Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book/Author Spotlight – Giveaway: The Misshapes: The Coming Storm. Ends Oct 30th

The Misshapes

Polis Books  features The Misshapes (The Coming Storm) by Alex Flynn

Some people have powers.
Some people do not.
And some people just might change the world.
Sarah Robertson is one of those people.

Doolittle Falls is no ordinary town, and fifteen-year-old Sarah Robertson is no ordinary girl – she can control the weather with her emotions. But in Doolittle Falls, where superheroes walk the streets (and fly over them), Sarah’s third-rate powers aren’t enough to secure her a spot in the prestigious Hero Academy, not to mention the fact that her recently vanished mother has become the town’s most notorious Supervillain and the archnemesis of America’s favorite Hero, Freedom Man. Instead of acceptance to the school of her dreams, Sarah is marked as an outcast with powers – a Misshape.

Sarah is stuck at public school, with a ragtag group of fellow Misshapes and the happily ordinary Normals. Determined to fly under the radar, Sarah’s forced into a special class for Misshapes, where she meets other people with odd powers: a kid who shoots paintballs out his eyes, a girl who can talk to the animals (the squirrels never have much to say), and a boy who is followed around by backup-singer ghosts, The Spectors (like all girl groups, they are obsessed with the postman).

Despite this setback, Sarah is determined to take charge of her powers and win a place at Hero Academy with the rest of the superhero elite. Yet the path to Hero greatness doesn’t exactly run smoothly. Her brother’s recent rebellious streak is starting to wear thin, she has an intriguing (and smoking hot) new mentor, and an unexpected romance blooms with the Romeo to her Juliet, Hero dreamboat, Freedom Boy. Sarah is ecstatic when a mysterious figure offers to fulfill Sarah’s dreams of joining the Hero Academy, until she learns he has been stoking anti-Misshape sentiment in the town that endangers everyone she cares about. When Doolittle Falls comes under threat of annihilation, Sarah will learn just how powerful she’s forced to choose between her friends and the destiny she’s always wanted.

And she may just kick some Supervillain butt in the process.

Read on for an excerpt from THE MISSHAPES:


I don’t remember how old I was the first time I saw a man fly. I was very small; I remember that much. My arms were tightly locked around my dad’s neck. He was giving me a piggyback ride through our perfectly ordinary town center.

It was a crisp and cold fall day. Our heads craned upward as we tried to name the various clouds in the sky, giving them shapes, personalities, and identities. Mom still lived with us. I didn’t know about her abilities yet.

I can remember pointing to one cloud and told Dad it looked like my teddy bear Winston. Dad tried to say something in return but the sound of an airplane drowned him out. Or so I thought. A gust of wind plastered my shirt to my small body. I felt my head rip forward as something brushed against it.A man. He was in the air, just clearing the tops of people’s heads. His feet pointed behind him like an Olympic diver and his arms pointed forward, ending at balled fists.

He was headed straight toward Old Mrs. Galloway. The old woman shuffled slowly down the sidewalk, juggling her grocery bags, a cane, and an enormous purse. She wobbled like a top that was ready to fall over.

A loud baritone bellow of “Never fear!” came from the flying man.

I screamed.  To read more click on the link

Age Range: 10 and up
Grade Level: 4 and up
Series: The Coming Storm
Hardcover: 304 pages

Cost $12.96 @

Publisher: Polis Books (October 7, 2014)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1940610311

ISBN-13: 978-1940610313



About the Author: Alex Flynn is the pseudonym for the writing team of Stuart Sherman and Elisabeth Donnelly. They met at a clandestine book club in Boston, where they broke into a fortified tower in order to discuss literature. They like garrulous Irish writers, Pushing Daisies, Axe Cop, and anything involving The Tick. Their secret lair is currently in a hollowed-out volcano in Brooklyn. In addition to co-writing The Misshapes, Donnelly is a cultural journalist who has written for the The New York Times Magazine, Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, Paris Review Daily, GQ and many others. She is currently an editor at Flavorwire. Sherman is a bioethicist, health policy analyst and a former contestant on the game show “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?”

Visit Alex Flynn at or follow on Twitter at @The_Misshapes.

About Polis Books

Polis Books is an independent book publisher aiming to deliver all the service and professionalism of a trade publishing house, with the innovation and speed necessary to thrive in a rapidly-changing book market.

Using our knowledge of the ever-changing marketplace, marketing and social media, as well as a deep respect for the communities that love and appreciate commercial fiction, Polis Books aims to introduce readers to brand new voices, as well as reinvigorate the careers of talented authors who deserve a wider readership. We will be publishing a mixture of new and previously published books from contemporary writers across all platforms, retailers and e-retailers. We publish books in both print and digital, evaluating each potential acquisition to determine its appropriate publication format. We publish print originals, reissues, and digital originals and reissues. Our goal, upon acquisition of a digital original, is to have our books available wherever ebooks are sold within just a few months, slashing the traditional model which can take upwards of two years. With print, we position our books to maximize distribution potential across all outlets and retailers.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends October 30th, 2014

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #7 – tmy56

October 16, 2014 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. Usually I don’t read this sort of genre but I think I may make an exception. I think my kids would like this one too!

    Comment by Literary Winner (@LiteraryWinner) | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  2. When you think of superheroes and a man flying through the air, when it gets to the last point of the prologue and she screams, you wonder what the heck did that idiot do to the poor little old lady?? It has my interest piqued, and I want to read more.
    royalegacy at gmail dot com

    Comment by Danielle Royalegacy | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  3. This sounds like a thrilling series that could provide many opportunities for lessons in kindness to humanity. I would love to read this book. michelle_willms at yahoo dot com.

    Comment by michellewillms2013 | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  4. This is not the genre I would normally pick up to read but after reading your review–well maybe. I will put it on my TBR list and go look at it in more detail before I commit!

    Comment by Michele | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  5. The Misshapes sounds like a great book. I’m adding it to my short list of books to check out. I think that my sister would like it too.

    Comment by Daisy | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  6. This sounds like an excellent book to add to Christmas gift lists for tweens!

    Comment by Kristy | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  7. Who knew there was a ‘pecking order’ in the super hero world? I think my grandson would enjoy reading about Sarah’s efforts to save her town & fit in with the others with powers.

    Comment by tmy56 | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  8. I am not sure if this is a book I would read. The genre isn’t really my thing. I may give it a try though!

    Comment by Stefany Thode (@ToBeThode) | October 16, 2014 | Reply

  9. This sounds like a great gift for Christmas. I will have to share this with my sister and niece too. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Rebecca Swenor | October 17, 2014 | Reply

  10. This sounds like a really interesting book. I love superheroes and this is a genre that I read often, so I’m intrigued by this book, and after reading the excerpt, I’d like to find out what happens throughout the story. My email is:
    Haleyrscully at gmail dot com

    Comment by Haley Scully | October 19, 2014 | Reply

  11. Talk about a unique story line, this is definitely that. I know for a fact my 13 year old granddaughter would love it. Thanks for the post about this book Ella.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | October 27, 2014 | Reply

Leave a Reply

