Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Sheri Fink


Sheri Fink is the author of the #1 best-selling children’s book, The Little Rose, and an international speaker.  Sheri’s first children’s book, The Little Rose, is an enchanting story about a rose growing in a weedbed who learns to accept and love herself despite her differences. Published in March 2011, The Little Rose has been a #1 best-seller on Amazon for over 23 weeks.

Her second inspirational children’s book, The Little Gnome, will be published in March 2012. Set in a Victorian garden, The Little Gnome is a heartwarming tale about an adorable garden gnome experiencing the wonder of the four seasons for the first time. The story helps kids of all ages embrace change while learning about the seasons. To read more click


Interview with Sheri Fink author of The Little Rose.


I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog


What is the last book you read? I just finished reading Finding Your Own North Star: Claiming the Life You were Meant to Live by Martha Beck. It was a good read!

What were your earliest memories of writing? I started writing as a small child, probably around 7 years old. I have books that I wrote, illustrated, and put together from way back then. I’ve always loved being creative and crafting my own little worlds.


What was your favorite children’s book? My favorite book as a child was Leo the Lop by Stephen Cosgrove. My favorite children’s book as an adult is Watership Down by Richard Adams.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I can’t remember a time when I didn’t write. I’ve always been a person who writes everything down and a big fan of lists, even as a child. Now that I’m more focused on my writing, I find that it comes even more naturally to me. Ideas seem to flow much faster these days.

Are you working on a new book? Yes, my next book debuts on March 22nd and it’s called The Little Gnome. Set in a Victorian garden, The Little Gnome is a heartwarming tale about a garden gnome experiencing his first winter and helps kids of all ages embrace change while learning about the seasons. I’m already at work on my next book in the series, The Little Firefly, which will be published in 2013.

What inspired you to write The Little Rose? I was inspired to write The Little Rose when I was going through a very difficult time in my life. I was being bullied and I didn’t know how to handle it. The idea of a rose growing in a weed garden and believing that she was the weed came to me at one of my lowest points. I realized that everyone has the right to shine in their own unique way regardless of what anyone else says or thinks about it. And, I also learned the importance of cultivating healthy environments and friends who love and support the authentic you.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? I hope that children will be inspired to embrace their differences as unique gifts and to brightly shine their own light in the world, instead of trying to please everyone else.

What was your reaction when you first found out that your book was named Amazon Best-Selling Children’s Book? That was a wonderful day! I was truly amazed. I had to call my mentor to have her look at the listing to make sure I was reading it correctly. I was floored when she told me to buy a bottle of champagne to celebrate because I am now a #1 best-selling author. I was awash in gratitude!

What is the most difficult part of writing? The most difficult part for me is setting aside time when I can completely focus on my writing and be in the flow of ideas without being interrupted. There are so many things competing for our attention and it’s challenging to pull away from the rest of the world in order to create, but it’s completely rewarding and I always feel amazing afterward.

Do you write full time or do you still have a day job? My primary job is writing and creating books, toys, and experiences that inspire and delight children while planting seeds of self-esteem. A lot of my time is spent running my business and marketing my books. I also mentor aspiring authors to help them bring their books into the world and become successful entrepreneurs.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I understand that not every book is for every person. I love it when my books resonate with my readers. I try to keep that in perspective. Whenever I’m feeling writer’s block, I find that it’s because I’m struggling to insert an idea into my story that just doesn’t fit. Writing for me is a very positive, dynamic experience and anytime that it feels difficult, I look for the piece that doesn’t work and I throw it out. Then, the ideas naturally begin flowing again.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? I would absolutely love to dine with J.K. Rowling. Her Harry Potter books got me back in the habit of reading fiction, something I had mostly abandoned when I finished grad school and became involved in the corporate world. The Harry Potter series gave me an escape and something to look forward to (the next book).

What author inspires you the most and why?  J.K. Rowling – Before I read the first Harry Potter book, it had been a long time since I stayed up all night reading a book because I just had to know what happened. I love that her books and her characters are so full of heart. Reading her series and hearing her inspiring personal story really moved me and enabled me to see new possibilities for my writing.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I set aside time on two days a week to focus on writing. I’m not always writing my children’s books during that time. Sometimes I’m writing material for my Author Success Academy mentoring program and sometimes I’m writing an article for a magazine, blog, etc. I try not to be too hard on myself if I don’t stick rigidly to the schedule. Once an idea has come to me, it’s only a matter of time before I can no longer resist writing it.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? I would suggest that they let the child choose the books that they want to read. If they feel drawn to a particular book, they’re more likely to read it and that help them form a wonderful habit. I also like when parents pre-read a book and know that it’s perfect for their child. There’s not always time to read every book before it reaches the hands of the child, but it can be a powerful way to discuss it once they’ve finished reading the book.

What advice you would give to new writers?  Keep writing. Never give up. There are more opportunities for writers today than there have ever been in the past. It’s an exciting journey and it’s worth all the time, money, and effort it takes.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Thank you so much for the opportunity to share my story and advice with your readers today. If they’d like to discover more about me and my books, they can find me online at and on Facebook at

Thank you for this interview.


April 8, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Congrats Sheri on The Little Rose becoming a #1 Best Selling Children’s book. How wonderful. I’m sorry you had to endure bulling to create it. But look at the outcome. And I certainly love the statement you made “to brightly shine their own light in the world, instead of trying to please everyone else.”. I enjoyed your interview.

    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | April 8, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

