Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks Interview with Author Alberto Corral

Alberto Corral was born in 1979 in the Canary Islands, Spain.

At an early age he knew he wanted to work in films somehow. He fell in love with movies, acting, directing and animation, after teaching himself to animate at home, moved toMadridfor further study. He followed his passion and became one of the most talented Spaniard animators.

After the animation school in Madrid he got his first job in Derby, Englandin 2001. That would be his first stop in many cities such as New York, London, Barcelonaor Granada. He settled down in Los Angeles working for DreamWorks Animation Studio in 2009, where he collaborated on the “Shrek Forever After” and “Kung Fu Panda 2” success. He is now working on “Madagascar3”, due on theatres on March 2012.  Alberto Corral has also worked on two films in Spain that won Goya awards, the Spanish version of the Oscars.

His IMDB page can be found at

Living in Los Angeles allowed him to explore storytelling, his biggest passion. Since 2009, Alberto Corral has shot 3 short films as director, wrote “My Monster Burrufu”, a book has received great reviews and he is now writing his first screenplay.

 Alberto Corral is the author of My Monster Burrufu

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

Thank you for this opportunity.

What is the last book you read?

I read “Start Something That Matters” by Blake Mycoskie. A great book of how companies should not only sell a product, but try to change the world to a better place. And as a novel, “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, another amazing book.

What was your favorite children’s book?

I don’t have a favorite book in particular. I didn’t read that much when I was a child. Readingis something that I fell in love with much later. However, I can say that when I was a child I used to love those books where you can choose your own ending. I found fascinating those stories because it made me be more protagonist and participant of the book.  

What were your earliest memories of writing?

Pretty young! I think my first short story was when I was 8 years old, for my class. I remember I won a few awards in my school. I remember that it was about a European family that traveled toJapanand the kid got lost. 

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

It came natural. I never saw myself as an author, per se. I always loved creating stories and characters. That is something I was doing since I remember. But I never thought I would write a book, because I thought I couldn’t. Until I found a story that I really wanted to tell everybody.

What was your first animation before working on Shrek Forever After?

My very first job was a small animation that I did for a commercial that was played on local theaters. Years later, I got a job on video games in England. After that, I did some commercials, more video games and two movies. “Planet 51” and “The missing lynx”, both movies won the Goya Awards for the best animated movie (the Goya are the Spanish equivalent of the Oscars).

What are the differences between working on Shrek Forever After Movie to the Kung Fu Panda 2 movie?

They are two ways to see it, Artistic and technical.
The technical part is the same, in both movies you have to do the animation, the same techniques, same deadlines, same everything.
And then, the artistic part is always different. You have to learn how they move. Shrek and Po are completely different and they behave in so many different ways. That’s the fun part. You have to learn their personalities, get to know them. For me, the biggest difference is that on Panda 2, I had move freedom to “exaggerate” the characters, as they were more cartoon than Shrek’s characters.

What inspired you to write My Monster Burrufu and will it be on the big screen soon?

I wish it will be on the big screen :)  I’d love to see it. Actually, that was one of the reasons to write it. I wanted to see the characters on theaters. What inspired me was that I felt the need to tell everybody about these two amazing characters. I didn’t want them to just be in my head. I wanted to tell their journey and share it.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

The first page, for me is to write the first page. Starting is the hardest thing. But, fortunately, for me, once I start, it’s hard to stop. Then there are a few more difficulties, like having a good story, but that’s always something that you can work on if you had something written at the first place. 

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

Animate. Right now that’s my day job. And on my spare time, I do short films and I’m trying to finish my first screenplay.  And of course, I go to my wife to enjoy life as much as I can.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block?

I’ve been very, very lucky. So far, I haven’t had any bad review. I had a few that weren’t great, but never bad. But I know that eventually it will happen. It’s something that you always have to have in mind, because it is impossible to please everybody. And when that happens to me, I’ll try to learn from it.

And about writer’s block. Yes, of course, I had it many times and when I suffer it I just go for a very long walk. No music, no phone, no distraction. Just a long walk, thinking and relaxing.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

I hope they learn how to accept people. That they don’t prejudge anybody for their looks. And once they got their friendship, they have to do sacrifices and work on it. Don’t take it by granted.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

I’m more of a movie guy. I have a long list of directors and scriptwriter I’d love to dine with. But, authors, not that long. Let’s see….I’d think it’d be an interesting dinner with J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter’s book), Paulo Coelho (I love his book “The Alchemist”) and George R.R. Martin (Game of Thrones). Another interesting dinner would be with some classics children’s book authors, like Ted Hughes (I’m a big fan of the Iron Giant) and Ronald Dahl.

What author inspires you the most and why?

Any author that makes me feel emotionally attached to his/her work inspires me. For example, George R.R. Martin’s books are masterpieces. He makes you care about all characters, their books makes you pour your whole heart into something that it doesn’t exist beyond those pages, and that’s what I would love to achieve. That’s what I truly believe that a story should do. Create characters so realistic (even a monster) that you wish they existed. 

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

That’s really hard. I try to have a discipline. But it is tough, especially when you have another day job. What I do it’s to have goals. I believe that if you don’t plan a goal in your life, it’s very difficult to achieve anything. It’s like a ship, you need to know where you are going or you can spend all the time adrift. So, I’m very concern about goals and I even decide my deadlines for when I want to accomplish them. But I don’t have routine of writing. One thing that I always do is that I don’t start to write, until I got the whole plot in my head.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

Read reviews. Listen what other people think about that book and if you have the chance to read it first, that’d be great. So you can tell if it suitable for your kid.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Write. Just write. It doesn’t matter how good or bad it is. You can always fix it, but you have to have something to start from. And the more you write, the better you become. It’s like everything in life, the more you do it, and the better you are. This is my first book, but it’s not my first story and I can see that the more stories I create, the better I become.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

There is a motto that I believe and it always gives me strength. “Never give up, because if you don’t give up……..anything is possible”

Thank you for this interview.

 Thank YOU🙂



January 26, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Alberto, your talent has given you the opportunity to work in an an extremely exciting career. You’ve accomplished so much for such a young man.🙂 I wish you continued success in all you do. It was a very interesting and enlightening interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. It sounds like the choose your own ending stories he loved as a kid helped him become a writer. He should really write a choose your own ending type of book since he loved them he would probably do great things with it and maybe it just might inspire another kid to write!

    Comment by Liz | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  3. Her advice of “just write” is very fitting for anyone: student, writer, or otherwise.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  4. I too enjoy authors that make me care about their characters and make me wish they were real. These are the kind of books that end up on my favorites shelf.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  5. Great interview; very inspiring for anyone who wants to write.

    Comment by lisa | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  6. I don’t have a favorite children’s book either. There are so many great ones.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  7. How interesting to have worked on such great animated movies. I would love to see Burrufu on the big screen!

    Comment by Teresa Young | January 28, 2012 | Reply

  8. I would love to see it on the big screen as well – only I hope they do not butcher it like they often do with children books! I can not believe he has been all over the world working, that would be fun!

    Comment by trista | February 1, 2012 | Reply

  9. My children would agree that the choose your own ending books are fun! They like to be able to have a say in how the stories go🙂

    Comment by Kristie | February 1, 2012 | Reply

  10. Awwwe once I got past the drooling, he is hot…lil. picture is worth a million words! Lil. Anyways it is nice to read an interview with someone my age. I love how he is realistic. And we love books with your own ending, choices are priceless.

    Comment by Larissa brunken | February 7, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

