Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Intervierw with Author Lara Kimbrell

Lara Kimbrell is a busy wife and mother to three young children in south Texas. She holds a physics degree from Texas A&M University and taught high school physics for many years before becoming a full time mother and writer. Inspired by her curious children, Lara writes to engage all children in the amazing world of the physical sciences. As the United States faces a shortage of engineers and physical scientists, Lara hopes to inspire a new generation. Lara enjoys organic gardening, cooking, writing, knitting, building things, and caring for her beautiful children, crazy chickens, and spoiled dog.

Lara Kimbrell is the author of Where Does My Dadda Go?

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

I read “Are You My Mother?” last night to my boys. It is my 2 year old’s current favorite. He has become very in tune with people or animals who are sad or crying. For my personal reading, I am a Stephen King fan. I recently started reading11/22/63on my iPad. It’s the only way I can read after the kids go to bed these days!

What were your earliest memories of writing?

I remember making up stories and dialog before I began formally writing. I would sit in my room with my Mickey Mouse record player, a stack of my mom’s old Beach Boys records, and a tape recorder. There I would pretend to be a radio d.j. by recording music and my own stories between songs.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

Aside from writing for school projects, I rarely wrote in my personal time. Writing is something that I have discovered my love for as an adult. I began blogging on a personal food blog then moved into environmental issues. I have always loved reading, so the natural progression was to try storytelling. Once I started, I found that I couldn’t stop. Now I write daily as an author and freelance writer.

What was your favorite children’s book?

My favorite books were always poetry books. I remember an old tattered copy of A Child’s Garden of Verse that I literally wore the cover off of. I remember memorizing and reciting poetry from an early age. When I write children’s stories, they always seem to come out with a rhyming pattern. It still has great appeal to me.

What inspired you to write ‘Where Does My Dadda Go?’

After years of teaching, I am blessed to be the full time mom to my three young boys. When my middle child was a baby, he would ask for “Dadda” all day long. I began thinking about what a mysterious thing it must be for a young child to see their parent leave home each day for work. My husband has a very strong bond with our children, and I wanted to capture that loving relationship and share it with other families. I believe that there are so many loving fathers out there that are devoted to their families but receive very little recognition. This story celebrates the love and devotion of a father for his family.

Are you working on a new book?

I have another picture book finished and awaiting publication. This new book celebrates the scientist in every child. I am very excited about it! Sitting on my computer, is a skeletal manuscript for my current work. I am working on a short novel for an older audience. This fun story is inspired by common misconceptions plaguing early science education. Having spent many years teaching high school physics, I have become intensely aware of the many scientific misconceptions that are perpetuated in science classrooms and text books. I aspire to educate and entertain with this new work.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

 At this point, my biggest challenge is finding time to write. I am actively involved with my young children, running a home, freelance writing, caring for animals, and gardening. Sometimes days turn into weeks without a real period of dedicated time for working on my YA novel. But I am enjoying this time with my young family. I know that it only lasts a short time!

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

I love to cook and garden. I am a big proponent of whole and organic foods, so I love to cook from scratch and work in my garden. Each day, I play a lot of racecar with my little guys.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

I would love to have dinner with Robert Louis Stephenson. His poetry inspired me from a very young age, so I would love the chance to talk with him and thank him for bringing me such joy. I would also love to visit with Stephen King. While many may think immediately of his horror writing, I am more drawn to his later works such as Under The Dome and The Dark Tower series. I would love to know his source of inspiration.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

For my environmental blogging and freelance writing, I try to write or research for an hour a day minimum. If I can focus for an hour, I can accomplish quite a bit. For story writing, I am a bit more relaxed. For me, story writing is an inspired task. I keep a notebook in my purse to record ideas when they come. The verse for my picture books was each written in one inspired session that lasted less than 30 minutes. Additional time was spent later for editing of course.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I encourage all parents to read their children’s books before giving them to children. Look for books that model and teach the values that you want your children to have. There are a lot of books available today that teach children to be crude and disrespectful of others in the name of entertainment. Children learn what they live and see. Parents must control the type of messages their children get when they can. Books should be an opportunity to reinforce the lessons we want our children to learn.

What advice you would give to new writers?

Write about things you know about, and write from your heart. Those two guidelines will make your writing meaningful and relevant.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I wrote Where Does My Dadda Go? as a gift and tribute to my husband. I am honored that others are enjoying it as well. It is truly a love story of the most special type. My husband is the most loving husband and father I’ve ever known. A devoted husband and father is a family’s greatest gift!

Thank you for this interview.



January 17, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,


  1. Nice interview. She is very in tune with her family. She also has a variety of interests that I’m sure make for amazing story ideas. I thought that was cute that she played dj as a kid. I did that once with my daughter as a bath time play. She was my guest super star singer. Kids imaginations are wonderful.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | January 17, 2012 | Reply

  2. Reading your interview takes me to a journey to a fragile world we called “babies”. That is one world that takes alot of observations and deep thinking. Good job to you Lara Kimbrell. There are some things we ought to pay attention to.

    Keep it up and God bless.

    Comment by VANILA VAE | January 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. great questions! especially for new parents and people interested in becoming an author.

    Comment by Ann M Heilman Parker | January 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’m passionate about picture books and love that you encourage parents to read the books before they share them with their children. Just because a book gets published, doesn’t mean it is one we want to read to our children.🙂
    What a great idea for a book…many children feel that their parents don’t love them because they have to leave for work…your book will certainly help them understand the important message that their parents love them, whether they are at work or at home.

    Comment by viviankirkfield | January 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. I think it’s great that she put what she learned from having a family into her books to help others!

    Comment by lisa | January 19, 2012 | Reply

  6. This book is genius. I would put it up there with potty books. My daughter always misses her daddy when he leaves. It would be nice for me to have pictures to go with my explanation!

    Comment by Kelly | January 24, 2012 | Reply

  7. I thought it was interesting that Lara Kimbrell started as a blogger then moved into writing children’s books.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | January 29, 2012 | Reply

Leave a Reply

