Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview with Author Angela Muse

Angela Muse born inVictorville,Californiato a military family. This meant that I was the “new kid” in school every couple of years. I began writing poetry in high school and really enjoyed expressing myself by using pen and paper. In 2009 I wrote a children’s book aimed at toddlers as a project to give the book to my own young children. I dabbled with writing song lyrics and had a couple of them produced, but am now turning my writing itch back to children’s books (until I finish my first novel of course).

I also write a blog about living on a gluten-free diet at

 I love to cook so I share my recipe successes and failures as I continue living without gluten.

Writing is such a wonderful creative process and I look forward to sharing more of my stories with those you love to read!

Angela Muse is the author of Lil Glimmer.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?  As the Snow Falls by M.D. James

What were your earliest memories of writing?  I started writing a lot of poetry in highschool and a few short stories.  I always found that expressing myself through pen and paper came much more naturally than any other form of expression.

What was your favorite children’s book? Where the Wild Things Are

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? It was something that came natural to me and my children encouraged me to write children’s stories because they enjoyed my storytelling.

Are you working on a new book? Yes, I am working on 2 new children’s books right now.  The first is currently being illustrated and should be finished in mid to late February.

What inspired you to write Lil Glimmer? I have two wonderful children who have always loved books. When I would make up stories to tell them they would really encourage me.  When they were both very young I wrote this story to reinforce the idea of sharing with them.

What message is Lil Glimmer trying to share?  He is an impatient little star who must realize that you have to wait your turn and share.  He tries to pout when he doesn’t get his way, but in the end he listens and learns about sharing.

What is the most difficult part of writing? Nailing down an idea for a story.  I have so many ideas bouncing around in my head so deciding on what I’m going to write about is the hardest part for me.  After I get that inspired idea then the story flows pretty naturally.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?  I work full time in the finance industry so that takes up a lot of my time.  During my free time I attend church, spend time with my family and friends and cook.  I could spend all day in a kitchen cooking homemade goodies if you let me.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?  So far I haven’t had a bad review on this book, but I’m sure it may happen.  Not everyone is going to fall in love with your work, but it is important to not take it personally and never give up.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? I hope children enjoy the characters and can take away the message that it is important to be patient and share.  We will all get our turns to shine eventually!

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? J. K. Rowling & Stephanie Meyer

What author inspires you the most and why? Both of these women inspire me because they had a great story, faced lots of rejection and are now household names.  Two great examples of writers who came out of nowhere and reaped much success.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I am big planner.  I like to write down my goals and steps to take to try to accomplish them.  Even if I don’t succeed in all of them at least I know I have given it my best effort.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? I always liked to get books for my children that not only entertained, but also had a positive message.  I read my children the classic books of course, but don’t be afraid to try new authors out too.

What advice you would give to new writers? If you feel like you have a great story you have to get it out in front of people and share it.  Network with bloggers, book reviewers, author websites, social media and don’t give up.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? I can’t wait to get more feedback from readers on my first book and you can look for my second book, The Nutt Family, aimed at children aged 4-8 years old coming soon! 

Thank you for this interview.

February 19, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,


  1. My husband is from a military family, also…
    I am glad to have been introduced to you via this wonderful
    book blog!
    I look forward to sharing your books with our children.
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. One of my favorite books is also Where the Wild Things Are. I am a kindergarten teacher and I find that a lot of boys really like the story especially when I play the book on tape. Some kids aren’t sure what to make of the noises on the tape, but most love it.

    Comment by The Filler Four | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  3. i enjoyed your interview and look forward to reading your book. As a special education teacher, I always look for books that are fun but also teach important meaningful messages to my students. Your book looks like a good one to include in my lessons! Thanks!

    Comment by catherine c | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  4. My the book Where the wild things are, but they didn’t like the movie

    Comment by jeryl m | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  5. Thank you for the sharing with us. I enjoy learning where authors get their motivation to write. Good luck on the first novel!

    Comment by YvonneJ | February 20, 2012 | Reply

  6. I hope that my nephew takes away the true lesson of sharing from this book! I would also love to read it to my preschool class!

    Comment by deb j | February 20, 2012 | Reply

  7. I love the positivity message in children’s books! Great job!

    Comment by lisa | February 20, 2012 | Reply

  8. Angela Muse sounds like a very diversified woman: mother, financial whiz, cook, author, church goer, etc. I applaud her.

    Comment by Vera | February 21, 2012 | Reply

  9. It’s nice meeting you here Angela. And finding Glimmer.
    The cover is adorable and the little star has the cutest little face.🙂
    I liked the whole point of this book. It;s always wonderful to watch our kids enjoy themselves and be learning a very positive lesson.
    Thanks for the interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 21, 2012 | Reply

  10. I like that Lil Glimmer originally started as a story for your own children.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  11. Great to see someone who works full-time and has time to write books – makes me wonder where all my time goes?? !

    Comment by sahmandtw | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  12. I agree that making homemade goodies for friends an family is wonderful…I’d do that all day too if I could🙂

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2012 | Reply

  13. I’m looking forward to reading Lil Glimmer to my son and discussing the positive messages of patience and sharing. I think it’s great that you are able to pursuing writing while working full-time.

    Comment by Terri | March 1, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

