Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Giveaway: Under Wildwood. Ends Mar 31st

Under Wildwood


UNDER WILDWOOD written by Colin Meloy with illustrations by Carson Ellis

Book two of the Wildwood Chronicles

Ever since Prue McKeel returned home from the Impassable Wilderness after rescuing her brother from the malevolent Dowager Governess, life has been pretty dull. School holds no interest for her, and her new science teacher keeps getting on her case about her dismal test scores and daydreaming in class. Her mind is constantly returning to the verdant groves and sky-tall trees of Wildwood, where her friend Curtis still remains as a bandit-in-training.

But all is not well in that world. Dark assassins with mysterious motives conspire to settle the scores of an unknown client. A titan of industry employs inmates from his orphanage to work in his machine shop, all the while obsessing over the exploitation of the Impassable Wilderness. And, in what will be their greatest challenge yet, Prue and Curtis are thrown together again to save themselves and the lives of their friends, and to bring unity to a divided country. But in order to do that, they must go under Wildwood.

To read about the author click

To obtain your copy visit

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from HarperCollins Publishers

Ages: 9 and Up

Pages: 541

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner.

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends March, 31th

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please HELP promote this book on your blog, twitter, pinterest or facebook. Thanks.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #5 – Valerie Gray


March 16, 2014 - Posted by | Free Giveaways | , , , ,


  1. I love the idea of exploring the difficulty encountered when returning to “real life” after an adventure.

    Comment by chrissybelle | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  2. My one granddaughter would love this book. She loves these kinds of stories. I haven’t heard of it before so I’m glad you did the post for it. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  3. Exciting! This adventure sounds original and perfect for a classroom of 6th graders, which I teach. I will share this title with them whether I win the copy or not. I like the name of main character, Prue. It is unique and immediately piques the reader’s interest. Wildwood evokes images of Wonderland and Oz! Thanks for the opportunity!

    Comment by Amy H | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  4. Sounds like a great book for a teenage girl! I remember daydreaming about a special friend and letting my grades go at that young age!

    Comment by kathy j | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  5. It’s great to see more books written to try and interest kids instead of bore them to sleep.

    Comment by Valerie Gray (@valmg) | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  6. Sounds like one of those tumultuous books that keeps you thinking! I’m going to put this on my list!

    Comment by Jennifer | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  7. I love adventurous fiction! Sounds like a fun read for teens and non-teens alike. Aging moms like to feel the excitement of books like this too! lol😉

    Comment by Ashley | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  8. Wildwood has been on my TBR for sometime….something about the jacket cover(s) tugs at me. It would be great to read both books back to back.

    Comment by YvonneJ | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  9. OOOOO, I love books with a supernatural edge to them! This one looks like a great read! Thanks for a great review.

    Comment by Lisa Weidknecht | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  10. My kids would love this!

    Comment by Amy | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  11. I haven’t read this series yet, but it sounds like a fantasy series with some depth to it, something my great readers are always looking for.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | March 18, 2014 | Reply

  12. As soon as I saw the cover I recognized it. Colin Meloy is one of my favorite musicians. I’m a huge fan of his solo work as well as with The Decemberists. This looks like a book I would put away until my daughter was a bit older and then we would read it together at bedtime. The illustrations look beautiful and my daughter would like the story about bandits and the woods. She likes stories full of adventure.

    Comment by Audra O'Hara | March 25, 2014 | Reply

Leave a Reply

