Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: WOW Blog Tour – The Christmas Village. Ends Dec 10th

WOW BLOG TOUR: The ChristmasVillage by Melissa Ann Goodwin

About the Author: Melissa Ann Goodwin is a native New Englander, now living inSanta Fe,New Mexicowith her husband, artist J. Richard Secor. She has written extensively for Fun for Kidz, Boys’ Quest and Hopscotch for Girls. She was a regular feature article contributor to the Caregiver’s Home Companion for more than five years. Her work has appeared in Guideposts’ Angels on Earth, Caregivers’ Home Companion, Caring Today, The Lutheran Digest, The Peak Magazine, The Andover Townsman, and theMartha’s VineyardGazette. Her poetry took 10th prize in The Writer’s Digest 2010 annual competition. TheChristmasVillageis her first novel.

Author’s Websites:

Melissa Ann Goodwin

The ChristmasVillage


Twitter: @GoodwinMelissa

Note: here is the link to Amazon

Link to Smashwords


About WOW! Women on Writing is a global magazine, designed to support women’s creativity, energy, blood, sweat and tears, throughout all stages of the writing process. We envision Wow! being a favorite watering hole for professionals, the up-and-coming, and the recipients of our labors–the avid readers. Our concept is unique, as it fills in the missing gap between writing websites and women’s magazines. We are dedicated to raising the overall standards within the writing community, and devote an active profile within writing industry associations, organizations and websites. Read more

About the Book: When Jamie Reynolds comes to his grandparents’Vermonthome for Christmas, he just wants things to go back to the way they were before his dad disappeared. Time and again he is drawn to Grandma’s miniatureChristmasVillage, where he imagines that life is perfect. Late one night, the village comes to life before Jamie’s eyes, and his fantasy of escaping into it becomes very real indeed. He discovers that the village is calledCanterbury, where the year is 1932. He becomes fast friends with Kelly and Christopher Pennysworth, and is taken in by Ida, who runs the local boarding house. But he also makes a dangerous enemy of the mysterious and menacing Jim Gordon, whose return to town is nothing but trouble. As Jamie desperately races against time to find his way back home, he is suddenly faced with a terrifying choice: to go ahead with his plan to leave, or to stay and help his friends, at the risk of never going home again.

My Review: TheChristmasVillage is a delightful holiday story about a 12 years old boy named Jamie. When his dad left them Jamie was unhappy because everyone talked about them but not to them. So his mother decided that a trip to his grandparent’s house inVermont for the Christmas holiday will be better.

When his grandmother shown them a miniature Christmas Village Jamie is drawn to it. Later that day, Jamie imagined how perfect life would be in a perfect little village likeCanterbury, and he made a wish “I wish I could live inCanterbury,” and tiptoed to bed. Late one night the miniature village came to life before Jamie’s eyes. Is theChristmasVillagereally what it seems? What secret does the miniatureChristmasVillagehold?

This book will take the readers on a rollercoaster ride to a place in time full of excitement, suspense and twists that will surprise you toward the end of the book. What an interesting read am still smiling. I highly recommend this book.

Pages: 198

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.


Giveaway Rules


This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winner will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 10th.

Author is giving  away 1 copy of this book to 1 winner.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

This Giveaway has ended!

November 20, 2011 - Posted by | Blog Tour, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , ,


  1. Can you imagine waking up in that Christmas Village? What an adventure that would be. I think a lot of us want to wake up in a new place sometimes just to get a break from everything. I can’t wait to read the book to find out what all Jamie discovers there!
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

    Comment by mamabunny13 | November 20, 2011

  2. Some delightful children can be magical around Christmas time.It’s amazing how this time of year brings out the very best in children.Sometimes those who are unfortunate get to experience Christmas bliss. This book sounds like a peak into just one of those times.


    Comment by Benita Glickman | November 20, 2011

  3. How many times have we wished we could escape from real life, just like Jamie? I’ve got nieces & nephews about the age Jamie is in this story & it would be so much fun to read this book with them. I can’t wait to find out what happens with Jamie, Ida, Kelly, Christopher & Jim in Canterbury.

    drainbamaged.gyzmo at

    Comment by Kathryn Anne Merkel | November 20, 2011

  4. I think most children are drawn to miniatures… but to awake in the tiny Christmas village! Can’t wait to see how the rest of the story unfolds… be careful what you wish for Jamie.

    Comment by Janelle | November 20, 2011


    Comment by nylne | November 20, 2011

  6. This sounds like a great book for Christmas, I can tell my nephews would like Jamie. Everybody wishes to escape from real life every once and a while. edysicecreamlover18@gmailDOTcom

    Comment by krystallarson | November 20, 2011

  7. I never heard of WOW, will have to seek out other writers from the magazine. I thought it was great that the author was a native new englander as her story was set there and will be much more realistic if she is from there.
    melanieinoh2003 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Melanie | November 20, 2011

  8. Sounds like an interesting story for a new Christmas tradition. All ages at a moment, or several, want to escape reality and live in a perfect world, but problems are every where and we can never truely be rid of them. It will be a thrill to find out if Jamie chooses to stay in Canterbury or choose to return home, and what mystery lies in this perfect Christmas Village.

    Comment by Natalie Anderson | November 20, 2011

  9. Hi Everyone, thanks for all the lovely comments – you’ve all picked up on various things that come into play in my book – the love of miniature worlds, the longing sometimes to escape to a place that seems so peaceful and perfect, and yes, even “be careful what you wish for!” I hope that you and the children in your lives will all get to go on Jamie’s journey. You can feel good about the books’ positive messages, and there are lots of surprises! Best wishes to all, Melissa

    Comment by Melissa Ann Goodwin | November 20, 2011

  10. Terrific review and post. Glad I stopped by today to learn about this author and her book.

    Happy Thanksgiving,
    The Golden Pathway Story book Blog

    Comment by donnamcdine | November 20, 2011

  11. The author took the words “Be careful what you wish for…” right out of my comment – as an adult, I want to read this book, because it recalls my own childhood spent buried in as many books as I could get my hands on, including Edward Eager’s HALF MAGIC which creates another kind of fantasy world for its four young characters. HALF MAGIC then became a favorite of our daughter’s, and so maybe it shall be for the next generation of our family? And now THE CHRISTMAS VILLAGE – I like it!!

    Comment by Jane Bellomy | November 20, 2011

  12. My 10 year old daughter would really enjoy this book. She reads anything she can get her little hands on, but she prefers books about imaginary lands. This book sounds like it blurs the line much better than most, and I would love read it myself.

    Comment by Kasee Johnson | November 20, 2011

  13. Hi Donna and Jane, thanks for coming by and commenting. Jane, I wanted to write a book that grown-ups would love as much as kids do. I too, spent my childhood buried in books, and I wanted to write books like the ones I loved. I truly hope I’ve succeeded. Sometimes kids’ books are for us grown-ups too.🙂 I hope you love it.

    Comment by Melissa Ann Goodwin | November 20, 2011

  14. i wasn’t sure when i read about the book and read the review whether it was for children or adults or both. i watched the story The Christmas Train (i think that’s the name of it) one year, and loved it. Can see this story becoming a tradition as well. How often the books i read become my “Christmas Village” – my escape into another world, and yes, do be careful what you wish for because you might get it. Thanks.

    Comment by Marianne | November 21, 2011

  15. It’s always wonderful when the adults are pulled into a story along with the younger ones. It sounds like a magical journey I’d love to take with the grand kids.Thanks so much for featuring The Christmas Village. GFC name is Lucky47
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 21, 2011

  16. I’ve always loved miniatures, although I’ve never imagined what it might be like to live in a miniature town. What an interesting experience that would be. I can think of several miniature towns made of candy that I might like to visit. Yum!

    Comment by Heidi Grange | November 21, 2011

  17. Sounds like a wonderful story. I love stories that get your imagination going!
    gingeroo616 at aol dotcom

    Comment by stacy | November 21, 2011

  18. Marianne, I just love how you expressed the idea of your escape into books becoming your version of escaping into the Christmas Village. I think that idea of escaping into a lovely fantasy world for a while is so appealing and one of the reasons we love books as we do.

    Carol, Thanks for coming by and for your nice comments.

    Heidi, I like your idea very much …. one might have to munch one’s way out to get back home!!

    Comment by Melissa Ann Goodwin | November 21, 2011

  19. My autistic son still expresses such innocence and truly believes in the magic of Christmas. (Something we all can learn from him.) The day after Thanksgiving, he starts pulling out all his Christmas books and one by one, we read them before he goes to bed each night. Some are quite dog-eared, but that just means they are loved. The Christmas Village sounds like wonderful–unlike any he has read–and I’m sure this story will enthrall him.
    The friendships Jamie develops,and the choices he makes in the tiny village, sound like a wonderful adventure. I love that it’s not just about a magical town, but includes a twist of menacing villain. The “careful what you wish for” plays into this too–and yet another good lesson for the reader without being too “preachy”.

    . Thanks for the opportunity to win this book.

    Comment by JMPowers~ Author | November 22, 2011

  20. JmPowers, you’ve captured my intent with this book so perfectly that it really touches me. There are many lessons, like “be careful what you wish for,” in the story, but as you say, not delivered in a preachy way. There is nothing that would make my heart sing more than to know that my book has become one of your son’s treasured stories. I hope that you will get to share it together one way or another. Good luck!

    Comment by Melissa Ann Goodwin | November 22, 2011

  21. Each year we put up a Lego Christmas Village. I mentioned this book to my son, he replied that he also, would like to wake up in the Christmas village. This books sounds incredible. I can only imagine what goes on in the village.

    Comment by donna lawrence | November 26, 2011

  22. This story is so intriguing – I can identify with Jamie wanting to escaoe from the stress of his life. I hope the Christmas village turns out to be a place of peace for him.

    Comment by Terry Young | December 1, 2012

  23. Sounds like it would be a lovely book to add to my Christmas book collection.

    Comment by Barbara | December 1, 2012

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

