Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review: Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery

Cinderella Smith The Super Secret Mystery


Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery by Stephanie Barden, illustrated by Diane Goode.

About the Book: Cinderella Smith wants to shock and amaze her class with her report on endangered species. So when the books she needs go missing from the library, she teams up with her best friend, Erin, to solve the mystery. But time is running out! Then she gets a totally weird note:

Don’t tell anyone!
I’ll get in big trouble!
Look behind

Missing books and “Look behind E” . . . What in the world could it mean? Just as all seems lost, Cinderella is struck with a capital A-H-A AHA! moment that could blow this case wide open. Someone’s in cahoots, that’s for sure, and Cinderella Smith won’t give up until she solves the mystery!


My Review: Who is Cinderella Smith? She is your modern day Cinderella. A third grade student who is prone to losing her shoes. When the class is assigned a research project on animals, Cinderella is excited as she would like to study ocelots but notice that the books she needed for the research has gone missing from the library. Did the mean bullies take the books? She will just have to investigate and follow every clue until she solves the mystery of the missing books.

If you are a fan of Junie B. Jones or Nancy Drew you will love reading Cinderella Smith. Illustrations by Caldecott Honor winner Diane Goode help to bring the story to life adding an appeal to the Cinderella’s story.

Stephanie Barden

About the Author: When I read other author’s websites, they often say they’ve been writing since they learned how. Not me. Although I grew up loving books and stories, I never thought about writing one of my own, until I had my son, Joe. He told me that I was “a way better story teller than anyone else” and although he was only three at the time, and highly prejudiced to boot, I decided to see if he knew what he was talking about.

It turns out he probably didn’t. I wrote and took classes and wrote and submitted manuscripts and wrote and was rejected and wrote and… finally I got the right story to the right agent at the right time. And the rest is history, but not really, because everything is just beginning.


  • Age Range: 6 – 10 years
  • Grade Level: 1 – 5
  • Series: Cinderella Smith
  • Hardcover: 144 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (April 23, 2013)


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book HarperCollins Publishing in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.




December 2, 2013 - Posted by | Book Review, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , ,


  1. Thanks for the review Ella. I love finding new books my grandkids would enjoy reading.
    Carol L

    Comment by carol Luciano | December 2, 2013 | Reply

  2. This looks super cute. I bet my niece would love it! Thank you for sharing!

    Comment by Kelly Blackwell | December 2, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

