Colorado in 2000. Her husband, also a teacher, was raised in Littleton, CO. Their one daughter is working on her art skills daily in preparation for mommy’s next book. The family does their best to keep up the visits with the relatives from in-town to those in California over breaks from school. When she is not speaking, writing, or grading papers, Klinkerman enjoys reading, golfing, hiking, and skiing, and exploring the restaurant scene to satisfy her inner “foodie”.



Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends June 25th, 2015

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #2 – Carol L



June 9, 2015 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  1. This book sounds cute! I do not have any grandchildren yet but I have watched my older sisters get caught in the same trap. If I won, the only problem would be choosing which sister to share it with first!

    Comment by MJ | June 9, 2015 | Reply

  2. Sounds like there may be some humor here. If it gets competitive with 2 grandmas I can’t begin to inagine 3. Thanks for the giveaeay chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | June 9, 2015 | Reply

  3. This looks and sounds so fun. It reminds me of my neighborhood growing up. LOL I’m laughing and I haven’t even read it yet! I’d be tickled to win it:)

    Comment by Laura Thomas | June 9, 2015 | Reply

  4. My kids love funny books! Me too..

    Comment by Leela | June 14, 2015 | Reply

  5. I love what this book is all about. I hope it can be a good tool in teaching kids that time and memories are more important than physical gifts. I try and be around for my kid all I can although I am guilty of showering him with gifts when I feel less than good about my parenting. Sounds great to read though!

    Comment by brittani adams | June 22, 2015 | Reply

Leave a Reply

