Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Giveaway: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Ends Jan 31st

To Kill A Mockingbird Celebrates 50 Years!

For so many people across the country, both young and old, one name comes to mind when they think about the reading of their childhood — Harper Lee.

To this day, on the eve of the 50th birthday “To Kill a Mockingbird,” Lee’s only novel lives on to fulfill its one purpose: to challenge society and one’s way of thinking a page at a time.

About the Book: The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a youngAlabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.

Pages: 281


Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends January 31st.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.


This Giveaway Has Ended!

Winner: #25 – trista

January 25, 2012 - Posted by | Free Giveaways


  1. I remember hearing my three sisters talking about To Kill a Mockingbird when I was young. And then later we all watched the movie with Gregory Peck. I would love to read the book. Books are always better than the movie and it the movie was great!

    Comment by Patsy Hagen | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. I can’t believe it, I have never read this book. I haven’t even seen the movie. I do know I want to read it.

    Comment by debbie | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  3. I have seen the movie, but haven’t read the book – shameful really.
    This great piece of literature should be required reading for all high school students.

    Comment by Rita M | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’ve always wondered why Harper Lee never published again after To Kill a Mockingbird—perhaps the pressure of trying to live up to one of the greatest novels of the 20th century was just too much, and also I imagine all the hoopla that followed its publication was enormously disconcerting for the young novelist who never expected the book to be published at all. A brilliant story, brilliantly told, and we’re all the better for it!

    Comment by Sheila K. | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  5. To Kill A Mockingbird is my all time favorite read and then when Gregory Peck as cast as Atticus Finch, well what can i d=say except that it was love at first it. lol Loved him. One of his co-stars went on to say that he as exactly like Atticus in real life. One of the greatest movies ever. There was no way that Harper Lee could have topped that book.🙂 I would LOVE to win this book. My youngest daughter loves it as well. Thanks so much for hosting this giveaway Ella.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  6. This book changed the way society thought…………

    Comment by Linda McFarland | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  7. To Kill a Mockingbird strikes at the very soul of being a Southerner (which is where I was born), and challenges ingrained belief systems in the compassionate character of father and attorney, Atticus Finch, adding mystery and intrigue in the character of Boo Radley, and then there’s precious daughter of Atticus, Scout. If ever there was a story that sums up the grace and flaws of human nature, this is it, one of the best constructed novels of all time. Thank you for celebrating its 50th anniversary…

    Comment by Jane Bellomy | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  8. This story is one of those classics that are destined to forever be timeless. I have read so many of the great classics, but sad to say, this is not one of them. This has been on my to- read list for quite some time. The more I learn about this book, the more I want to read it. This story was covered very well!!

    Comment by Julie Miller Janney | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  9. I read the book once & saw the movie – a long time ago.
    It’s such am important part of American literature,

    Comment by Teresa Young | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  10. I believe this was required reading in high school, but I can’t remember reading it. I do remember the movie, and, as books are almost always far better than movies of the same title, I’d really like to read this book.

    Comment by Mikki | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. I also am ashamed to say that I have never read the book, nor have I seen the movie. I have always wanted to. I really think that I would love it.

    Comment by Maria A. Malaveci (@mmalavec) | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  12. i was wondering why this novel was attracting so much attention now again. Anniversaries will do that. i am embarrassed to say i have not read this novel, but after reading the review, i would like to. Thank you for a great review, and the opportunity to win.

    Comment by Marianne | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  13. I read this book in junior high school, then again in high school, and loved every page. “Masterpiece of American Literature” says it all. I would love to add this novel to my library and read it again with each of my children.

    Comment by Kasee Johnson | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  14. I kill a mockingbird is a wonderful book that lead to a love of reading for me. I remember reading this in high school and still have a very worn copy. I think they did a wonderful interview and discussion with Lee. I never knew that she never wrote another book or that she was given the Presidential Medal of Freedom. I enjoy this book with so many fond memories and can not wait for my children to read as well.
    If I win, I will not be keeping it for myself. While I would love to keep this special addition, my son’s fourth grade teacher LOVES this book. She has mentioned over and over in class what a wonderful book it is. I am her room parent and I have to come up with a teacher appreciation basket. Because of her love of books it will be a collection of some of her favorite authors and books. When I saw this I was so excited that if I won I would have her most favorite book in there as a special addiction. Thank you for the review I enjoyed it very much and I hope to win for a very special teacher that has really nourished the love of literature to my son.

    Comment by Kelley Johnsen | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  15. I first read To Kill A Mockingbird in high school. I have seen the movie on several occasions and whenever someone talks about this movie, the image of Gregory Peck standing next to a white picket fence comes to mind. There was also a movie about the relationship between Harper Lee and Truman Capote. While he was writing his best seller In Cold Blood, Harper Lee was writing To Kill A Mockingbird. This is a story where I seem to gain something else from the story every time I read it or see the movie. It would be wonderful to have my own copy of To Kill A Mockingbird and be able to pass it down to my grandchildren some day.

    Comment by Christine Womack | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  16. I’ve always loved To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s a poignantly written tale. At this stage of my life I’d like to reread the novel and include it in my personal library. I can’t believe this story is 50 years old!


    Comment by Benita | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  17. I absolutely adore To Kill a Mockingbird! The story applies to the way things are today as much as when the story was new 50 yrs ago! I would love to have a copy of this book! Thank you.

    Comment by Tonya May | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  18. I’ve only read To Kill a Mockingbird once, and that was when it was required reading in high school. Sadly, I no longer remember most of the story and would love to read it again. This is a book that I should buy for my permanent collection.

    Comment by Mindy | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  19. I read the book as a young adult and saw the movie, both equally great in their own form. I had recently thought about reading it again, and watching the movie. This is the kind of book that you can read, and read again.

    Comment by Robin Scott | January 26, 2012 | Reply

  20. I’m a little embarassed to admit that I haven’t read this book. I don’t know why I haven’t because I’ve wanted to read it for such a long time. I’m looking forward to it.

    Comment by mamabunny13 | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  21. I remember reading this book in 9th grade. Great book it tells of the way things were then compared to now and how some things haven’t changed. Great book…would really love to have this one in my collection!

    Comment by LoShana Gathers | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  22. I have never actually read the book although I’ve seen the movie. I’d like to read the book.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  23. It was first published in 1960…and still a masterpiece! I remember reading it in 9th grade and then we watched the movie. Thanks for the short review.

    Comment by Deanna | January 27, 2012 | Reply

  24. liked (deannalw)

    Comment by Deanna | January 28, 2012 | Reply

  25. This is one of my all time favorite books, besides The Great Gasby and The Giver! I loved when I read it in HS and used segments of the book in my English class when I taught. We combined it with a social studies unit on segregation and how people were treated.

    Comment by trista | January 29, 2012 | Reply

  26. One of my favorite movies and books. I so enjoyed reading it in school, and now want to share it with the next generation of readers. Such a classic masterpiece! It still can teach us many lessons as Americans.
    Thank you for the chance to win.

    Comment by Marci | January 30, 2012 | Reply

  27. To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my favorite books. I always it was adorable that Scout wore a ham costume.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | January 31, 2012 | Reply

  28. Thanks for the giveaway, I am so excited to receive the book!

    Comment by trista | February 1, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

