Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: The Pout-Pout Fish. Ends December 10th

The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen, illustrated by Dan Hanna

The Pout-Pout Fish tells the tale of Mr. Fish, who spends his days with his fish-face stuck in a permanent pout.  Though his pals try to cheer him up, they have little success.  But as the story swims along, an unexpected friend arrives on the scene and helps Mr. Fish to discover that glum isn’t really his destiny.

My Review: The Pout-Pout Fish is a fun, rhyming picture book about a fish that swims the ocean with his face stuck in a permanent pout. Some of his friends like Ms Clam, Mr. Jelly and Mrs. Squid wanted to know why he has a cross-town frown, and an unattractive trait. But Mr. Fish told his friends that he was destined to be a glum. But someone came along to turn Mr. Fish pout-pout fish face into a ……! You will have to buy your copy to find out.

This is a story that children of all ages would love to read. And if you have a child with a pout-pout face then this book will help turn it into a happy one. The illustrations are colorful and bright bringing each page alive. I highly recommend the book for your home libraries.

The Pout-Pout Fish In The Big-Big Dark by Deborah Diesen, illustrated by Dan Hanna


The Pout-Pout Fish In The Big-Big Dark is a follow-up to the popular The Pout-Pout Fish. Illustrated by Dan Hanna and published by Farrar Straus Giroux, this new tale follows Mr. Fish’s adventure into the deepest part of the ocean.

Mr. Fish wants to help his friend Ms. Clam when she loses her pearl, but though he’s fast as a sailfish, as smart as dolphin, and as strong as a shark, Mr. Fish has a secret: he’s scared of the dark!

My Review:  When Ms. Clam loses her pearl Mr. Fish comes to the rescue. He offers to help her find it.  He swooped through the water looking for the pearl but he had to venture into the deep sea if he was to find Ms. Clam‘s pearl. But his only weakness is that he is afraid of the dark. Will he be able to keep his promise to Ms Clam or will he be brave enough to swim into the deep to look for the pearl?

But look who came along to help Mr. Fish conquer his fear of the dark, his friends Miss Shimmer and Mr. Lantern.  A great story children would like to read that teaches them about friendship and conquering fears.

Ages 3 and up

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from free spirit publishing in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules


There will be 2 winners

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY.

Winners will be selected by

Giveaway Ends December 10th.

Comments like these would be deleted –  Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute!

1. Mandatory: So leaving a helpful comment relating to this book would be appreciated and valid to the giveaway.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!


This Giveaway Has Ended!

November 18, 2011 - Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , ,


  1. I think this would be a cute book to read to my son and then to take to his school to share with the students in his class.

    Comment by Glenda | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. I have three young grandchildren, 5, 2 and 1. I think either one of these books would good additions to their library.

    Comment by Andrea I | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. The cutest book and the illustrations are really beautiful and so colorful.
    It’s a great way to show kids what they look like when they themselves Pout. Especially my littlest pouter (grandson). Her blog introduces you to many many Authors as well. Thanks for the post .
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  4. I love that the fish has to overcome his fear to help someone in need. My daughter would love this fishy tale

    Comment by Frugaluser | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  5. My granddaughter is a pout-pout! When she is in one of those moods I will announce a contest to see who can stick their pouty bottom lip out the farthest – that usually gets a smile out of her. I know she would identify with Mr Fish.

    tmyoung at rochester dot rr dot com

    Comment by Teresa Young | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  6. Pout Pout Fish sounds like my 4 year old! She would totally love this story! Thanks for the opportunity and the wonderful review

    Comment by Kelly Moran | November 18, 2011 | Reply

  7. I really would love to donate this book to the women and childrens crisis center, it has a great lesson on fear and would be a help to those children. I read the interview and Deborah Diesen is a person i would love to meet

    Comment by jenn | November 19, 2011 | Reply

  8. left interview comment

    Comment by jenn | November 19, 2011 | Reply

  9. Books for young ones about conquering fears are always a helpful way for us parents to show the kids that there is a way to overcome. I love books that help, and aren’t just fluff to read
    melanieinoh2003 at yahoo dot com

    Comment by Melanie | November 19, 2011 | Reply

  10. My friends have this book for their children and it is their favorite! I would love to read it to my own children!

    Comment by Amber D. | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  11. What a great message!! My daughter is also afraid of the dark, so she has TWO nightlights and a turtle that displays colorful shapes on the ceiling. I wonder what her respond would be to this book? (I also left a comment on the interview!)

    Comment by roxanna | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  12. My little granddaughter would love this book. We are always making faces at each other and then get the giggles, so she definitely would love reading this with me.

    Comment by Joyce Harrell | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  13. Awww, you left me hanging… I want to know what Mr. Fish’s pout pout face gets turned into.

    As a teacher and a mom, I love that these teach attitude (not pouting), address fears (the dark), and increase children’s vocabulary (with the clever names, like Miss Shimmer and Mr. Lantern). Just the kind of books our kids should be introduced to. Thanks!

    Comment by Jan Messali | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  14. My kids are really into sea creatures today. Who knows about tomorrow, right? Is there any chance for a frown frown fish? That, unfortunately, is my daughter these days…
    tiredwkids at live dot com

    Comment by Shannon | November 20, 2011 | Reply

  15. I love the lesson! My kids tend to pout now and again and I’d like them to see how it’s best to be happy🙂

    khmorgan_00 [at] yahoo [dot] com

    Comment by Kristie | November 21, 2011 | Reply

  16. I have the pout pout fish, but I didn’t know there was another book. The book has such a powerful message for kids. I am a teacher and I would love to win this giveaway.

    Comment by The Filler Four | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  17. The Pout Pout Fish was nominated for the 2011 Colorado Children’s Book Award. I shared it with my students when I was the librarian at Chinook Trail Elementary. It was one of their favorite books. I plan to share it with my students at my new school, Academy Endeavour. I’m sure they will enjoy it just as much. It’s a great book for talking about courage.

    Comment by Beverly Archer | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  18. I got to read the pout pout fish in the big big dark for my daughter’s first grade class and I must say it was very cute, suspenseful and funny. I think my daughter would love this one as well. I would share it with her class too since they got such a thrill out of the other one. Thanks for a great book!

    Comment by larissa brunken | November 28, 2011 | Reply

  19. My kids love books with rhythm- and so do I! It sounds like it may be along the same lines of Llama Llama Red Pajama(one of our favorites). Even better- we have a blue betta fish that my 2 year old loves so he’d really dig this book!
    hancoci_s at msn dot com

    Comment by stacy h | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  20. I got this book for my school library last year and it was such a hit. Whenever kids saw me in the halls, they’d go “Blub, blub, bluuuuubbbb!” and giggle like crazy. I’d love to get a copy for myself!

    Comment by Cathe Olson | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  21. This story has a wonderful meaning and great illustrations. This looks like the kids would enjoy it! I teach and this would be a great addition!

    Comment by Rachel | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  22. My 5 year old grandson would enjoy this since we live at the beach & he’s really curious about sea life. Thanks for the chance!

    Comment by Ruthie B | December 4, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

