Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESUS! Ends Dec 25th

Happy Birthday Jesus by Michelle Medlock Adams

Happy Birthday Jesus! Written by Michelle Medlock Adams Illustrated by Olga & Aleksey Ivanov

Each Christmas, we celebrate a very special day – Jesus’ Birthday. Follow this young family as they add birthday traditions to their Christmas festivities. They hang streamers, make a birthday cake, and even sing “Happy Birthday” to Jesus. This story introduces children to the significance of the holiday in a very relatable way.

My Review: It’s Christmas day and the children can’t wait to celebrate because “Today is Jesus’ special day!” As they hang streamers and decorating the Christmas tree and putting on their Christmas hats singing songs. Their mom is in the kitchen baking a cake for the special day.

This rhyming story gives the reason for the season, the reason for celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ. Happy Birthday, Jesus has colorful illustrations by the illustrators which brings the story to life.

Ages: 2 and Up

Pages: 22

About the Author:

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules


This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 25th.

Author is giving  away 1 signed copy of this book to 1 winner.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

Merry Christmas Everybody.

The Winner is #18 – Jany

December 1, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,


  1. I teach a 3 year old Sunday School class. This book would be great for them. We always have a Happy Birthday Jesus birthday party!

    Comment by Mary Jane Coward | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Now this is the way to get your kids to celebrate Christmas! The cover image is self explanatory as to the joy the children are having at Jesus’s Birthday Party. Most children seem to enjoy a story more when it is rhyming and more likely to remember and repeat the story. Thanks for the review/post.

    Not sure if you needed my email. mamaw1050[at]att[dot]net

    Comment by Patricia | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. What an adorable looking book! I haven’t read this one yet. I can see my God Daughter really liking this one. She loves rhyming books.
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Mel Bourn (@MelCamino5) | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think this is a great thing. Some people don’t appreciate the true meaning of Christmas. Don’t get me wrong I buy gifts but children need to understand why there is christmas aside from santa and presents

    sibabe64 at ptd dot net

    Comment by Lisa R | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  5. How sweet celebrating Jesus’s birth! I think this would be a great story to share with my kids for the true meaning of Christmas.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  6. It’s nice to see a book that tells about the true reason to celebrate Christmas. It”s not supposed to be about buying presents and trees, but about Jesus and caring for others. This book looks like an excellent opportunity to reinforce that message with young people.

    Comment by Gloria Wilson | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  7. I think this is a great way to bring together the story of Christ and the holiday spirit.

    Comment by Brigette Streeper | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  8. My 4 year old granddaughter is learing about Jesus and her 7 year old sister is starting to read to her. Happy Birhtday, Jesus! would be a great book for both of them to learn the true meaning of Christ.

    Comment by Laurie | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  9. We really like to try and remember the real meaning of Christmas in our home and this book sounds like a great way to help children understand. We have a 2 year old and we want to start early with explaining this message to her : )

    Comment by Lacey | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  10. Too often, the reason for the season is lost in the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping and parties. Books like this bring the focus back to where it needs to be – on Jesus! Thank you for the opportunity!

    Comment by Rhonda P. | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  11. I homeschool my children and I love teaching them that Christmas is more than presents it is about a baby that came and died for all of us. It seems like a very touching tribute.

    Comment by Jalynn Patterson | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  12. This would be great for my 2 year old. He would love the rhyming rythm of the book and the great illustrations and I would love for him to know Christmas is about Jesus, not Santa. Jesus is always a focus in our home, but the little one’s pick up on Santa much faster than Jesus.

    Comment by Amy W. | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  13. I love this book Ella. My daughter was just explaining to my grandson why we really celebrate and the importance of Christmas. I think she wanted to start explaining when he was telling her the 40th thing he wanted for Christmas. lol My late Mom always had a cake on Christmas day at breakfast. This way our focus was on the real reason for celebrating first thing. This is a wonderful giveaway opportunity.
    Carol L

    Comment by Carol L | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  14. I am currently working on recognizing rhyming words with my little 4-year-old so a book like this would be great…and seasonal!

    Comment by Lydia Harpe | December 3, 2012 | Reply

  15. I love that the book sounds so joyous, looks beautifully illustrated and has rhyming words.. Perfect for the little ones to learn, read and enjoy! What a wonderful book to celebrate Jesus birthday

    Comment by Maryann | December 4, 2012 | Reply

  16. This sounds like a wonderful book for my children.

    Comment by Gianna | December 10, 2012 | Reply

  17. This would be a perfect book for the kids on Christmas! My nephews love christmas and learning about baby Jesus so this would be perfect! And love the adorable pictures. Thanks for the chance! Happy Holidays!

    Comment by Alina | December 11, 2012 | Reply

  18. A good book is a great gift. It’s a pleasure to the person that presents it and a delight to the one or little one that receives it.
    My nephew is 3 years old, I’ll so glad if I’ll give HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESUS! to him as a gift

    “to make learning interesting and fun for the children” is basic for me too
    Thank you so much

    Comment by Jany | December 19, 2012 | Reply

  19. Looks like a great story of the Christmas spirit. Fantastic🙂

    Comment by cynthia | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  20. Love the rhyming! My son would be very interested in this.

    Comment by lisa | December 20, 2012 | Reply

  21. We celebrate each Christmas Eve by having a birthday party for Jesus. I would love to have this book to reach each year at the party. The preschool-aged guests would love the colorful pictures and rhyming.

    Comment by Sabrina Water | December 22, 2012 | Reply

  22. I have to kind of repeat what I said in another entry as it explains so well why we would love to add this book to our home library: I would love to win this book for my son. He is obsessed with Christmas and this year he finally is starting to truly get the holiday although I am searching for more ways to help him to understand God and Jesus at this time of year. My son is three but is fighting autism and is right now still mostly non-verbal. We have made so many gains over this past year that I am so thankful for and the language is coming but it is still hard to not be able to share the religious side of this wonderful holiday with him as it is very important to me. Thanks for the giveaway and the chance to win. It would be a treasured book in our home.

    Stiletto Storytime

    Comment by stilettostorytime | December 23, 2012 | Reply

  23. This book sounds like a great way to emphasize the origin of Christmas as the celebration of Jesus’ birthday. I’ll definitely check it out!

    Comment by likwan | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  24. This looks like a wonderful book. Would love to read it to my little one.

    Comment by sus | December 25, 2012 | Reply

  25. Thank you very much, I’m very grateful

    Comment by Jany | December 26, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

