Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Return to Fern Valley. Ends Jan 15th


About the Book: The Fern Valley Kids are back in twelve new and exciting adventures. Join Mildred and Roberta Cornstalk as they discover a clue hidden inside a library book. Peek into the window of a secret cottage with the lovely Betsy Woolrich. Find out what Jason Curlytail builds from a box, what Alice Redfeather does when she gets locked out of the house, or how Nathan Gruff copes with the news of a new baby.
My Review: Return to Fern Valley is a collection of short stories relating to the animals that live in Fern Valley. You have Roberta and Mildred Cornstalk who are curious chicken by nature and love to read, Betsy Woolrich a cheerful little sheep, Jason Curlytail who comes from a large family of diverse pigs, and many more. This is a book children will enjoy reading. Follow these wonderful animals as some of them discover hidden clue inside a library book and can’t wait to solve it. While Betsy is pleased that her new home would still be near all of her friends. And many more stories.

I love the exciting details and imagination of each story. This is a book that teaches valuable lesson. It is full of stories that children can relate too. I highly recommend this book for children starting to read chapter books.


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.




Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends Jan 15th, 2015

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended!

Winner is #1 – Brenda

December 29, 2014 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,


  1. This sounds like a book my 8 year old son would enjoy reading because he likes stories with clues in them that he has to solve. I like that it teaches a valuable lesson.

    Comment by Brenda | December 29, 2014 | Reply

  2. My younger grandson is very big on animals right now so this will be easy for him yo relate to since he informed his older brother he was a rooster was going to bite his ankles. lol Great reading for the little ones.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  3. Our grandkids love reading stories that have animals in them…and the names that the author has given them are so cute…and descriptive🙂

    Comment by Ronda Garnett | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  4. This makes reading interesting with a clue and a little puzzle to reveal to the readers.

    Comment by Mary Ann Linder | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  5. I believe that short stories are imperative in the growth of a child’s understanding of books in general. Short stories can provide insight where long stories can not reach out at the same level for younger children. Your review was excellent and I really enjoyed knowing that valuable lessons can be gained via this book. We look forward to reading even if our family does not win! Happy Holidays and a beautiful New Year!

    Comment by punkin0001 | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  6. Although my grand niece is no where near the age for chapter books-this sounds like the perfect one to buy and save for her!

    Comment by Michele | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  7. My daughter would love this! she enjoys reading and I love that she spends her free time reading.

    Comment by Maria | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  8. I love seeing children read. It sounds like there’s a little mystery that will encourage problem solving which is great.

    Comment by Valerie Gray (@valmg) | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  9. This sounds like an amazing book with awesome adventures indeed. I love that it teaches the kids lessons in each story. This would be great for my nephews. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Rebecca Swenor | December 30, 2014 | Reply

  10. This year I started reading and reviewing children’s books for my blog. I feel like I’m now looking at all stories with young eyes and enjoying even the horror genre in a new way because of it.
    I recently read an adorable picture book, Billy & Monster’s Golden Christmas and a chapter book, Dewi & the Seeds of Doom. And I just started the second book in a series somewhat similar to this. It all takes me back to The Wind in the Willows and the possibilities that might lie in the fields behind my house.

    Thanks so much for sharing this book and have a Happy New year!

    Comment by Laura Thomas | December 31, 2014 | Reply

  11. I loved reading as a child and so does my 4 year old granddaughter. I think her mom and dad would love reading these stories to her, especially because they are about animals.

    Comment by Katherine Riley | January 3, 2015 | Reply

  12. The first one was wonderful; I gave it to two neighbor girls who would LOVE to read the sequel! But I get it FIRST!

    Comment by Judith Hugg-Eckhard | January 5, 2015 | Reply

Leave a Reply

