Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview with Author Wendy Botts


Wendy Botts is the author of Tootsie and Lulu Children s Book Series. This is Wendy s first children s book series. Wendy established Tootsie and Lulu in 2011. Tootsie and Lulu is a children’s book series based on the real life stories of Elaina Botts (Tootsie) and her English bulldog, Lulu. The author, Wendy Botts, has recreated the stories of her daughter and dog into a beautifully illustrated book that invites you to share adventures with Tootsie and Lulu. http://www.tootsieandlulu.com/

Interview with Wendy Botts author of Tootsie and Lulu: Lulu Wears a Tutu

What is the last book you read?

I am a full time college student working on my teaching certificate for special education and reading so currently my love for reading for enjoyment has been replaced with reading assignments. The last book I read was “Why Is Math So Hard For Children?” by Daniel Berch. For those of you who are interested in LD, especially in math, this is a great book.

What were your earliest memories of writing?

When I was about 4 or 5 I remember writing my own cook book. I would ask family members and other adults about recipes and write them down. I created my own cookbook with a cover and gave it to my mom (kind of funny now as many of the recipes came from her).

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

Writing came natural for me but I have also had several people in my life who have encouraged my love of writing, particularly teachers in high school and professors in college.

What was your favorite children’s book?

I love all books by Eric Carle. He has bright, brilliant illustrations along with well crafted story lines.

What inspired you to write ‘Tootsie and Lulu’?

My daughter and our bulldog are always doing things together. From racing each other down the slide (Lulu actually climbs up the slide and goes back down) to dressing up. Watching the two of them together ignited ideas for a book (I have now written 5 books, only “Lulu Wears A Tutu” is in the fully published stage). My family also had a traumatic event this summer that caused our daughter to stop talking. Writing the book allowed my daughter to be involved and it cultivated the process to healing that my daughter needed.

Are you working on a new book?

 I am, I recently began working on the second installment of the “Tootsie and Lulu” Series, “Tootsie and Lulu go to the Beach”.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

Wondering if your audience will like your writing. That is stressful for me. It is easy to get loved ones to say they like your book, actually writing something that others will want to read is a bit daunting at times.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I am a wife, mother of  3, work full time and go to college full time. My life is pretty backed from one moment to the next.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

I would love to dine with Sherman Alexi. I love his young adult novels. His humor in his writing is brilliant. His books have helped me get many of my high school tutor students to read a book.

What author inspires you the most and why?

I would again have to go with Sherman Alexi. He has achieved great success by writing about what he knows and has experienced. I admire him for pushing forward and persevering to achieve his success.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

A bad review should be considered constructive criticism. Not everyone will like what I write but I can take away helpful information from any review.

With regards to writer’s block, it depends on what I am writing. If I am writing an article for a parenting magazine, I dig from within myself and use my own experiences which allow me to write more freely and with ease. If I do get writer’s block I just walk away until I feel reading to write again.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope that my book will become a children’s book that families pass down from one generation to the next like some of my favorite children’s books. I also hope to share some of the joy I get from watching my daughter and our dog growing up together.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I am very structured and tend to plan most aspects of my life but my family comes first and I plan everything else according to their needs and my responsibilities.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

As someone who is majoring in special ed and reading I recommend that parents select books that their children will be interested in but also have key concepts like repetitive text to allow children to develop necessary pre-reading skills. I would also encourage parents to pick a book that use a standard font and are printed from left to right in a straight a line. All of these tips will develop strong pre-reading skills for children. Most importantly I would pick a book that you won’t grow tired of reading as children often love a book to be re-read to them several times.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Stick with it and do lots of research. I would also suggest the use of the website guru.com that allows writers the freedom to select editors/illustrators that will bid on your work, allowing you to view many options.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

Again I say, stick with it, whether you are a writer or not. Step out of the box and take a chance.  It’s true you will never fail if you don’t try, but if you don’t try you will never succeed either.

 

February 14, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I am excited that you have new books coming up in the series!

    Comment by lisa | February 14, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great advice about picking a book that you won’t get tired of reading – so true! With my 3 grandkids there are books we read over & over, especially Dr Seuss.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 14, 2012 | Reply

  3. I like that she does a lot of research beforehand

    Comment by Marci | February 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’ve never read anything by her favorite author, Sherman Alexi, but now I may. Sounds good.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | February 17, 2012 | Reply

  5. My kids love Eric Carleton books too.

    Comment by jeryl m | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. I agree when she states a bad review is constructive criticism! We all need it in life to achieve!

    Comment by sahmandtw | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  7. I don’t know how she finds time to write between the kids, working and going to school!

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

