Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

3 Books by Author Sherrill S. Cannon for Review/Giveaway. Ends May 5th


Peter and the Whimper-Whineys by Sherrill S. Cannon and illustrated by Kalpart.

About the Book:  “In a house in the forest all covered with vines, Lived a very small rabbit who did nothing but whine.”

Thus begins the rhymed story of Peter and the Whimper-Whineys. Peter’s mother warns him that if he cannot stop whining and crying, he’ll have to go live with the Whimper-Whineys. His adventure continues as he later hops into the woods and finds lots of frightening Whimper-Whineymen! He discovers that the Whimper-Whineys are very ill-mannered and rude, and that everything is sour in Whimper-Whineland. He decides his mother was right…If only he can get back home…!

My Review: Peter is a small rabbit who is always whining and crying from morning till night. His mother told him if he doesn’t stop whining an old Whimper-Whineys will take him to live with them in a land far away, where he can join them in whining and crying all day.

And when he started whining and crying, standing up on his chair completing about his sister having more soup than him, he was sent off to bed. He wished he was outside and suddenly, he found himself outside in the woods in the Whimper-Whineyland.  He came across a group of whineymen, sitting on the ground crying. Peter did not like their behavior when they got up to eat. They grabbed all the food, ate fast with their dirty hands kicking and shoving each other. Peter decided to leave as the whimper-whineymen was impossibly rude. He promised himself to become a happy and good rabbit. But was he able to get back home and change his ways?

This award wining book is a must have if you have small children. It is funny and educational at the same time. When children don’t have things go their way they whine and cry to gain attention. I like the illustration by the Kalpart team which helps not only to bring the story to life but helps capture the look of the whimper-whineys.

The Magic Word by Sherrill S. Cannon and illustrated by Kalpart.

About the Book: The Magic Word is one that everyone needs to learn. “Elisabeth Keys never said thank you, excuse me or please. She made fun of people, she’d argue and tease. She took what she wanted whenever she could, Elisabeth’s manners were not very good.” So begins the rhymed story of Elisabeth, who discovers her lack of friends when no one wants to come to her birthday party. Her mother suggests that she learn to be considerate of others and to say “please” as well as “thank you.” She should treat others “the way that you know you would like,” and should “think more about others and less about you.” When Elisabeth goes to school the next day, she remembers her mother’s advice and uses the magic word “please.” She also tries to become more thoughtful of others. Imagine her pleasure when she returns home to find out that her new friends are all coming to her birthday party. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if children could learn at an early age to be polite and thoughtful of others This wonderful rhyming book will have your kids saying “please” before you know it!

My Review: What are the magic words in your house is it ‘Please and Thank you’?  Please and Thank you are the most important words that you can teach any child.
Elisabeth Keys was really quite rude; who made fun of people and didn’t like to share her books or toys so no one played with her. When it was time for her birthday she discovers that she had no friends.

She learnt from her mother that her bad manners have kept her from having friends. Now it was time for her to learn to treat people with respect. Learn how to say ‘Please, and also Thank you.’ To make friends you have to be polite. Elisabeth Keys leant why it is so important to say please and thank you. Great book for classroom teaching and the illustration from Kalpart was bright and colorful.

Santa’s Birthday Gift by Sherrill S. Cannon

About the Book: If your child or grandchild has ever wondered where Santa fits in with the traditional Christmas story, now you can read them Santa’s Birthday Gift. Finally, a book that ties two holiday traditions into one inspirational tale of wonder – as Santa brings gifts to baby Jesus. The cleverly-written, rhyming book reveals Santa’s adventure from toymaker to star follower — right into the heart of Bethlehem where he meets Baby Jesus in the manger. Delivering toys to a king is a touching experience for both Santa and readers alike, as they discover where the tradition began — Santa makes a promise to Jesus to bring gifts to good boys and girls each year on Jesus’ birthday.

My Review: This is the story about the wonderful birth of Jesus Christ and the story of Santa Claus (known to us British as St. Nicholas) and the spirit of giving.

I was surprised to turn the pages after reading about how the wise men knelt down and presented their gifts to baby Jesus to find the second part of the story talking about how an angel named Santa Claus woke to the starlight and knew that a Savior was born. He packed up his toys and travel to see baby Jesus. He arrived at the manger and he knelt before baby Jesus and promised on Christ’s birthday, he will deliver his toys to all the children everywhere. Children will learn that Christmas is not only about receiving gifts but about the birth of Jesus.

Read about the author

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner for all 3 Books

This Giveaway is Open to the USA Only

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends May 5th, 2012.

Winner will be listed at

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: Leave a comment about the review below.

Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

This Giveaway Has Ended!

The Winner is #1 – Your1chef


April 19, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. Great review Ella. My daughter is in the whiny stage and is teaching her younger brother how to also. We are also going through the please and thank you stage. If they ask me for something I wait “patiently” for please to come before I move. I enjoy reading books because later I can say hey you are being whiny like Peter was in the book. She seems to relate to it a little more because she has another point of reference to refer back to. Thank you for this great giveaway.

    Comment by your1chef | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. Wonderful review! I would love to win these books for my six year old🙂
    I love the part when the mama tells her child to stop whining otherwise she has to send him to a far away whinning land …….I love this idea!

    Comment by artistadonna | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. All of these books look like really good ones with a great message. Santa being part of the 1st Christmas story is a new one for me. Sounds like a cute way to incorporate Santa…. plus my daughter has always asked me when Santa started delivering gifts. 🙂

    Comment by Amanda | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  4. these look like wonderful books. I love the message that these books are telling. They seem like they would be very engaging for kids!

    Comment by lisa | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  5. These all looks like great children’s books. I’m especially interested in the book that combines Santa Claus with the nativity story.

    Comment by Renee G | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. I have found with my 3 grandkids that the best way to nip someone’s ‘whineys’ in the bud is with humor. So Peter & the Whimpy-Whineys would appeal to them. I love books for then taht are written in rhyme – since we often read in bed they lull them to drift off to sleep.

    Comment by tmy56 | April 19, 2012 | Reply

  7. My 7 year old is in a whiny stage. I tought the kids manners but it seems to have slipped out of their habit to use them.

    Comment by Amber Rairdan | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  8. I have so many grandkids that these books would suit each and everyone of the younger ones.🙂 I especially love Santa’s Birthday Gift. Bringing both traditions to life for young children can be quite hard sometimes. Thanks so much for the review and for meeting Sherrill S. Cannon
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by carol L | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  9. Having a 3 1/2 yr old and a1 1/2 year old I truly appreciate each of the lessons these books are trying to convey. Some days I wish the whimpy-whineyland did exhist:). Just about all kids can benefit from a book teaching to be more considerate and I think I could learn a thing or two from Santa’s birthday gift.

    Comment by angela allen | April 21, 2012 | Reply

  10. I like that each of these books contain an important lesson. The whiney one would be especially helpful right now.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | April 21, 2012 | Reply

  11. I love that these books have such great messages and the rhyming would make them quite fun to read! Every message is something that my kids need to hear more about right now too!🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | April 22, 2012 | Reply

  12. Wonderful review………..I love these books and am quite sure my granddaughter would as well. She is just starting to enjoy the books I read to her and I like that they teach important lessons.

    Debbie Johnston (

    Comment by junkfoodnomore | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  13. […] My McBooks Giveaway Share and Enjoy: […]

    Pingback by My McBooks Giveaway – Three of my books… – Sherrill S. Cannon's Website - Award-Winning Books | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  14. Thank you to all of you who have responded with such nice comments. I only wish I could give one away to everyone!! Whoever wins, please let me know how your children like the books… It’s all about the children!
    Sherrill S Cannon

    Comment by Sherrill S. Cannon | April 30, 2012 | Reply

  15. Wow, what beautiful books; one of my little ones is going through a winney stage, so “Peter” would be helpful to help teach valuable lessons. I also love the Birthday Gift; what a great story to share with your children for the holidays!

    Comment by lisa | May 2, 2012 | Reply

  16. Great books Ella, they would be welcomed here. My daughter is 6 and is in that Whiney rude stage. She whines all the time and it drives me mad. How does momma rabbit cope? She is also forgetting her manners. I think the first two would be very helpful in our home since my dd loves reading.

    Comment by Larissa brunken | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  17. I think this is a wonderful giveaway! Many families can relate to the books. I think that when kids see things in books (and other media), it can help reinforce their own behavior. For instance, we have a Strawberry Shortcake DVD that talks about how manners matter, and it’s a great way to get a conversation going about manners. Whining and not using manners are some things that all kids go through so these books will be helpful.

    Comment by chargroups | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  18. Thank you for reviewing these books as some of the others my son is in the whinny stage and I would love to read him the first book. Santa’s birthday gift, is one I would like to read as well to my kids. I think it is interesting how Santa is an angel that brings toys…

    Comment by Wendi | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  19. Peter and the Whimper-Whineys and The Magic Word teach important lessons about having manners and being polite. Santa’s Birthday Gift combines the story of Jesus’ birth and the tale of Santa Claus into a touching new tradition.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | May 5, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

