Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Spot the Puppy. Ends Dec 27th

Author Emily G. Simmons.

Spot looks like your average puppy. He is brown, with a dark brown spot over his right eye. Judging by the way he looks, there is nothing terribly unique about Spot. But there is, in fact, something very different about him. And what makes Spot different from just any other puppy, is that he always stands up for what’s right. But just like anyone else, he was not simply born that way. O h, no! In face, Spot had to learn the hard way how important it is to stand up for right.

My Review: Spot the Puppy is a cute book about standing up for what is right. Spot is a lonely puppy who has no sibling to play with him. His parents told him that the only way to find friends is by going to the park. Off to the park the next day he came across a fierce looking bulldog named Butch who he later became friends with. The problem is that Butch the bulldog wasn’t a friendly dog. He was a bully, likes to frighten elderly ladies and stealing food from the back of grocery trucks. Spot knew that what Butch was doing was wrong but he didn’t want to be without a friend. The final straw came when Butch decided to steal from Spot next door neighbor puppy that just moved in. He stood up to Butch and told him to leave. 

Spot learnt that not doing right is just as bad as doing wrong. “If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.” James 4:17.

The last two pages gives bible scriptures and a call to salvation. I will recommend this book for kids ages 7 and up.

Pages: 34

Book 1 in a series of 22

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 27th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment about the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!

December 6, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , ,


  1. This is a book I would want my grand kids to read at their young ages. This is the time for them to learn and carry it into adulthood. I’m so glad to have met Emily through your blog Ella. Thanks for this opportunity. I commented on Emily’s interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. I think this would be a great book for my children to read, especially my son who is 5. He will be going to school next year and I want him to always stand up for what is right, even when it is not the popular thing to do.

    Comment by Sarah Welte | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. left a comment under her interview🙂

    Comment by Sarah Welte | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. This looks like a great series of books. I homeschool my children and the lesson in this book is one they need to learn. They are so eager to have friends they too have a hard time sticking up for what is right. I love the scripture references and the call to salvation at the end of the books. I would definitely be interested in having the whole series for my kids.

    Comment by Amy W. | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  5. i know i want this book for my friends children…this is a lesson all children need to learn, and the age they are now is perfect. Thanks for featuring this book, and Emily – i commented on her blog as well.

    Comment by Marianne | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. I would love for my girls to read this book because I think it is so important for them to know that not only should you not be a bully, but you shouldn’t stand by and let others be bullies either.

    Comment by Jeryl M. | December 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love what this book stands for amd teaches. Will watch for more in the series.

    Comment by Larissa brunken | December 13, 2011 | Reply

  8. This would be wonderful for my kindergarten class. Unfortunately, many of my students are not taught to do what is right at home.

    Comment by MJ | December 21, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

