Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Stan Lee’s Kids Universe Books. Ends Nov 25th

Monsters vs Kittens

Monsters vs. Kittens by Dani Jones

About the Book: A fun loving picture book about the differences and similarities between Kittens & Monsters.

My Review: Monsters vs. Kittens is a fun book every child will love to read.  They are different but some similarities.

Kittens are clean while monsters are messy. While kittens like to eat fish monsters like to eat cheeseburgers….so the book says…LOL! You would think because monsters are big they wouldn’t be afraid of anything – wrong, they are afraid of mice, but kittens like mice. But wait monsters and kittens do have something in common. They like to climb trees, they are both warm and cuddly and love to lie in the sun and much more. The book is also a great way to introduce children to comparing and contrasting. The illustrations are very colorful and bold which helps bring the story to life.  A great read for a classroom setting.

About the Author: Dani Jones is an illustrator, artist, and writer based in New England. Her work has been used in children’s books, textbooks, magazines, apps, and comics. Her first picture books as author and illustrator, Monsters Vs. Kittens and Once Upon a Time, will both be published by Stan Lee’s Kids Universe.

She has produced and self-published several projects, including the ongoing webcomic My Sister the Freak (, and the Halloween short story Frosty the Gourdman (

For more info about Dani and her work, visit:

once upon a time
Once Upon A Time There Was A Pig… by Dani Jones

About the Book: In Once Upon a Time There Was a Pig…, Hamilton the pig has a great story to tell his friends… but with all his animal friends’ interruptions and his rising temper, he may never get around to it!

My Review:Hamilton the Pig was about to tell a story about a pig but a big bear interrupter him. He told him to go away as the story was about him. Hamilton didn’t get to tell his story because different animals showed up wanting to be in the story. He told them to all go away. Finally he is alone and can now tell his story. But he only had one page left, the end page as the entire book was wasted by the other animals wanting to be a part of the story. This is another fun book by Dani Jones.

Reggie the Veggie

Reggie the Veggie by Dale Mettam, Illustrated by Ivan Escalante

About the Book: In Reggie the Veggie, Reggie the crocodile loves vegetables, but on his first day of school he goes to the cafeteria and finds nothing but meat. Reggie strives to encourage his classmates and teachers to try something new by adding vegetables to the menu. Written in a humorous rhyme, the book encourages kids to eat a balanced diet.

My Review: This is a fun book about Reggie the Veggie who loves vegetables and fruits. He knows as a carnivore he should love eating meat but he just loves eating vegetables.

For more fun books visit Stan Lee’s Kids Universe

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Stan Lee’s Kids Universe in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 3 winners

Each winner will receive only one book of any of the books listed above

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winners will be selected by

Giveaway Ends Nov 25, 2013

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Please promote this review on your blog, twitter or facebook

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway has Ended!

Winners are

#16 – Suzanne – Monsters vs Kittens

#13 – Cynthia – Reggie the Veggie

#20 – Jireu – Once Upon a Pig

November 5, 2013 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. Excellent books!! They all teach very valid lessons. My kids are 16 and 19 now but they could both use Once Upon A Time, There Was a Pig and Reggie the Veggie, ha ha!!!! Thanks for the giveaway. Seriously, I’d give the book to my nieces:)
    cc_clubbs at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Cindi | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. I love these books, they are colorful and teach the readers something in a fun way. They look like something my daughter could read to her brother, with a little help. I enjoyed your reviews Ella because they were easy to understand and excited me to read these books to my kids.

    Comment by Christine A. | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  3. Three entertaining books for sure. Between my grandkids, one loves seeing alligators (on paper) :0 and the youngest loves reading about pigs. A nice trio to put on the Christmas wish list. Thanks for your reviews Ella .
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  4. Reggie the Veggies sounds like a very fun book. I love when books have great messages in them, yet they are still attractive to kids. I always struggle to get my kids to make good choices at the school cafeteria, this book could really help us.

    Comment by Naomie B | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  5. Those 3 books look so cute! All 3 would make cute Christmas gifts for a local needy veterans family!

    Comment by Amy | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  6. Great selection! These all sound like wonderful stories to share with my kiddos. I think Monsters vs Kittens sounds wonderful. Thanks for the review!

    Comment by lisa | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  7. These all look like great books to enjoy with my nieces and nephews. Thank you for the intro and through review on them. I really think my nephew and I will enjoy Monster vs. Kittens. He is totally into anything that goes bump in the night and I love the kittens, so there you go, something for both of us.

    Comment by Diane S | November 5, 2013 | Reply

  8. These all sound like fun. My daughter would love monster’s vs kittens 2 of her favorites things. I’d live to see how they compare.
    Pigs with friends would be fun. We love animals and friendship. And a crocodile who eats veggies…wow!!! My lil one dislikes meat too…
    Thanks for a chance!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | November 6, 2013 | Reply

  9. I would love Once Upon a Time for my interrupting daughters – hope they get the message. The Reggie the Veggie book would be helpful for our family too.

    Comment by Emi | November 6, 2013 | Reply

  10. These all seem like wonderful books to read to a child.

    Comment by jeremy mclaughlin | November 7, 2013 | Reply

  11. these books are perfect I have a 10 yr old boy who loves to read to his 2 yr old cousin and the books would be very fun to read and the veggie one is something that can help every family member enjoy their veggies too.

    Comment by Katiria | November 7, 2013 | Reply

  12. I have a 3 year old who is just starting to get into books, she loves for me to read to her. I think she would love any of the books because they all have animals in them, one of her favorite topics. I think my daughter would like Monsters vs Kittens the best because she loves to compare and contrast things already because she finds it funny. I think I would like Reggie the Veggie, however, because I can never remind her enough to eat her vegetables.

    Comment by Lauren O. | November 8, 2013 | Reply

  13. WOW they are sound like such awesome books, I think my son could benefit from any of them. He would love Monsters vs Kittens, because he loves monsters!! Reggie the Veggie looks great also that might help his consumption of veggies!!!

    Comment by Cynthia | November 8, 2013 | Reply

  14. All of these books are great for teaching our little ones something important. I especially like Reggie the Veggie and would give it to my youngest grandson. Both his father (my son) and I are vegetarians and my son and his wife are raising him to be a vegetarian, too.

    Comment by Carol M | November 9, 2013 | Reply

  15. I would like Monsters vs Kittens. I like that the monsters are scared of mice but kittens like them However all three must be awesome books because the author and I have the same name!!

    Comment by Danielle Jones | November 10, 2013 | Reply

  16. would love to ave monsters vs kittens for my daughete who turn sone on the 20th. it looks so cute and she loves books

    Comment by Suzanne | November 11, 2013 | Reply

  17. I like Monsters vs. Kittens. It tells about how we can all have differences, but how differences can be good. Sounds like a cute book with a good lesson! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Comment by Melissa L. | November 12, 2013 | Reply

  18. I love the illustrations! I think Reggie the Veggie would be great for my picky eater.

    Comment by Jodi Trinklein | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  19. I think all 3 books are good lessons but as a mom I like Reggie the Veggie. Anything to get my daughter to eat vegetables!

    Comment by becky perez | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  20. These all seem like fun reads! Once Upon a Time There Was a Pig sounds like a hilarious story

    Comment by Jieru | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  21. Once upon a time there was a pig would be a great add to the library of my 3 year old. He is also interrupting people because I don’t think he has yet learned that skill. Sometimes as a parent I think he learns things best when they are coming from another source like this book.

    Comment by Katie Purcell | November 23, 2013 | Reply

  22. These all sound like great books. I am wondering if Reggie the Veggie would get my kids to eat more veggies. They are the opposite and only want to eat meat!

    Comment by Lauren s | November 24, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

