Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Trauma Newell

Trauma Fontaine Newell get her inspiration to write children’s books from her children and grandchildren, Their imaginations, quirky gestures, whimsy words, and playful attitudes bring wonderful ideas to her children’s books. Trauma lives in New Jerseywith her family and children. Trauma is now working on her second book, a children’s book that’s funny, whimsy, fun and exciting to read to children.

Interview with Trauma Newell author of Alanis’Daily Routine.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

Coming on Home Soon-by Jacqueline Woodson

What was your favorite children’s book?

The Giving Tree-by Shel Silverstein

What were your earliest memories of writing?

When I was in Elementary School, I loved writing and I had such creative writing for stories when I had to do an essay or a book report. When I would help my children with their essays and book reports for homework, they would always get an A on their work.  

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?

Writing was something that just came natural for me, when I decided to sit down at my computer to start writing children stories for children’s books I would come up with an idea and the words would just come naturally. I think this is my calling, because I’ve always wanted to write stories for children’s books.  

What inspired you to write Alanis’ Daily Routine?

My daughter has inspired me to write a book about her daily routine and challenges with Autism, because I wanted other people to better understand about an Autism Spectrum Disorder through my daughter’s emotions and behaviors from day to day.

My daughter is an inspiration to me, because she has taught me to be the parent that I am today. A better Parent, that have gotten to know her in so many ways. I have learned so much about what an Autism Spectrum Disorder is through my daughter’s daily routine with Autism. Alanis is my life and my inspiration, my hope and a hero.  

What was your first reaction when you found out about Alanis having Autism?

When she was firsted diagnosed with Autism at the age of 2 and a half yrs old, At first, I cryed! I then asked her doctor was it something that I did when I was pregnant with her. Her doctor stated to me mom, it’s nothing that you did at all. She said theres no cause and no cure for Autism. After that, I just wanted to do research and find out all that I could about Autism, than to teach her about learning skills and life skills.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?

That Autism makes each child to have the ability to think differently in their own way and that People and Parents can learn from each others experiences and to better understand more about Autism.

Can you tell us about the new book you are working on?

This is my first children’s book and I am so excited to see my illustrations come to life with my story. My book is about a little boy and his great imagination in outerspace and his journey through his great space adventure. That’s all I can say for now, but this book will be a very delightful, fun and whimsy book to be read to children.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

I guess it would be if you can’t come up with an idea to write about something.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?

Being a mom to my children, spending time at my church events, I’m an advocate for Autism Awareness and I spend time talking to other parents and new parents at my daughters school about Early Intervention for Autism.  Most parents are in denial about the diagnosis of their child at first until they can better understand more about the signs of an Autism Spectrum Disorder.

What author inspires you the most and why?

 Eric Carle inspires me the most, because he has written so many wonderful children’s books with such imaginative illustrations.  He’s a really great creative writer and illustrator and I hope that I can follow in his footsteps one day with my children’s books.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?

Eric Carle, Shel Silverstein, Maurice Sendak, Margaret Wise Brown.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.?

I taugh myself to be my own motivator and to stick to all my schedules and goals in life, by setting goals for myself and doing the things that I what to do in a certain time frame.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?

I would tell parents to read books that are suitable for a child’s age group and to get a book that inspires a childs imagination.

What advice you would give to new writers?

To write what you feel from inside that comes natural to you, to get inspiration from the things that they love to do.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

I have a quote that I wrote after my daughter was diagnosed with Autism. With Prayer, Love and Patience, it makes your journey so much easier in life. God Bless!!!

Thank you for this interview.


December 7, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. It’s nice meeting you here Trauma. I too am a Jersean as they call us. I commend you on writing about about your daughter’s daily life with Autism, sharing your everyday lives and emotions. I know so many people who Autism has touched. What a great book for me to guide them to. I love your quote. We definitely need faith and strength to carry us through. Thank you for the interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | December 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, Carol for a wonderful comment! Nice to meet you here as well.

      Comment by Trauma F Newell | December 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. Trauma, I appreciate the fact that you have written a book to help understand autism. My grandson is 10 years old and has Aspergers.The daily routine for him is a challenge. It only takes a perceived change and a barrier presents itself. All the best to you and your daughter.

    Comment by minibea12 | December 22, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

