Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Joshua T. Smith

Joshua is a very young author who writes and illustrates children’s books. His first book was Mouse Eats Cake that he wrote while he was in first grade in Mountain View, CA.  He started writing books in the first grade. He has had features written about him in the Mountain View Voice and Palo Alto Weekly.  He moved to Oregonwhen he was 8 and has written more books while in the 4th, 5th grade.  Many of his characters are the same throughout his books.
His favorite character is Charlie Smart aka Frog. His stories are fun.

Visit the links below to order your copy

Kindle version at:

Interview with Joshua T. Smith author of Frog’s P.E.

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?
I just read The Bakugan Handbook

What were your earliest memories of writing?
I wrote Mouse Eats Cake in First Grade.  I love to draw and writing the book seemed like a great idea show my artwork.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural?
It came natural to me.  I love to draw.  Writing books around my illustrations is fun.

Are you working on a new book?

Yes, I am currently working on Frog’s Swim Team.

What inspired you to write Frog’s P. E?
I was having fun in my P.E. class with my friends so I decided to make a book about it.

If you were to chose a character from your book, which one would it be?
Frog (aka Charlie Smart).  Frog is my favorite character.  He reminds me of myself.

What was your favorite children’s book?
I loved Frog’s Christmas Carol.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?
I love playing with my friends.  I enjoy playing Bey Blades.  I also enjoy swimming and playing the piano.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book?
I hope it inspires them to enjoy their P.E. classes and learn that exercising is fun.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with?
I would love to dine with Dr. Seuss and Dav Pilkey and Marc Brown.

What author inspires you the most and why?
Dr. Seuss because he loved to draw and he has inspired many people to read.

What advice you would give to new writers?
1. Have someone else edit your work and check your grammar
2. Create stories that are fun.
3. Include your friends in your stories.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?
My books are all about the different experiences you have in life.  If you love my artwork, you will love my books.  Anyone can write and be an author, you just need to try it and have fun.  Look for Frog’s Swim Team when it comes out.  It is about Frog and his friends who join Swim Team during the Summer.

Thank you for this interview.

November 12, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , ,


  1. I just have to say how impressed I am with such a young writer. Your books look like a lot of fun. I can’t wait to read one to my kids. Wonderful interview and keep on writing, you’re doing an amazing job!

    lastnerve2000 at gmail dot com

    Comment by lastnerve | November 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. What a interesting young man. I look forward to reading his books and I would like to do a feature with him on my blog. I know with my sons name being Charlie he would Love the books as well and he also would Love to dine with Dr. Suess.

    Comment by Glenda | November 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Glenda,

      Yes, I would love you to have you do a feature on me. I am currently working on Frog’s Swim Team. You can send my Dad and I email at sylfa.smith1 at gmail dot com

      Joshua and Craig

      Comment by joshuaschildrensbooks | November 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a mature young man.🙂 I can see he’ll be writing and illustrating for a long time because of what he’s already achieved. Your book would be a great read for my own grandkids. It was nice meeting you here Joshua.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | November 13, 2011 | Reply

  4. Writing your first story so young makes you wonder where your inspiration came from, your enviornment or the people in your world or just a natural talent.

    Comment by Ann Council | November 13, 2011 | Reply

  5. I am so impressed by Joshua and his abilities. Congratulations on all of your success…I am sue it is just the beginning of a lifetime of achievement!

    Comment by Kelly Moran | November 13, 2011 | Reply

  6. Congratulations, Joshua. You’re fortunate to have a father who promotes you like this. I wish you all the best. I’d like to know what kinds of writing fears you have. All writers have some kind of writing fear and it’s healthy to think about it so you can overcome it..

    Comment by Deborah Owen | November 17, 2011 | Reply

  7. Oh wow I didnt realize the author was so younh, how amazing! I love how he comes up with the concepts in his books and own illustrations. What a talented young man.

    Comment by Larissa Brunken | November 24, 2011 | Reply

Leave a Reply

