Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: The Alphabet Kids Go to the Planetarium. Ends June 8th.


The Alphabet Kids Go to the Planetarium by Isaac Kassin & Patrice Samara

The Alphabet Kids books of Allegra, Elena, Isaac, Oni, Umar and Yang, a group of children having fun while learning about the diverse aspects of their multicultural backgrounds. The stories are intended to help children love who they are, and realize that people who are different can be very good friends, plus other life lessons and interesting facts.

About the Book: Are you curious about the world around us? Come along on a fun-filled visit to discover the secrets of the Universe in the The Alphabet Kids Go to the Planetarium. You’ll meet Dr. Blake, and astronomer, and explore the mysteries of our Solar System, space travel, and much more!

My Review: Allegra, Elena, Isaac, Oni, Umar and Yang call themselves ‘The Alphabet Kids’ because they like to hang out at the Alphabet Afterschool Center where they learn something new everyday.

The kids take a field trip to the planetarium where they learnt about the secrets of the Universe space and explore the mysteries of the Solar System and the planets. They are guided by an astronomer, named Dr. Blake who explained about the eight planets in the solar system as Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. He taught the kids a great way to remember the planets in their order by saying ‘My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Noodles’.

This is a great and simple way for kids to learn about our planets and Solar System. The last page of the book has 6 fun facts about space. I highly recommend this book for classroom teaching.

Pages: 24

Age range: 3 – 8 Years

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.




This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner selected by

Giveaway Ends June 8th.

Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the book and your email address in the comment field below.

Comments without email address will be deleted.


This Giveaway Has Ended!


Winner is #7 – Lisa

May 18, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , ,


  1. Sounds like a great read and adventure for the little ones. Thanks for this giveaway opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. One of my grandkids favorite places to go is the planetarium here in Rochester NY, so I know they would enjoy learning more about planets. I appreciate that the children represent many cultures.

    Comment by tmy56 | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. My son and I were just talking about the Adler Planetarium in Chicago – this book would give him a better understanding of what to expect about a visit there.

    Comment by Julia | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. I think my son would love this book – he is very interested in the planets!
    draoi7383 @

    Comment by Jennifer Metz | May 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. Looks like something my boys would really like

    Comment by Shauna | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. I really like the way to memorize the planets. It is very simple and very effective.

    Comment by Ron Marsh | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  7. Looks like such a neat book; I think it is so important to create a love for the planets🙂 Great book for sparking kids’ interests!

    Comment by lisa | May 19, 2012 | Reply

  8. We love non-fiction books that teach us about the world around us. This sounds great for my moon-loving youngster.

    Comment by domestic diva | May 20, 2012 | Reply

  9. My son learned about the planets in vpk he would love to read this book with me because he would know alot about it. Ty for the chance to win it

    Comment by melissa holske | May 23, 2012 | Reply

  10. Ohhhh I wanna read! I need a science lesson myself…lol
    I think my daughter would love to learn about the planets. Does this book mention Pluto at all?

    Comment by Larissa brunken | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  11. My boys are really into space right now, so they would love this book!

    Comment by Ani G W | May 24, 2012 | Reply

  12. I would love to have this book for my daughter! I am a homeschooling Mama. She loves the moon and stars and she loves to read so this may be a perfect way to teach her all about the solar system!

    Comment by Kelly L | May 31, 2012 | Reply

  13. I love how this book uses the planetarium setting to teach kids about the planets and space. I think using the Alphabet Kids will also make presenting the facts so much more fun. I love the phrase they mention to remember the planets.

    Comment by Maryann | June 3, 2012 | Reply

  14. I remember loving to learn about the Solar System and being intrigued by the whole idea! I’d love to share that feeling with my kids and I can see this book being a perfect way to introduce it to them🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | June 4, 2012 | Reply

  15. Stories that celebrate diversity and tolerance are definitely needed and books that encourage learning about science are also important so a title like this that combines both would be very valuable.

    Comment by likwan | June 8, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

