Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Kangaroo’s Shoes. Ends March 10th


Giveaway Winner


Kangaroo’s Shoes by Richelle Taylor Krzak and illustrated by Sunny Colaneri.

About the Book: Little Joey Kangaroo learns a valuable lesson as he embarks on an exciting outdoor adventure in search of his missing shoes. While trying to keep a secret from his mother, Joey realizes honesty is always the best policy and mothers love unconditionally.

Skill building:

Identify letters if the alphabet

Play with rhyming sounds

Learn about animals in nature.

My Review: It was Joey Kangaroo’s first day of school and he can’t find his new shoes. He set off on a journey to find them without telling his mom. On his way he stopped to ask Mouse, the pigs, Ewes, wise Goose and later remembered he must have left them at Duck’s house. On his way home he was wondering whether to tell his mom the truth or lie. Illustration by Sunny Colaneri helps tell the story.

Parents will enjoy reading this book to their children while they learn about the alphabet and about being honest. Great lesson for every child!

Pages: 28

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 3 winners

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends March 10th.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there.


Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!


Winners are #2 – Christine A, #13 – Terri and #3 – Marthalynn

February 23, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. I love lesson learning in a cute, fun form. What a great book!

    Comment by lisa | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. What a great book. I have taught my daughter (5) and working on my son (2) that no matter what happens to always tell the truth to me. I would always rather know what happened than not know! Thanks for this giveaway!

    Comment by Christine A. | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. This looks really cute! My son loves animals right now, so anything that helps him learn about them gets a lot of use in our house. I could use another book to add to the rotation, too. Thanks for posting this!

    Comment by Marthalynn | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. It’s nice to see a story that stresses honesty.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  5. I love that this books combines an important lesson about honesty with learning the alphabet.

    Comment by Stuff Smart (@StuffSmart) | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  6. The cover illustration is amazing . And there are a few lessons taught and learned from this story. Thanks for the opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 23, 2012 | Reply

  7. i love books dealing with animals and love that his book teaches about honesty
    looking forward to adding this to my classroom collection

    Comment by catherine c | February 24, 2012 | Reply

  8. We play rhyming games while in the car and Joey Kangaroo is a fun way to learn.
    What is it about kids (kangaroo & human) misplacing their shoes? It happens all the times with my grandkids around the house.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 24, 2012 | Reply

  9. I like that she uses animals to tell the story. Animal characters make stories about morals less lecture-like and kids pay more attention.

    Comment by Francesca | February 24, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love books that I can read with my grandchildren and this one would be awesome to read with them. Thank you for this opportunity.

    God bless,

    Comment by Jody J (@jkjoy) | February 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. I notice that my children seem to struggle with telling the truth when they think they are going to get in trouble. I’m sure this would be a great book to read to them to show them it’s always best to be truthful🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2012 | Reply

  12. My son is always taking off his shoes & socks causing us to search and search for them. This story premise will definitely hit home for him and I’m sure he’ll get the lesson to be learned because of that interest. I, for one, love the thought of Kangaroo’s wearing shoes! Must be big shoes. 😉

    Comment by Lori B | February 26, 2012 | Reply

  13. I’ve been working with my son on what and how important honesty is. I think this would be a great book for him since it seems to be at his level and he loves the alphabet.

    Comment by Terri | March 1, 2012 | Reply

  14. I find the combination of learning about animals and the alphabet together very appealing.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | March 10, 2012 | Reply

  15. […] you to one special giveaway winner who won a copy of my book on the website, My Memorable Children’s Books and shared a recent picture of her children reading Kangaroo’s […]

    Pingback by Giveaway Winners | Biz | March 14, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

