Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Gunther the Underwater Elephant. Ends Dec 19th

Gunther the Underwater Elephant written and illustrated by Ginger Neilson

Meet Gunther the baby elephant who can float under water. But what happens when he floats too far from home?

My Review: While spending time with his mother and their elephant family in the jungle river, Gunther would play with his cousins because he was too young to swim alone. His cousins would hold him by his trunk and tail and swish him in the river. One day while his cousins were arguing so much they let go of him without knowing. To Gunther surprised he began to swim and did not sink to the bottom of the river.

He leant how to use his trunk as a snorkel.  When he knew that he was separated from his mother and his elephant family he began look for a way to get back home. He met different creatures of the sea that helps him return home.

On his way home a jungle bird told him that something terrible has happened to his mother. When Gunther learns that his mother was captured by the hunters while looking for him, he came up with an ideal on how to rescue his mother.

Gunther’s story is so interesting, first he didn’t know how to swim but leant how by using his trunk. He then used creativity and quick thinking to help save his mother from the hunters. But he leant a valuable lesson not to float away again. Bright and beautiful colors illustrated by the author. I highly recommend this book for your children’s library and for classroom reading.

Pages: 32

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


Giveaway Rules


Author is giving a copy to 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 19th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!

November 23, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. sweet that the book was inspired by the principal and the kind of person he was/is.

    Comment by Ann M Heilman Parker | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hmmm…seems to me that this book gives young readers a leg up on critical and deductive thinking while engaging them with a charming character in the form of this adorable elephant that they can also identify with – I LIKE it!

    Comment by Jane Bellomy | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. Floating down the river, sounds nice and relaxing, it’s not hard to see how one could lose track of where one is and where one is going. I also like the way the Gunther teaches himself to swim. As a teacher, it’s a constant challenge to help students learn, and inevitably some students don’t learn everything I would like them to learn. Some things have to be learned on our own.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  4. Who can resist baby elephants? I saw the picture and was immediately hooked. The fact there’s lessons learned only makes it even better.

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  5. I love what I have read so far. This would be a great addition to the libraries I volunteer in, one just became part of the public library system and our story time readers would love this. The other library I volunteer in is a school library and I think our reading buddies program would love to read this to the younger kids.

    Comment by Christina Cessna | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  6. I would love to win this for my little Gwen, because it not only teaches a child that they can be resourceful, but also has a huge lean toward the meaning of the relationship between parents and children. It is easy to be led off of the path in life as well, but we can always find our way back when we have strong character. I think it is a wonderful book!

    Comment by David Gossett | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love the illustrations makes me want a pet elephant. Looks like a good bedtime story for my grandkids on sleepover night.
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

    Comment by Valerie Taylor Mabrey | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. I like that Gunther learns that he can rely on others for help and also that he can be the one that others rely on at times too. The illustrations ar eadorable.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  9. The storyline sounds interesting. I really love the colorful illustrations!
    Gingeroo616 at aol dotcom

    Comment by Stacy | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  10. Looks like a cute book🙂

    Comment by amandasue | November 27, 2011 | Reply

  11. My kids love their cousins and swimming, so this they could identify easily with. I like the teaching point of getting lost- although the hunter part makes me sad! I wish not to have to teach my kids about poachers.

    Comment by stacy h | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  12. Awwww Gunther is adorable. This book sounds like something my child would love. The adventure sounds super exciting.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  13. It sounds like Gunther had quite the adventure! My kids enjoy adventure books and it’d be fun to read and see how it ends with them🙂

    Comment by Kristie | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  14. Oh my goodness poor Gunther. It must be scary for a baby to lose their momma. I hope Gunther finds his.

    Comment by Gloria | December 5, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

