Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Giveaway: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Ends March 17th

In celebration of the Movie “Oz the Great and Powerful” We at Mymcbooks will like to give two winners a classic book of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum.

About the Movie: Oz the Great and Powerful is an upcoming 2013 American fantasy adventure film directed by Sam Raimi. The film is inspired by L. Frank Baum’s 1900 novel The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, and is set before the 1939 film The Wizard of Oz. Read all about it


The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Junior Classics for Young Readers)

 The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

About the Book: This story is the door to the world of wonder and magic. It is a new set of childhood friends. It is a far-away place where wishes are granted and dreams become real – yet where the heart still yearns for home.

Frank Baum’s timeless classic The Wonderful Wizard of Oz was the first uniquely American fairy tale. A combination of enchanting fantasy and piercing social commentary, this remarkable story has entertained and beguiled readers of all ages since it was first published in 1900.

Age 7 and up

Pages: 179

Free Giveaway to 2 Winners

   Giveaway Ends March 17th

Comments like these below would be deleted

Great contest, Please enter me, love to win this!, This is so cute

So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

All Mandatory must be completed or entry will be disqualified

Winner will be chosen at random

Open to U.S Residents Only.

This Giveaway Has Ended!

Winner #14 – Andrew T. Kuligowski – The Wonderful Wizard of Oz


Winner #5 – katie neustadter – The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

March 3, 2013 - Posted by | Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. I have watched this movie many many times, but have never read the book. My grandchildren would love it too!

    Comment by Joyce Harrell | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. My favorite book when I was a child.

    Comment by allison | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. I have watched this movie countless times and own it on VHS but have never read the book. We are trying to build a library of classics for our daughter and this would be a great addition.


    Email subscriber.

    Comment by MonaG | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. I remember when I first had this book read to me…2nd grade my teacher George Cagni. He was so awesome, he changed his voice with each character. Wow what memories!
    I think that’s one reason I love reading to my daughter, movies can never replace the memories of reading together.
    This book would be a great addition to our reading collection.
    Thanks so much for the chance.

    Comment by BJ | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  5. This is a wonderful book and I love the movie! My class would be fascinated with this story!

    Comment by katie neustadter | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  6. As a child I loved this story; there was so much to it. Would love to share it with my children as it is such a timeless story.

    Comment by lisa | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  7. There’s no place like home…to read and enjoy The Wonderful Wizard of Oz…and to visit other worlds, it inspires us to use our imagination!

    Comment by Elsie | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  8. i have always loved the wizard of oz and this book would be a treat for my kids and home school kids

    Comment by cassandra mccann | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  9. I’m embarrassed to say that I have never seen the movie or read the book, but I would love to discover it with my kids.

    Comment by Naomie | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  10. I loved the movie as a child every year it came on. I never got to watch the whole thing because it was past my bedtime. I’d love to share the story with my nephew. He’s the perfect age for this story now!🙂

    Comment by Mippy | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  11. I remember when The Wizard of Oz was an Easter TV tradition. It’s so fun to share the books these classic movies originated from with my grandkids.

    Comment by tmy56 | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  12. This book has certainly become a classic and so well know because of the movie but I think it is always great to let children read the original book so they have an understanding for the original story line.

    Comment by blessedelements | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  13. This is an amazing giveaway. Truly a classic. As a child I loved this book and watched the movie over and over again when I had my 7 children at home. Thanks for this giveaway opportunity Ella.
    Carol L.

    Comment by Carol L | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  14. Hi Ella. What a great choice for a giveaway. I haven’t read it since I was in high school, and would love to share it with my grandchildren now! I actually went through the first half-dozen or so of the series back in those days, and remember I got an amazing thought out of one of them. Badly paraphrased, “A good deed is usually done because the person wants to, but a someone willing to do a bad deed always needs to know “what’s in it for me?”

    Comment by Andrew T. Kuligowski | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  15. When my daughter was 3, we took her to the mountains of North Carolina to the “Yellow Brick Road”. We all fell in love with this place and many times, I read the novel to my child. We watched the movie over and over. That was 47 years ago and many days I catch myself singing the song from the movie. I now have a 3 year old great grandson and would like for him to know the thrill of the “Yellow Brick Road”.

    Comment by Ann Council | March 4, 2013 | Reply

  16. I love this book/movie! It’s a tradition every year to watch it around Thanksgiving to kick off the holidays, we’ve been doing it since I was a kid (and my Mom before that) and continuing it with my children, a timeless classic!

    Comment by Nicole Carter Weasley | March 4, 2013 | Reply

  17. I liked this story as a kid. I bet my kids would like it as well.

    Comment by domestic diva | March 4, 2013 | Reply

  18. ‘The Wizard of Oz’ was one of my very favorite movies growing up and yet I’ve never read the book. I have read “Wicked” which is the book the musical is based on. I didn’t really like it. It was kind of crude and far-reaching.
    Thanks for the giveaway! I really can’t wait to see this movie!

    mestith at gmail dot com

    Comment by Meghan Stith | March 4, 2013 | Reply

  19. I just read this book!!🙂 I could always use an extra copy or two for my classroom!

    Comment by Lydia Harpe | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  20. one of my favorites…read this one with my daughter when she was little! Thanks

    Comment by Rhonda Gayle Nash-Hall | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  21. such a classic! one of my favorites growing up; would like to share with my grandkids

    Comment by cynthia | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  22. My kids have never seen The Wizard of Oz, but it would be neat to read this with them before they do!

    Comment by Kristie | March 7, 2013 | Reply

  23. I read most of the Oz books when I was a child, but haven’t looked at them since then. I guess a trip down memory lane is in order.

    Comment by Wehaf | March 8, 2013 | Reply

  24. Such a wonderful classic childrens book. My favorite character has always been the Tin Man.

    Comment by Maryann | March 14, 2013 | Reply

  25. I’ve seen The Wizard of Oz but haven’t read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz yet. I would enjoy comparing the book and the movie.

    Comment by likwan | March 17, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

