Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Mismatched Moira. Ends March 15th

Mis Matched

Mismatched Moira by Alisa Brookins, illustrated by Linda Merritt

About the Book: Little Moira Goldstein has crowned herself The Queen of Color and why shouldn’t she? Who else but Moira would pair red sweatpants with a fuchsia tutu and top it off with a pink pompom sweater? What style! What fun! What color! Trouble is no one else in her family is very colorful…or are they?

My Review: Moira is the Queen of color. She happens to be the only one in the Goldstein family who pairs a hot pink with a fire engine red. She will wear one yellow sneaker with a black shoe.  She is a fashionista and crowns herself the Queen of Color. Her family couldn’t understand why she loves to mismatch her clothing. Her mother even suggested in picking out her clothes for school but Moira feels she is capable in doing so herself, as she is the Queen of Color she feels colorful and fabulous.

This is a nice book for every little girl that loves to dress themselves no matter how mismatched her clothing is, she still feel fabulous. Book illustrated by Linda K. Merritt.

Pages: 40

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

About the Author: Alisa Brookins lives with her family near Dallas, Texas. Although Moira remains unchallenged as The Queen of Color, Alisa has been known to go out occasionally in sweatpants and a pink tutu.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends March 15th

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, and Love to win this! This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

This Giveaway Has Ended!

Winner is #7 – Teresa Young

February 26, 2013 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. This is a terrific book for my granddaughter who loves to read. I liked and shared this on Facebook.

    Comment by Gloria walshver | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  2. This book definitely reminds me of my daughter…the other day she had one pink shorts with a white t-shirt (in the middle of winter) and Santa Claus socks! LOL!🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  3. Sounds like my kind of girl…sweatpants and mismatched socks! I just try to pull it off as fashionable, haha! Sounds like a great book for the kids in my classroom!

    Comment by Lydia Harpe | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  4. My eight year old loves to play dress up. She would love this book! My own little princess🙂

    Comment by slinkydennis | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  5. What a neat premise for a book. I made my Goddaughter and sons a box of dress up clothes from our Halloween costumes and things from the thrift store. They love it.
    bourmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  6. Who wouldn’t love to be Queen and especially one of colors!!! What a neat little book this is!

    Comment by Megan Parsons | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  7. How freespirited Moira is! I love that she shows her individuality.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 26, 2013 | Reply

  8. I think the concept behind this book is great! It should empower little girls to be individuals and to not care what others think about them! As a little girl, I wore outrageous clothing and it’s certainly helped with my confidence as I grew older. I feel like I’m my own person and an individual. I certainly don’t conform to others and I think it’s important for children to learn this while they’re young.

    mestith at gmail dot com

    Comment by Meghan Stith | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  9. This reminds me of both my girls who have very definite ideas about fashion.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | March 1, 2013 | Reply

  10. This reminded me of my 5 daughters growing up and thought they looked wonderful when allowed to dress themselves. They looked more like clowns lol Of course I never said that to them and if we were staying in they could wear whatever.🙂
    Carol L.

    Comment by Carol L | March 3, 2013 | Reply

  11. This sounds like my granddaughter; very creative! Would love to read this to her!

    Comment by cynthia | March 5, 2013 | Reply

  12. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to
    say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    again soon!

    Comment by Classy Dressing In As Well As Measurement Clothing | March 8, 2013 | Reply

  13. I love that Moira is self confident and shows creativity with her clothing colors and choices.

    Comment by Maryann | March 14, 2013 | Reply

  14. I think it’s great that Moira Goldstein isn’t afraid to express herself and is very creative in her wardrobe choices.

    Comment by likwan | March 15, 2013 | Reply

  15. This book could describe both of my kids. At early ages they have decided that they can dress themselves, as well as do most things by themselves. We would all enjoy reading this together. I love the illustrations- they are so colorful.

    Comment by Christine A. | March 15, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

