Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Old Woman Winter. Ends November 30th

Old Woman Winter written by Mary Bevis and illustrated by Consie Powell.

About the Book: Old Woman Winter looks out of her cabin in the clouds. The earth is gloomy and gray–time to whip up a recipe of gorgeous snowflakes to brighten the landscape Delightful illustrations inspire a happy anticipation of winter weather, and the jolly old woman warms readers’ hearts. Clever recipe cards tell how different kinds of frozen precipitation are really made, and a list of winter outdoor activities will have children eager to get outside.

My Review: This is a great story to read during the winter season. A story about an old woman and her husband who lives in the sky and saw that the earth was gloomy and gray and that the people needed some sparkle and excitement. It was time to brighten up the landscape with a batch of snow. And off she went to whipping up a batch of snow.  The illustration by Consie Powell is bright and beautiful which helps tell the story. If you live in Florida you may want to try it and bring a little snow to the State…LOL!

A must have and a must read.

Reading level: Ages 5 and up

Hardcover: 32 pages

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the Raven Production, Inc in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules  


There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends November 30th  

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below.

This Giveaway Has Ended

Winner is #4 – Rhonda P.

November 23, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. I love the thought that it isn’t just old man winter, but a woman that looks at the Earth and decides it needs a touch of magic- maybe even a woman’s touch. I love that! I think my kids would greatly enjoy this book!

    Comment by Jesse Kimmel-Freeman | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. Looks like a beautifully illustrated book that I would love to add to my classroom library. I love snow!

    Comment by Barbara | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. This book brings a smile to my face and stirs warm memories growing up in MN. The first snow fall was always my favorite. The quiet as it fell, the smell in the air, the light tickling on your face as it melts and the white clean blanket laid out all around you. I would really like to read this book and share my memories with the kids.

    Comment by Christine A. | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. I, too, grew up in northern Minnesota! Winters are so special to children up north because of the snow and the activities that go with the season. Oh, how I miss winter! Living in South Texas for the last 23 years means that my winters have been void of snow. I love to tell my students stories about wintertime, and this book would bring winter to life with the many feelings that one experiences during this season. Looks like a good read to me!

    Comment by Rhonda P. | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  5. This sounds like a perfect book to read when everyone has ‘cabin fever’ along about February here in upstate NY. We could get ideas of activities to enjoy. The cover illustration is charming.

    Comment by tmy56 | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  6. Sounds like a wonderful book to share with children during the Winter. I have several grandchildren this age that would enjoy Mamaw reading them this book. A great book to teach the kids in a fun way about what winter is all about.

    Comment by Patricia aka Mamaw | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  7. “Old Woman Winter” … with grandkids now, I’m paying more attention to some of the changing roles that catch my eye BUT the kids (thankfully) don’t give a second thought about – ever since I saw that commercial where they talked about the (toy) Princess rescueing the Prince! (And yes, we DO live in Florida, and those kids have never seen real snow!)

    Comment by Andrew Kuligowski | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  8. This sounds like a fun story to celebrate the snow this season.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  9. Right now would be a perfect time to read this book in my classroom…we just got our first snow of the year!

    Comment by Lydia Harpe | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  10. This sounds like an awesome book!

    Comment by Sue Bunting | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  11. Seems like it’ll be a great read, thanks for sharing about it🙂


    Comment by Beckey | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  12. I love the review! I love snow and winter, its so beautiful and calming. We miss it now that we have moved. But I think my daughter would love the reminder. Great story!

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | November 24, 2012 | Reply

  13. looks like a great read…would love the chance and then would pass it on to my niece and nephew

    Comment by Diane S | November 24, 2012 | Reply

  14. When the students come to the library that week before we get out for winter break, we read lots of books about winter and then have an indoor snowball fight that ends with them writing a poem about snow or winter. This sounds like a good fit for that lesson. I love how the book includes information on how snow happens and gives ideas for winter activities. Sounds like a book I need to add to our library collection.

    Comment by Beverly Archer | November 26, 2012 | Reply

  15. Living in the “NO SNOW EVER” state of South Carolina, this would be great for my kids to imagine what snow is like!!! I have lived here for 31 years and have only seen snow ONCE! It was a few years agos, and I swear people from up north would think we had lost our minds down here! We made snowman alll night, had snowball fights, and just had a blast. My daughter was alive to experience it, she was about 5. We let her stay up all night, and me her and my husband were playing in our culdesac until like 3 in the morning. Sadly, it all melted away by the next mid-afternoon, and even worse we had no power for 5 DAYS!! Haha, we southerners dont know how to deal with snow. But still, it is one of the best memories of my life. This would be a great book to help us relive that night🙂

    Comment by Shelly Johnson | November 26, 2012 | Reply

  16. A beautiful looking book that I would love to share with my students. This would be a great book to add to my winter stories collection. Thanks for the great review. Short and to the point. I like that.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | November 27, 2012 | Reply

  17. I love that it has recipes and ideas to enjoy winter!🙂

    Comment by Kristie | November 29, 2012 | Reply

  18. Where I live it doesn’t snow often so I could use this book to help me imagine snow and other wintry weather to get into the holiday mood.

    Comment by likwan | November 30, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

