Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Loon Baby. Ends Dec 19th


Loon Baby by Molly Beth Griffin illustrated by Anne Hunter

Atop the rippling waves— the breeze ruffling his fluff— Loon Baby waits, alone, and wonders: Will his mother ever come back?

My Review: It was time for dinner so Mama Loon took baby Loon to the middle of the lake so she can look for dinner for him. While she dove into the lake he waited for his mother to return. Baby Loon started to worry when his mother did not show up and she has never gone this long before. “He stuck his head under the cool waves to look.  Nothing but green lake-light.” He became frightened, has his mother encountered a hostile moose or turtle?

The story tells how baby Loon learned to dive while looking for his mother. And even though he was frightened he overcame his fear so he can keep searching for his mother. Was he able to find his mother? Imagine getting separated from you child, that is frightened. Great soft cross hatched and watercolor paintings by the illustrator. The frightened look on baby Loon tells the story. I highly recommend this book for your child’s library and for classroom reading.

Ages 3 and up

Pages: 32

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules


Author is giving a signed copy to 1 winner

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 19th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!

November 21, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. Fear can be a powerful motivator, sometimes in good ways, sometimes in bad ways. Sounds like a good book for discussing fear with children.

    Comment by Heidi Grange | November 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wow, this book takes me back many years to the time when our daughter, then only two years old, managed to elude me in a well known dept. store. I was also very pregnant with her brother, so the extra hormones did not help one bit! Rather than her being fearful about losing track of her mom, the tables were turned and it was I who was seized with fear – the little dickens was hiding out in one of the clothing rounders watching me pace and call for her the whole time. I cannot recall if I spied her about the same time she decided to make her presence known with a typical two year old’s charming “BOO”, but this Mom did not find that prank one bit funny! I will be greatly relieved if baby loon’s story raises awareness in the best ways…

    Comment by Jane Bellomy | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. That poor baby loon! He must have been so frightened when he couldn’t find his mother. I hope she does eventually come back to the baby. How sad it would be if she didn’t!

    Comment by Patsy Hagen | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love that this book shows kids it is good to overcome fears and that they can do things on their own!! U daughter would benefit greatly from lessons like these!

    Comment by Frugaluser | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. I like that this deals with someone young children are likely to face at some point (fright) and does it with animals (because what young child doesn’t love animals).

    lovelydomesticdiva (at) gmail (dot) com

    Comment by domestic diva | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. As a homeschool mother of 4 finding just the right books to add to our collection is not easy. We have many books but only the special ones stand out, only they will be kept to hand down to grandbabies and the rest will be donated I am sure. I think my children would like this book because I can add love to the story that is personal. Every summer I went to Canada as a child. Every summer the Loons waited. The songs they made, their grace. Those feeling I can add and make it even more special.

    Comment by Kimberly C. | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  7. Your description has me wondering if this is how Mother Loon is teaching Baby Loon to be on his own – after all, the world is a frightening place for young ones. I look forward to reading Loon Baby to my grandkids to find out.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | November 22, 2011 | Reply

  8. This sounds like a very enjoyable read to teach our little ones that in spite of their fear they can achieve what they want. A great little story my grandkids would enjoy. Commented on Author’s interview.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  9. Awww I love the cover! Does baby Loon find his mother? I wanna know…lol
    I think my daughter might enjoy this book, but she will be scared along with baby loon.

    Comment by larissa brunken | November 29, 2011 | Reply

  10. Sounds like a great way to start a discussion about over coming fear. My child is a visual learner so according to your review the pictures tell alot.

    Comment by Daily Woman | November 30, 2011 | Reply

  11. Amazing that the author was writing books in 2nd grade. I wish I had that passion at that age. I cant wait to read some of her books

    Comment by Daily Woman | November 30, 2011 | Reply

  12. Wonderful illustrations are definitely a draw for me to a book; my oldest(4) would be drawn to the ‘drama’ of the situation. She’s very sensitive and concerned about others. This sounds like a lovely book to talk about how being afraid is ok and you can triumph still.

    Comment by stacy h | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  13. My little guy is just now starting the, “Don’t go! I’ll miss you!!!!” stage. I think the book may help him.
    ohmiss14 at yahoo dot com ☮

    Comment by Alicia C. | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  14. I like the message in the story about becoming more independant…this would be a great book for my little guys.

    Comment by Kristie | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  15. Sounds like a great way to open the door of comunication for what to do “if you get separated from mommy!” I love the cover illustration and can’t wait to read and see the rest! Thanks for having this wonderful giveaway!

    Comment by Tiffany Ibarra | December 12, 2011 | Reply

  16. I would love to read the book…reassurance is such an important aspect of kids’ learning through childhood…like learning to ride a bike/roller skating:) What a nice idea to base it on loons learning to swim:)
    I left a comment under allaboutcoupons4fun

    Comment by allaboutcoupons4fun | December 13, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

