Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review: Look What I Can Do! By Nancy Viau

Look What I Can Do


Look What I Can Do! By Nancy Viau and illustrated by Anna Vojtech

About the book: Things get easier every day. Just watch what I can do today! This affirming story celebrates how baby animals in the forest accomplish goals, whether it’s a baby bear finding food, a young spider spinning a web, or a small bird flying from the nest for the first time. The tender, rhyming text compares these achievements to those of a child who is learning to ride his bike or catch a ball.

The perfect story to encourage young readers to try new things or keep the faith when faced with challenges, Look What I Can Do! Honors the important milestones that children achieve each day.!-9781419705298.html

Age Range: 3 – 6 years

Hardcover: 32 pages

Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers (March 12, 2013)


FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Abrams Appleseed in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


My Review:  This is a well written rhyme book about baby animals who accomplish their goals no matter what. The book starts with a young deer learning how to stand up strong, “It’s not easy to stand up strong. I shake and sway, but move along”, or a little bird trying its best to fly. “It’s not easy to leave the nest. I flap my wings. I try my best.” A boy trying to hit a baseball, “It’s not easy to hit a ball. But I can catch it as it falls.”

Then the encouraging written words by the author “Friends of forest, field, and stream, keep trying on your own. Be proud today. Have fun and play. In time you will be grown”.

This is a great book that would encourage young children to believe that they can do anything. Like the book said, things get easier everyday.

This book I would recommend for every home and school.


Nancy Viau

About the author: Nancy Viau is the author of Look What I Can Do! (Picture Book, March 2013), Storm Song (Picture Book, April 2013), and Samantha Hansen Has Rocks In Her Head (Middle-Grade Novel, 2008). Her stories, poems, and activities appear in Highlights, Ladybug, and many other magazines. She is a member of The Authors Guild, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, and The KidLit Authors Club, a marketing group she started that consists of authors who bring interactive book parties to bookstores, libraries, festivals, and conferences. Please visit to find out about her assembly programs and writing workshops.








April 7, 2013 - Posted by | Book Review | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

