Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview Author Karen Mueller Bryson


Dr. Karen Mueller Bryson is an award-winning/optioned screenwriter, produced playwright and published novelist. Karen has been writing since she learned to read and fell in love with books! When she’s not at her computer creating new stories, Karen enjoys spending time with her husband and their bloodhounds.

Interview with Karen Mueller Bryson author of The Incredibly Awesome Adventures of Puggie Liddell – Tesla Time. Book 1

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

The last book I read was Leveraging the Universe: 7 Steps to Engaging Life’s Magic by Mike Dooley. It’s an ispirational/motivtional book and I learned a lot from it. The book reminded me about the importance of persistence and never giving up on my dreams.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I learned to read when I was four and soon after I remember telling me mom that I wanted to write a book. She helped me write my first “masterpiece.” I’ve been writing ever since!

What was your favorite children’s book?

I loved Alice‘s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. I still remember some of the lines from The Walrus and the Carpenter, which I found incredibly intriguing as a child. “The time has come,” the Walrus said, “To talk of many things: of shoes–and ships–and sealing-wax–Of cabbages–and kings–And why the sea is boiling hot–And whether pigs have wings.”

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

I was never encouraged to write. In fact, the opposite was true. I always said I wanted to be a writer and most people discouraged me from pursuing it as a profession. When I was young, a career in the arts was not considered practical. So I went to college and graduate school and earned a terminal degree in a “practical” field. Now that I’m in “middle age” and I no longer care what other people think, I am finally pursuing my passion. I feel like I’m finally doing what I was meant to do.

Are you working on a new book?

I’m always working on new books! I have several more Puggie adventures in the works and I am novelizing one of my young adult screenplays, called Retro Geeks. I was also just hired to write the biography of sports legend, Cindy McCoy, rookie roller derby queen.

What inspired you to write The Incredibly Awesome Adventures of Puggie Liddell Tesla Time and how did you come up with each character?

I love the idea of time travel and I thought creating a fast-paced and fun adventure story embedded with actual historical figures and events would encourage kids to learn more about history. Sibling rivals Puggie and Gigi Liddell are loosely based on me and my brother, when we were young. Puggie is a wise-cracking wiz kid, who loves science. My brother has always been very funny and actually grew up to be a scientist! Although Puggie and Gigi constantly bicker and make fun of each other, deep down, they really care about each other. I think that characterizes the relationship my brother and I had when we were growing up.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

Finding time to write every story I have rattling around in my head! I work full time as a university professor, so I have a limited amount of time to create and market my books.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope kids gain a better appreciation of history and learn about some interesting historical figures and events. I also want kids to come away with the idea that it is imporant to be their own hero. Puggie isn’t a typical storybook hero but he does use his own wits and creativity to save himself (and his sister) from peril.

Apart from writing children’s books, what else do you do?

I am the founder of Short on Time Books, fast-paced and fun novels for readers on the go. Short on Time Books also features lines of novels for adults and young adults, which are all complete stories that can be read in one sitting.

In addition, I am also an award-winning and optioned screenwriter. I have nine feature length screenplays completed and a few more in the works. I specialize in based-on-true stories, family films and faith-based projects.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

All art is subjective and not everyone will like or appreciate what I create. There are certainly a lot of books I don’t like (and some are highly successful) and there are books I love that others can’t stand. It’s often a matter of personal taste. Just because someone doesn’t like or appreciate my work, doesn’t mean it’s not of value.

I rarely suffer from writer’s block. I have the opposite issue. I just don’t have enough hours in the day to accomplish everything I want to accomplish and write everything I want to write.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

My two favorite authors are Lewis Carroll (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland) and L. Frank Baum (The Wonderful Wizard of Oz). It would be difficult to dine with them since they departed the Earth many years ago. If I had to pick a living author to have dinner with, I would say Janet Evanovich, author of the Stephanie Plum series. We’re both “Jersey girls” and I think we’d have a lot in common.

What author inspires you the most and why?

I’m inspired reading about authors, who never gave up on their work, even when it was rejected (or even demeaned). I think its important for writers to believe in themselves and their creations and to be persistent in their pursuit of success.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I try to write every day, even if it is just for a few minutes. I set fairly rigid goals for myself and I generally stick to them. Of course, life happens, so I try not to be too hard on myself if I miss some of my deadlines.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I would advise parents to always read the books themselves first. Don’t rely upon reviews or the recommendations of other parents or children. I think it’s important for kid’s books to be uplifting and have a positive message.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Write every day and don’t give up on your dreams. Persistence is the key to success.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

A graphic novel version of The Incredibly Awesome Adventures of Puggie Liddell is in the works and I’m very excited about it! Thank you so much for taking the time read this interview. If you’re interested in learning more about Puggie, please visit the website:

March 7, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful inteview!

    Comment by Karen Mueller Bryson | March 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. I,too, loved Alice’s Adventures . . . when I was growing up and love it still. It was one of those books that introduced me to the world of magic. I think I just may check into the book that Karen just read, Leveraging the Universe . . . I often need to be reminded that even as an adult I shouldn’t give up on my dreams!

    Comment by Mary Ann Woods | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. L. Frank Baum, what a creative mind he had. He’s one of my favorites also. I enjoyed your review and look forward to introducing my grand kids to your Puggie and Gigi adventures.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’m also a huge fan of Carroll. He’s a fantastic inspiration (and simply fun).

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  5. I can’t wait to check out Leveraging the Universe, and the Puggie Liddell books, of course! Nice interview.
    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  6. It’s so true persistence is the key to success, and don’t let anybody discourage you. I feel that I would not be where I am today, if I listened to what people said…

    Comment by Lori Kenny | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  7. I thought it was interesting that the characters in The Incredibly Awesome Adventures of Puggie Liddell Tesla Time were based on the author and her brother.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | March 28, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

