Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Author/Book Spotlight & Giveaway: FEEDBACK. Ends Nov 24th

Feedback Sequel to VARIANT by Robison Wells

About the Book: Benson Fisher escaped from Maxfield Academy’s deadly rules and brutal gangs. The worst was over. Or so he thought.

But now he’s trapped on the other side of the wall, in a different kind of prison. A town filled with familiar faces. People from Maxfield who Benson had seen die. Friends he was afraid he had killed.

They are all pawns in the school’s twisted experiment, held captive and controlled by an unseen force. And while Benson struggles to figure out who, if anyone, can be trusted, he discovers that Maxfield Academy’s plans are darker than anything he imagined—and they may be impossible to stop.

About the Author:

I’m the author of the YA science-fiction thriller, Variant (HarperTeen 2011), and of Feedback (HarperTeen, Oct 2012). Variant was named as one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2011, and one of the YALSA Picks for Reluctant Readers.

I began writing professionally (and poorly) as the theater critic (live theater, not film) for Red Magazine, an arts weekly at the University of Utah, in 1999. I started writing my first novel shortly thereafter, and it was terrible.

My first published novel, On Second Thought, was released in 2004 through a regional press. That book was a romantic comedy based on a small town in New Mexico where I lived for about a year. I followed that book with two more, Wake Me When It’s Over and The Counterfeit, both political thrillers and both attempts to use my poli-sci degree for something, since it definitely wasn’t getting me a job in the field.

Because it wasn’t getting me a job, I returned to graduate school in 2007 and got an MBA in marketing at Brigham Young University. With a background in sociology, I developed a great love for the squishier sides of business–particularly consumer psychology and behavior. I split my time between homework and writing, and it was during this time that I decided I wanted to write YA for the national market…..

Reading level: Ages 13 and up

Hardcover: 320 pages

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from HarperCollins Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway (US ONLY) 

There will be ONLY 1 Winner

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this! This is so cute!

So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

Mandatory: You must leave your comments in the comment field below Don’t forget to leave your email address for contact if you win.

Giveaway Ends November 24th

The winner will be selected via

This Giveaway Has Ended!

Winner is #2 – Natasha

November 12, 2012 - Posted by | Author and Book Spotlight, Free Giveaways, HarperCollins Book Review | , , , , ,


  1. I have had Variant on my wishlist for what seems like forever. I am really glad to see the story is continuing as it has me intrigued and I love a series or at least knowing there is still more after I have finished. I am on pins and needles to know what is really going on and just think if I turn out to be lucky and win this installment, the budget gods will have to let me get book one off the wish list. However, just in case I have added Feedback😉 Thank you for sharing about the continuation of what sounds like a very intriguing story today.

    Comment by Denise Z | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. I have been wanting to read this series for awhile now. Feedback sounds like a really good read!
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Natasha | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. I always find it interesting to learn about the different degrees or areas of study that various authors, such as yourself, are spending their time. Even thought I am far from the Young Adult stage, I think that a book concerning the behavior and psychology side of consumers would be really interesting to study and read.

    Comment by ossmcalc | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. I hadn’t heard of this series or author. After reading your post and visiting the author’s website, I’m adding Variant and Feedback to my reading list.

    Comment by stuffsmart | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  5. This book sounds interesting. Books that make you think twice and twist your thoughts are usually ones that I enjoy because they are so different from the usual fiction books. Thank you for the opportunity!

    Comment by Rhonda P. | November 23, 2012 | Reply

  6. This Giveaway Has Ended!

    Winner is #2 – Natasha

    Comment by mymcbooks | November 24, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

