Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: And in the Morning: Field of Conflict – The Somme, 1916. Ends Apr 14th


And in the Morning: Field of Conflict – The Somme, 1916 by John Wilson

About the Book: Fifteen-year-old Jim Hay believes that war is a glorious adventure and cannot wait for his turn to fight. But as his father boldly marches off to battle in August 1914, Jim must be content to record his thoughts and dreams in his journal. All too quickly, however, Jim’s simple life begins to unravel. His father is killed in action, his mother suffers a breakdown and, when he does at last join up, it is as much to find refuge as it is to seek glory. What Jim discovers in the trenches of France is enough to dispel any romantic view of the war. Soon, his longing for adventure is replaced by a basic need to survive and the final tragic outcome is one he never could have imagined. The first installment in the Fields of Conflict series, “And in the Morning” will appeal to young readers aged fourteen to sixteen.




My Review: A story about a young man’s life fighting for survival.  He couldn’t wait for his turn to go off to war and fight. After his father was killed in action and his mother suffering a breakdown. Jim decided it was time to join the fight. But his views about the war wasn’t what he taught. He wrote in his journal  the horrors of the war and the loss of innocent lives. Now he must fight to stay alive long enough to return home.


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book Wandering Fox Books in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.



John Wilson

About the Author: I was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, but I grew up on the Isle of Skye (I could speak some Gaelic when I was four), and in Paisley, outside Glasgow. I was troubled teen and only applied myself in high school when someone said I couldn’t do something. One time I was in the Principal’s office for some forgotten reason, and he said I would never amount to anything. That annoyed me and I set out to prove him wrong, (was he smart?). Anyway, I went to St. Andrews University and did an Honours Degree in Geology. I worked in Zimbabwe, but there was a war on, so I came to Alberta and worked in Edmonton for ten years. I started freelance writing in 1989 and moved out to Vancouver Island in 1991 to write full time.  Read more about the author


Giveaway Winner


Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends April 14th, 2015

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #3 – Crystal Greggs

March 27, 2015 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , , ,


  1. Although my kids are a little young for this book yet it sounds very intriguing. I would love to read it myself and put it back for a few years for my daughter who is an avid reader.

    Comment by Keri Justice | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  2. Good for John Wison the Author. I think this is a wonderful story linee. I myself am always drawn to books on the different wars. This sounds like a fascinating and interesting story. Thank you for this opportuity. I have 3 grandchidren in this age group. It’s the type of book they could read and then pass on to share.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  3. Reading the author’s bio makes me very interested in reading this book and adding it to my son’s book collection.

    Comment by Crystal Gregg | April 7, 2015 | Reply

  4. My son is only 7, but fascinated by wars and battles. He is currently interested in the World Wars. Since he is reading above level, I would scan this content and if appropriate share with him. If not I would hold it till he is ready! We would both be thrilled by winning a really great book!

    Comment by Lindsey | April 7, 2015 | Reply

  5. My husband, daughters and myself are all interested in history. Our girls are 19 and 21 but they know a lot about history because we often discuss historical events with them. Everyone in my family would enjoy this book.

    Comment by Julie Waldron | April 8, 2015 | Reply

  6. I am always looking for books to be used for cross-curricular work in English and history classes. This book will be perfect for the WWI unit.

    Comment by Nadine | April 11, 2015 | Reply

Leave a Reply

