Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Spotlight/Giveaway: How Long Will You Love Me? Ends Oct 24th

 Love Me cover
About the Book: Whether it’s a question from a child to a parent or an adult to their  significant other, that question probably gets asked more than you  think…even if it just stays in your head and you are the only one who  hears it. Patti Brassard Jefferson’s creative first book starts with the question and each page gives a warm, rhythmic reassurance — “I  promise I will love you ’til…” Along the way to the definitive answer, you will see shopping frogs, tanning dolphins and blues-playing  bunnies. The sun drives a fancy car, an octopus writes love letters and  baseballs grow on trees! (All of these silly characters are also hiding a heart for you to find on each page.) So just how long will I love you?  The answer is perfectly clear in this book!


ISBN: 9781612441658

Publisher: Halo Publishing, Int.


About the author: Patti Brassard Jefferson is an author, illustrator, mosaic artist,  graphic designer, bubble-blower and palm tree hugger. She lives in  Florida with her two rescued mutts and a husband who loves her enough to tell her she shouldn’t sing in public. She always defers to her inner  child when making big decisions which is why she writes &  illustrates children’s books that have a little something for adults  too.
Mini Interview:
Like all authors, you have had your fair share of rejection letters. You obviously did not let the letters deter you. How did you keep your determination without getting discouraged?
At some point you have to just say to yourself – “does the world really need to hear what I have to say?”  Hopefully as an author, the answer there is a resounding “yes!”. I actually got some very encouraging feedback from someone in the industry fairly early on in my process who was interested in my book. They didn’t feel it was “complete” yet so I was asked to add more to it. It took me almost a year to get it to the point of feeling it was finished and when I resubmitted, that particular contact person was no longer there and, in fact, that publisher was no longer taking any outside submissions. I was pretty down after that disappointment but I learned that the good things rarely happen in slow motion. Luckily, I knew that I had an important message to share so I started researching the possibilities of self-publishing which has turned out to be one of the best decision I ever made.
It has been my experience, some things come quite easily (like creating the setting) and other things aren’t so easy (like deciding on a title). What comes easily to you and what do you find more difficult? 
I write in rhyme and I write for children so sometimes it is a challenge to get not only the cadence of the sentences just right but also use vocabulary that is easy enough for the audience. I don’t want anything to sound forced. The easy part is being a little goofy. It seems that comes pretty natural to me.
Please describe to us your relationship between you and your editor. What makes an author/editor relationship a success? The personal process of creation tends to leave a lot of writers, artists, musicians and other creative types in a vulnerable place emotionally. We put so much of ourselves into our work that when we are done, we feel that our work is the best that it can be. An editor’s job is to take a fresh, neutral look at the work and make it even better all the while dealing with a fragile creative ego. The ideal relationship between an author and an editor is one of symbiotic balance.
WOI Banner Jefferson small

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner  

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only!

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends October 24th, 2013

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer  

Winners are selected via Random and notified by email. You have 48 hours to respond;

If no response, the prize is forfeited and an alternate winner is chosen.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #4 – Jieru

October 1, 2013 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. I believe that the need to be loved, is inherent in all of us! Whether we are a child or an adult…
    Her book is fabulous and I adore how there is a heart to find in each person throughout her story~
    This would be a wonderful book to share with our two sons.
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by windicindi | October 2, 2013 | Reply

  2. I would like to buy 2 Patti, but I want you to sign them…how can I work this out. I have 2 showers in the next 2 weeks and I think these are great beginning gifts for new families.

    Comment by Brenda D Marois | October 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank for the interview, MyMcBooks! …and good luck to everyone in winning a copy of the book!

    Comment by Patti Brassard Jefferson | October 4, 2013 | Reply

  4. I think this is a very important book for kids to read. As Dr. Erik Ericksen has stated, children have basic needs from the start, and it’s important to let them know that they are loved!

    Comment by Jieru | October 10, 2013 | Reply

  5. I think we could all use a reminder that we are loved and special. The hidden hearts on each page sound like a fun addition.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | October 24, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

