Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Dianne Branch


 

 

 

 

 

 

In 2008, DB Children’s Books author Dianne Branch wanted to find a children’s book to help guide her daughter Sydney through the process of becoming a big sister. She wanted a book that Sydneycould see herself in, but had trouble finding stories with characters that looked like her child.

So she decided to write the book herself for her daughter, and in August of 2011, brought Sydney and Logan’s story to the world by self-publishing Sydney Becomes a Big Sister. In fall of 2011, she added Logan’s Caterpillar to the list of DB Children’s Books’ titles.

Guided almost entirely by her children’s real voices and experiences, her books bring an enjoyable authenticity to young readers that is easy to relate to and understand. Several additional titles will be released in the near future.

Dianne, her two children, and her husband reside in Maryland.

http://dbchildrenbooks.com/Home_Page.html

Dianne Branch author of Sydney Becomes a Big Sister.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. I just recently purchased a copy.

What was your favorite children’s book? Winnie the Pooh

What were your earliest memories of writing? Writing poems in elementary school.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? Something that came natural

What inspired you to write Sydney Becomes a Big Sister and how did you come up with each character? In 2008, I wanted to find a children’s book to help guide Sydney (my daughter) through the process of becoming a big sister. I wanted a book that Sydney could see herself in, but had trouble finding stories with characters that looked like her (Sydney has hazel eyes and very curly hair).

So I decided to write the book myself for my daughter, and in August of 2011, brought Sydney and Logan’s story to the world by self-publishing Sydney Becomes a Big Sister. In fall of 2011, I added Logan’s Caterpillar to the list of DB Children’s Books’ titles.

I have turned the real-life experiences of my two children, Sydney, 7, and Logan, 3, into a children’s book series designed for young readers.  My storytelling and vivid illustrations engage children by bringing real learning experiences to life on the page.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

My books bring an enjoyable authenticity to young readers that are easy to relate to and understand. They are guided almost entirely by my children’s real voices and experiences.

 Are you working on a new book? Yes

What is the most difficult part of writing? Finding the time to write since I have a busy schedule raising two kids. I try to write everything in a journal.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? Being a busy mom.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I focus on the positive not negative – something I learned from The Secret. So far, I haven’t experienced writer’s block because of my journals.

What author inspires you the most and why? Well, my daughter loves the Junie B. Jones books by Barbara Parks and I started reading them with her. I like Barbara Parks since she is very funny.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Rhonda Bryne and Barbara Parks for some laughter

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I remain focused and stick to my schedules because I want my children to see that they too can do the same.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Read the reviews and make sure they are age appropriate.

What advice you would give to new writers? If your dream or passion  is to write, follow it!

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? Sydney and Logan’s stories make the perfect gifts since children can relate to them.

January 7, 2012 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I always love when real life experiences are used to show our children or guide them through a lesson. Thank you so much for sharing with us your readers. GFC name is Lucky47.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. I have written some stories based on my kids but they have been very personal to them and I never thought to publish them. Dianne had a great idea to share with the world because every parent and child go through similar situations. When I take my daughter to her play dates I get encouragement knowing my kids aren’t the only ones doing weird and funny and frustrating things.

    Comment by Cherese Vines | January 8, 2012 | Reply

  3. Nice interview. My kids will enjoy her stories. I checked out Dianne’s website at http://www.diannebranch.com and will definitely purchase her books. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Dawn | January 14, 2012 | Reply

  4. I found it interesting that Dianne Branch based her books on her children’s real voices and experiences. I look forward to checking them out.

    Comment by Lily Kwan | January 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

