Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Babyberry Pie. Ends Dec 19th

Babyberry Pie written by Heather Vogel Frederick and illustrated by Amy Schwartz.

How do you bake a babyberry pie? Pick one wiggly baby from the babyberry tree. Pop him in the tub and scrub clean. Add sugar to his nose and toes. Tuck him into a warm pie crust. And don’t forget a kiss goodnight!

That’s the perfect recipe for a babyberry pie—and a playful, peaceful bedtime. (Just don’t let that little giggleberry wiggle away!)

My Review: This modern day lullaby plays on words of a “sweet little Berrybaby Pie”.  This story has the potential to be the next classic lullaby such as “Rock-a-by Baby” or “The Itsy bitsy Spider”.  Give your imagination a chance and don’t think too much into the story or the plot.  Just recite the cute little verses in rhyme to soothe your little one off to sleep every night.  The artwork is charmingly done and endears the story as it goes along.  The Berrybaby proves to be rambunctious as are most toddlers that need to be put down for the night.  This just adds a sense of both reality and adventure for the little one you’re reading too.  This little jewel with its endearing artwork has the potential to be a classic that will be part of your child’s favorite memories.

A perfect bedtime story and I highly recommend this book.

Ages: 3 and up

Pages: 40 

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


Giveaway Rules


Author is giving a signe copy to 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 19th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: First leave a comment on the review below. Leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This giveaway has ended!

November 25, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , ,


  1. thanks for the contest

    Comment by ella | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. This book likes a sweet story. reminds me of little Jack horner.
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

    Comment by Valerie Taylor Mabrey | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. I would love the book for my niece who’s learning to read!(:

    Comment by AbaGayle | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. This would be a sweet going to bed book for my little one.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. I love the artwork, and the story, very cute. This would make a perfect bedtime story!!!!!🙂

    Comment by Grace | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. This would be a wonderful bedtime story for my autistic grandson. He loves listening to rhyming stories.

    Comment by Tonya May | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. I would love this book! It would be a fantastic story for my little cousin who is learning how to read…🙂

    Comment by Carly | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. my little brothers and sisters would love that book………….

    Comment by ilana | November 27, 2011 | Reply

  9. This is such a good book by my all time favorite author! Good job, Heather!

    Comment by Isabelle | November 27, 2011 | Reply

  10. This is an adorable book for the little ones who need a nudge to sleep.🙂 Rhyming books are some of my youngest grandson’s favorite reads. Commented on Author’s interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 28, 2011 | Reply

  11. I love this book! It is so adorable with all the illustrations of the baby! I would read this book aloud to my younger cousins!🙂

    Comment by Alexandra | November 28, 2011 | Reply

  12. I love Heather… She writes amazing books… I would love to win this for the kids I babysit… they love books…:D

    Comment by Carlee | November 29, 2011 | Reply

  13. This sounds like a wonderful bedtime book. While it may talk about ‘babies’ my 4 1/2 year old would really love this. She talks all the time about when she was a baby, her brother was a baby, and now her new baby sister!

    Comment by stacy h | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  14. What a sweet book. Sounds like a wonderful one to read at bedtime…I can imagine a lot of laughs from little ones🙂

    Comment by Kristie | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  15. my greatgrandbaby would love this. Such a sweet story. Is it available in a board book? How do I look?

    Comment by Gloria | December 5, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

