Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Howard B. Wigglebottom Learns to Listen. Ends June 12th


 

Howard B. Wigglebottom Learns to Listen by Howard Binkow and Susan F. Cornelison.

 
About the Book: Imagine how much easier life would be if children listened better. Meet Howard B. Wigglebottom, a curious rabbit who just doesn’t listen. This new illustrated book has been created to help children, ages 3-7, improve their listening skills and pay attention. Educators, parents, and children alike will laugh and learn as Howard B. Wigglebottom learns to listen.

 
My Review: Last time I talked about Howard B. Wigglebottom he was learning about Sportsmanship. This time Howard is about to learn about Listening.

Howard is always in trouble at school because he doesn’t listen even when told by his teacher during story time to stop bouncing around the room and sit down and be quiet. But Howard doesn’t listen. And because he doesn’t listen Howard was always in trouble. He slipped because he didn’t listen to his friends trying to warn him about the banana peel on the floor. Instead of being still on the playground while playing baseball, Howard would hop around and didn’t keep his eye on the ball.

It all came to a head when in art class; Howard didn’t listen to the teacher about trying to keep the paint on the paper and not on the table. So the teacher asks him to take a time out. While he was doing time out Howard felt so sad, he did not like being alone and in trouble.  He made up his mind to be a good listener and received a #1 Listener star.

This is a wonderful and engaging book for children to learn how to become a better listener. The Today’s Lesson at the end of the book teaches children to sit quietly, use both eyes and ears to help with listening, not to interrupt and wait their turn to talk and listening discussion questions. Great illustration which helps tells the story.

I highly recommend this book for every household with children and for classroom teaching.

 Ages: 4 and up

Pages: 32

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

 

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only

Winner will be selected by Random.org

Giveaway Ends June June 12th, 2012.

Winner will be listed at https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/category/giveaway-winners/

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below.

Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

 

 

This Giveaway Has Ended

 

The Winner is #15 – Kristie

May 24, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. Ah Howard, another lesson learned. So many kids can benefit from this story, I’m sure it will come in very handy. Tons of good Amazon reviews as well, this will obviously be a popular choice.

    Comment by Carl Scott (@carlrscott) | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great review Ella! I think “listen” is one of the words I say the most throughout the day, behind Please and Thank you. Both of the kids go through a great listening patch and then we are back to square one. My youngest son is entering PK this year, while his sister will be in Kindergarten. I am hoping they both get bitten by the listening bug. I enjoy the books with Howard because of the “fun” way of learning to listen. Thanks.

    Comment by your1chef | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. Howard B. Wigglebottom is such a great character for kids; I love that in this one he is teaching a lesson about listening – something every child can use as a reminder!

    Comment by lisa | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the review. I have heard of this series of books, but have to purchase any. I think all of the lessons that Howard teaches kids can be so useful. I know my boys (almost 9 and 4.5) could definitely use some pointers on their listening skills and rather than me telling them, I’d like Howard to help me teach them!

    Comment by Ani G W | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  5. I think children are very receptive to learning good behavior and lessons using animals…I know my granddaughter loves animals and books with animal characters. This book sounds like it teaches good listening skills in a manner that children will find entertaining!

    Comment by Vicki LeBlanc | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  6. This book would be really useful for my son, whom I love to pieces but he just doesn’t listen very well. I especially love the character’s last name, Wigglebottom. ;)

    Comment by Mindy S | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  7. I wish my daughter would listen. She wouldn’t get in so much trouble. Well, that and her sometimes sassy mouth. lol. This sounds like a skill we all need to learn. cheresevines@hotmail.com.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  8. Listening is so important to learning and every day life. This should be an excellent book.

    Comment by Ron Marsh | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  9. This sounds great! Its a cute book and teaches a lesson! I bet every teacher wishes for one of these for her students. Id love to have a copy of this. Thanks!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Shadow | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love this series and think it would be very beneficial for my children, the books teach such good lessons!
    Jennifer
    draoi7383 @ yahoo.com

    Comment by Jennifer Metz | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. becoming a better listener is so important – great lessons in these books- perfect for use with the children i teach

    Comment by catherine c | May 26, 2012 | Reply

  12. I would love for my children to learn to become better listeners.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  13. Howard is so good at teaching lessons. And what child doesn’t need Howad’s experiences and teachings ? A great review.
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  14. I read this story to my Kindergarteners. It’s cute and gets the point across in an age-appropriate way.

    jesmck at yahoo dot com

    Comment by simplyinfatuated | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  15. I love the story and message in this book! My kids tend to listen well at school, but they could use a little work at home ;-)

    Comment by Kristie | May 29, 2012 | Reply

  16. I love how the book points out instances of what are some consequences of not listening and the positive changes Howard B. Wigglebottom took to learn to be a good listener.Sounds like a cute and age appropriate book for little ones.

    Comment by Maryann | May 29, 2012 | Reply

  17. I want to read this just too see if I can get some tips on kids who don’t listen. My dd has a really big issue with listening specially at school. So I think she relates to Howard well!

    Comment by Larissa brunken | June 4, 2012 | Reply

  18. I have seen these books, but haven’t read them yet. I would love to use this one in my classroom. We all need a little help with listening.
    Melissa B
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    Comment by Melissa Bourn (@MelCamino5) | June 8, 2012 | Reply

  19. Books that emphasize the importance of listening and following directions are definitely needed. I look forward to finding out how Howard B. Wigglebottom develops these skills.

    Comment by likwan | June 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,424 other followers

