Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: A Gift for Santa. Ends Dec 31st

A Gift for Santa

A Gift for Santa by Karen Dove and Illustrated by Gray Sanchez

About the Book: Share God’s love with the children in your life, through this unforgettable story of how Santa came to know Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. You will fall in love with Dolly and Bea as you share their amazing adventure with Santa and visit the manger bed of the Savior of the world.

My Review: This story is about how Santa flew back in time to Bethlehem where he found the stable with baby Jesus in it. He fell to his knees and worship and praise God for the Savior’s birth. Santa learned the true meaning of Christmas. Jesus and not Santa is the reason for celebrating Christmas.

This book is illustrated by Gary Sanchez with beautiful bright and bold colors which helps tell the story.

Pages: 50

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules  


This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 31st.

Author is giving away 1 signed copy of this book to 1 winner.

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, please enter me, and Love to win this! This is so cute!

Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #13 – cynthia

December 7, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. What a wonderful book. My daughter and I were just discussing how she sat him down to explain that Christmas was really about celebrating our Lord’s birth and not about the list of toys he had. This will be the perfect book to help her show him the way. Thanks so much for posting about A Gift For Santa.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. I am excited to hear about a book that talks about Santa but that shares the real reason for the season, Jesus. What a great message for children. I hope to get to share this with my daughters. Thank you.

    Comment by Angela Allen | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a clever adventure for children in this season.

    Comment by ndluebke | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  4. Love the message… Jesus is the reason for the seaons…NOT Santa. 🙂

    Comment by Barbara | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  5. I like the combination of two stories of the season, Baby Jesus and Santa.

    Comment by Connie Schultz | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  6. I would be curious to see how the author incorporates Santa with the birth of Jesus. It would be nice to know that Santa worships Jesus. Jesus first, then Santa. I would want to read the book first beore sharing it with my granddaughter.

    Comment by Kathy Davis | December 7, 2012 | Reply

    • Kathy – This is Author, Karen Dove. The story is about how a doll witnesses to Santa from what she learned from her previous owner, and how he kneels at the manger and asks Jesus to forgive his sin and gives his heart to Jesus. It is also has a sub story about a miracle that happens to little Dolly and a children’s salvation prayer at the end. Hope this helps. You can read a preview on my website

      Comment by Karen Dove | December 17, 2012 | Reply

    • one more thing, if I may. One verse goes:
      For Santa knew why Christmas came
      And why it did not bare his name
      But bore the name of Christ, God’s Son
      The Heavenly Healer and Holy One.

      Comment by Karen Dove | December 17, 2012 | Reply

  7. This is a great moral lesson to teach children!

    Comment by Sue Bunting | December 8, 2012 | Reply

  8. My son is at the age where he is questioning the existence of Santa, but we will never question the existence of God and Jesus in our lives! This book focuses on the true meaning of the season, Jesus! Thank you for the opportunity!

    Comment by Rhonda P. | December 8, 2012 | Reply

  9. I have a book very similar to this that I love. I would love for my GodDaughter to understand that Jesus is above all others.
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) | December 8, 2012 | Reply

  10. There is so much focus on Santa and not on Jesus. I love that this story incorporates both but emphasizes the importance of Jesus. Through each holiday, I try to encourage my daughter to remember the “reason for the season”, which is hard for kids her age who get caught up with gifts!

    Comment by Kimberly Krasowski | December 9, 2012 | Reply

  11. I love that this book has Santa being thankful for the real reason of Christmas – Jesus! I love how the book addresses both of these topics but puts the emphasis on Jesus. A great truth to teach children.

    Comment by Maryann | December 11, 2012 | Reply

  12. Brings tears to my eyes…. I love that Santa takes a trip back in time and brings the true meaning of Christmas back to life.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | December 14, 2012 | Reply

  13. I really like how the author intertwines the two. Sounds beautiful. Would love to read it to my grandchildren.

    Comment by cynthia | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  14. What a wonderful book. I love the story and the illustrations that match are beautiful

    Comment by lisa | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  15. I have to kind of repeat what I said in another entry as it explains so well why we would love to add this book to our home library: I would love to win this book for my son. He is obsessed with Christmas and this year he finally is starting to truly get the holiday although I am searching for more ways to help him to understand God and Jesus at this time of year. My son is three but is fighting autism and is right now still mostly non-verbal. We have made so many gains over this past year that I am so thankful for and the language is coming but it is still hard to not be able to share the religious side of this wonderful holiday with him as it is very important to me. Thanks for the giveaway and the chance to win. It would be a treasured book in our home.

    Stiletto Storytime

    Comment by stilettostorytime | December 23, 2012 | Reply

  16. I would like to learn more about how Santa met Jesus. I guess this means Santa is older than Jesus, haha. =)

    Comment by likwan | December 31, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

