Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Emily G. Simmons



Emily G. Simmons author of Spot the Puppy.

To read about the author click

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?
Pride and Prejudice

What was your favorite children’s book?
The Boxcar Children Series

What were your earliest memories of writing? 
The earliest I can remember writing was at age eight.  I made a short book, and I’ve been writing storied ever since. 

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?
It just came naturally. I did it because I enjoyed it!

What inspired you to write Spot the Puppy?
My brother, Stephen, inspired me about a puppy named Spot. The inspiration for the actual stories, came from the desire to give my siblings something fun to read, that would help them build character. 

What is the different between your book Spot the Puppy and other Spot books out there?
Each Spot the Puppy book is based around a particular character trait from the Bible, shown through a story about the Spot and his friends. 

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?
Most importantly, I hope that any unsaved reader will trust Christ as their Saviour after reading these books.  Secondly, I hope they will grasp the truth that they are being taught from the story, and apply it to their lives. 

Are you working on a new book?
I am always working on a new book.🙂

What is the most difficult part of writing?
Editing, and rewriting. After completing a story, and going back to read it, I often feel unsatisfied with my own work. The most difficult thing, is having to critique and change my own books. 

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?
I am currently enrolled in Bible college, and stay very busy there. 
What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read?
Be careful what you allow your children to read.  What they put into their minds will affect their behavior. 

What advice you would give to new writers?
Keep writing and rewriting, and never give up.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?
Find what talents God has given you, and use them for His glory! 

Thank you for this interview. 

December 6, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , ,


  1. Book one in the series. I didn’t know there was a series. I think my daughter would love this book. 1. she is the right age for it. 2 she loves dogs 3. It has meaning and that I love and 4. teaching her about the bible will be great with her in CCD. Thanks for the chance to win such an awesome book.

    mary_reiss @

    Comment by Mary @SweepingMe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. What a nice interview. Your books are certainly something for young children to read . I see there will be many Spot books. Thanks for sharing with us Emily. And Congratulations on your book release. God Bless.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. love it how your books were inspired by your siblings and wanting them to build character. this is what I hope for my children.

    Comment by Sarah Welte | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. Emily G. Simmons heart for children and teaching them to live Godly lives for Christ really comes through in this interview. I’m always looking for books that teach my children to be more Christ-like. This series looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Amy W. | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  5. Although i do not have children, i know a few families who should have this book. Thanks for the great post, and chance to win. i will be looking for this book, now that i’ve read you post!

    Comment by Marianne | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. I remember reading Box Car Children box when I was young too.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | December 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. I think its neat the author bases her books on christian values. Its also neat its wrote for her siblings

    Comment by Larissa brunken | December 13, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

