Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review: The Cabinet of Curiosities: 36 Tales Brief & Sinister


18599852

The Cabinet of Curiosities: 36 Tales Brief & Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Clarire Legrand and Emma Trevayne

About the Book: A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

 

Welcome to The Cabinet of Curiosities

Please enter.

No, really, come in. The Curators are delighted you are here. They invite you to turn a page, pull open a drawer, peek inside a room, slither into a nook. In fact, they insist.

Sometimes visitors to the cabinet find it rewarding to dive right into the middle. You could try that. You could flip back and forth. Start your exploration at the very end. Or the beginning.

The important thing is that you are here. Oh, do come in! The Curators guarantee you will find something . . . curious.

The Cabinet of Curiosities is a collection of eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short short stories presented by the cabinet’s esteemed Curators, otherwise known as acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand, and Emma Trevayne. http://www.stefanbachmann.com/books.php

http://www.claire-legrand.com/#home

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Cost: $16.99

 

My Review: The Cabinet of Curiosities is an imaginative collection of tales collection of scary stories. The stories are creepy but not too gory. The stories may give middle grade kids nightmares but fun for the older kids. They are great stories to read during camping or on Halloween night. If you love creepy mystery stories, then this is the right book for you.

The authors did a great job coming together to write a scary book. And the beautiful pencil or ink Illustrations by Alexander Jansson helped to bring these stories to life.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book HarperCollins Publishing in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

5626138

About the Author: Stefan Bachmann is a writer and musician. He was born in Colorado and now lives with his family in Switzerland. He is currently studying composing at the Zürich University of Arts, and writing his fourth book. His debut, The Peculiar, was published when he was nineteen years old. http://www.stefanbachmann.com/about.php

Advertisements

April 7, 2015 - Posted by | Book Review, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m so glad I read this review because although I don’t read scary stories several of my grandkids love them. They delight in thinking they tease me about being scared and trying to tell me gory details. 🙂 Thanks for your review.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | April 8, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: