Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Mymcbooks interview Author Jenny Lee Sulpizio

Jenny Lee Sulpizio, M.S., is a wife, business owner, and mother of three fabulous kiddos residing in the beautiful state ofIdaho. In her free time (*enter audible laughing*), she enjoys writing about anything and everything under the sun, but especially loves to instruct, motivate, and guide other moms with practical advice, tips and a whole lot of comic relief in the process.

Jenny has authored two children’s picture books (Mommy Whispers, 2010 and There’s Just Something About a Boy, 2011), and has several Women’s Non-fiction WIP’s in her arsenal. To find out more about Jenny or to follow her blog, visit

Author of  There’s Something About a Boy

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? I am currently reading “Crazy Love,” by Francis Chan and loving it. With three young kiddos in the house, finding the time to read (and actually comprehend what is taking place  in the book), is hard to do. 

What was your favorite children’s book? “The Giving Tree,” by Shel Silverstein

What were your earliest memories of writing? I have always loved writing and enjoyed the creative process behind it. No matter what the topic may be, I think it’s an amazing way to creatively express one’s self.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I think a little of both.🙂

Are you working on a new book? Always…

What inspired you to write There’s just Something About A Boy? After writing and releasing “Mommy Whispers,” for my daughter last year, I thought it only fair to express my feelings for my two young boys as well.  

What is the most difficult part of writing? Revisions.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? I am slightly compulsive about event planning and love to orchestrate new events at my church for all to learn from and enjoy.  

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? Yes and yes. Bad reviews and rejection are just part of this whole crazy adventure. If anything, you realize that not everyone is going to love your work. Rather than focus on those negative thoughts, I love to relish the reviews where my work has truly blessed another.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Jesus.

What author inspires you the most and why? See above. Enough said.🙂

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I am a “pantser,” which means I am not a disciplined writer. As much as I would love to be, most of my ideas are spontaneous and I just have to roll with it. 

 What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? The message of how much they are loved and adored by their mother (and father), forever, for always, and unconditionally.

What advice you would give to new writers? Just keep writing, creating, researching, and learning. Let rejection motivate you to write even more.

Thank you for this interview.


January 24, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. Enjoyed learning more about you from this interview. I enjoyed your Mommy Whisper’s book and am thrilled that you have written a book expressing the love of a mom for her boys! Looking forward to reading it🙂

    Comment by catherine c | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  2. Aww it makes me want to read the book even more now that I know it was written by someone who is similar in thought to me!!

    Comment by Heather LoSchiavo | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  3. Wonderful interview. She seems like such an inspirational person.

    Comment by lisa | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. You are living in a very beautiful part of the country! I lived in Post Falls for about 2 years and absolutely loved it.
    I think that it’s great that you write books with your own children in mind because children can be some of the toughest critics.
    Hope to see more of your work in the future!

    Comment by Julie Miller Janney | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  5. I like that she’s “always” working on a new book. I’m glad she finds lots of inspiration.

    Comment by domestic diva | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  6. Even though, I don’t have a daughter, your “Mommy Whispers” Book is one that
    I gave to my niece! I am the proud mother of two adorable sons…
    Many thanks, Cindi

    Comment by Cindi | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  7. Jenny sounds like a wonderful person. I would love to have dinner with Jesus myself. There’s Just Something About a Boy sounds like a good story to share with mygrandson.

    Comment by Tonya May | January 25, 2012 | Reply

  8. Jenny, your post on your web site “Do Not Disturb” is hysterical. lol Thanks for your interview. Both of your books are on my to buy list.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | January 25, 2012 | Reply

    • Carol, you are too sweet and thank you so much for the support. So glad you enjoyed the post…my kids provide a lot of writing material for sure.🙂

      Comment by Jenny Lee Sulpizio (@JennySulpizio) | February 2, 2012 | Reply

  9. Wow you are a busy woman!! Well, a lot of us are. But you are an inspiration to me, and you are touching many lives. Thank you.

    Comment by melissa | January 25, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

