Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review/Giveaway: Wise Bear William: A New Beginning. Ends Feb 29th

Wise Bear William: A New Beginning by Author Arthur Wooten and illustrated by Bud Santora.

About the Book: In Wise Bear William: A New Beginning, toys long forgotten in an attic discover that children are coming up to rescue them.

All wanting to be picked, each toy examines their own self-described shortcomings and turn to one another for comfort and advice. But the most important thing they discover is that as much as you fix things up on the outside, it’s what’s on the inside that really counts.

With an emotional and surprising ending for all the toys, this heartwarming and timeless tale of love and friendship is destined to become a favorite of young and old for years to come.

My Review: Wise Bear William: A New Beginning is a well written story by author Arthur Wooten. Nearly everyone has had a toy that was forgotten in the attic or basement. In this story, when the toys heard that the children were coming to choose a toy in the attic as it was a family tradition, they couldn’t wait to get ready. With the help of Wise Bear William, who was willing to help Bean Bag Bunny, Rag Doll Rose and Calico Kitty clean up and prepare them for the children’s arrival. 

The best part of this story was when Wise Bear William told the toys quote “Some of you may not get chosen today and that’s OK. It just means that it’s not your time yet.”  He also remind them that even after working hard patching things on the outside, its what’s inside that counts. That is the true meaning of beauty and an important lesson for children. So what happened to Wise Bear William, was he picked by any of the children?

This story is about friendship, understanding and giving. Great illustration by Bud Santora that helps brings the story to life. Every child would love reading this book. I highly recommend it.

Pages: 44 

Disclaimer: As per FTC guidelines, I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation. All opinions expressed here are mine and mine alone.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends February 29th.

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there. 


Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!


Winner #17 – Sahmandtw

February 10, 2012 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. Great review. Sounds like a wonderful story with a great message for children.

    Comment by CrystalGB | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. This sounds like a really lovely book. In some ways it reminds me of The Velveteen Rabbit.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  3. This book shows that you must never judge a book by it’s cover. Sounds like nursery magic to me.

    Comment by Tonya May | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  4. Just looking at the cover of this book makes me want want to read it. I even checked out several other websites to see if additional illustrations from the book were available…no luck. If I win the book, I intend to use it for our library’s preschool storytime. I wonder how difficult it would be to dress a bear to look like William?

    Comment by YvonneJ | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  5. The cover is beautiful. I think this is one of those books that will be passed on and on. I love the message it gives the kids. I commented on the interview. Thanks for the post and the opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  6. Such a sweet story – I can’t wait to share with my grandkids.
    While preparing my mother in laws house for sake we found a collection of my husbands toy trucks from his childhood – it will be great to pass these along.

    Comment by Teresa Young | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  7. Love the message this book tells; and what better way than to tell it with teddy bears?! Very cute!

    Comment by lisa | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  8. I have a stuffed dog that’s 45 years old.

    Comment by Ana Kurland | February 10, 2012 | Reply

  9. Both my daughter and grandson read all the time. Personally, I do not but did read to all my children when they were young and now they love to read. I think my daughter would love to read this book to her son, it sounds wonderful! Thanks for this giveaway!

    Comment by Sandy VanHoey | February 11, 2012 | Reply

  10. I for got to add this..I think it is SO important for children to learn to not have their feeling hurt if they are not chosen in something they do such as sports at school or anything so this definately teaches them that it’s ok

    Comment by Sandy VanHoey | February 11, 2012 | Reply

  11. This is a good lesson. I woulld like my daughter to learn,

    Comment by Jeryl M. | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  12. Great review. I like your note about the illustrations because the cover is really lovely like it could be an heirloom. The story reminds me a bit of the Velveteen Rabbit.

    Comment by rachel0 | February 15, 2012 | Reply

  13. I love children’s book with a lesson, they teach and entertain at the same time!

    Comment by Marci | February 15, 2012 | Reply

  14. This book is amazing. If I were to win, it would be a gift for a friend of mine. Don’t hesitate buying.

    Comment by Peter Klein | February 19, 2012 | Reply

  15. This sounds like a delightful book and full of endearing qualities that a child can learn to embrace – the inside is more important than the outside. Also, love the understated beauty of the cover. Looks like it might just be a pass-along-keeper book.

    Comment by Vera | February 21, 2012 | Reply

  16. I left a comment on the author’s review page.

    godleyv at yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Vera | February 21, 2012 | Reply

  17. This would be such a grat story to use in class to teach differences! Especially if there are foster kids🙂

    Comment by sahmandtw | February 22, 2012 | Reply

  18. I love the message that our inner beauty is what is most important and is a wonderful thing to teach kiddos from a very early age🙂

    Comment by Kristie | February 26, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

