Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Christmas Giveaway:The Christmas Village. Ends Dec 25th

The Christmas Village

About the Book: When Jamie Reynolds comes to his grandparents’ Vermonthome for Christmas, he just wants things to go back to the way they were before his dad disappeared. Time and again he is drawn to Grandma’s miniature Christmas Village, where he imagines that life is perfect. Late one night, the village comes to life before Jamie’s eyes, and his fantasy of escaping into it becomes very real indeed. He discovers that the village is called Canterbury, where the year is 1932. He becomes fast friends with Kelly and Christopher Pennysworth, and is taken in by Ida, who runs the local boarding house. But he also makes a dangerous enemy of the mysterious and menacing Jim Gordon, whose return to town is nothing but trouble. As Jamie desperately races against time to find his way back home, he is suddenly faced with a terrifying choice: to go ahead with his plan to leave, or to stay and help his friends, at the risk of never going home again.

Read my review

And for a chance to win leave your comments below.

There will be 2 Winners.

Giveaway Rules


This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 25th.

There will be 2 winners.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Merry Christmas


#9 – Carol L

#4 – Terry Young

December 1, 2012 - Posted by | Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. This sounds like an interesting twist on a Christmas tale. I’d like to read it with my kids.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh, oh, this sounds like that episode on that show- what was the name of that series, you know the one where weird things happen but the main girl is immune to it? Hmm, I can’t remember. But on that show it was a snow globe and a girl. Sounds like a fun read!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Comment by Jesse Kimmel-Freeman | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. This sounds like a book my youngest daughter would enjoy very much. She loves books like The Chronicle of Narnia series and this plot kind of reminds me of that. She escapes into secret worlds sometimes too.

    Comment by Amy W. | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. This story is so intriguing – I can identify with Jamie wanting to escaoe from the stress of his life. I hope the Christmas village turns out to be a place of peace for him.

    Comment by Terry Young | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. I will check this story out. I would love to use it in my class. Great premise. Thanks for such wonderful books.
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  6. I missed what the age group was but this sounds neat. I love how they use a Christmas Village as the story line. I have seen those neat villages and wondered myself what it would be like to live there. Its such a beautiful scene.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  7. I love when a book has such a big ultimatum! The whole idea of traveling to a new place would definitely interest my son.

    Comment by Brigette Streeper | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  8. Yes, as one person already commented, this reminds me of The Chronicles of Narnia. My son loves to read books that are full of adventure. This books looks like it has both adventure and suspense. Thank you for the opportunity!

    Comment by Rhonda P. | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  9. These are my favorite type of story. Going back into a small village where the suspense and intrigue have me putting this on my to read list for the G. kids. Thanks again Ella for another great giveaway.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  10. What grade level is this for? I think the story itself would really fit what my third grader likes to read…and maybe discourage him from running away when mommy says no to too many sweets!

    Comment by Lydia Harpe | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  11. Love the excitement of this book. Would love to give this to my grandson as he loves books like that.

    Comment by cynthia | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  12. Sounds like such a fun and adventurous book! It definitely sounds like a great read!!

    Comment by lisa | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  13. This really sounds like such an original concept and unique Christmas book. I love the idea of him going into the Christmas village as it comes to life. I have just the child in mind if I were to win it. Thanks so much for the giveaway and the chance to win such an interesting book this holiday season.

    Stiletto Storytime

    Comment by stilettostorytime | December 23, 2012 | Reply

  14. I enjoy reading mysteries and having one with a Christmas theme makes me want to check out this book. Also having it set in the past is an intriguing twist.

    Comment by likwan | December 25, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

