Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: The Fuzzy Fella. Ends Nov 13th


 

The Fuzzy Fella by Natascha  Taylor

You know, as mad and crazy as he is, the  Fuzzy Fella can be a bit shy at times. But the truth is, believe me, he can be brave enough and strong enough to seriously save the world. That is, if you can find him. And if you do, be sure to sing it from the top of the nearest mountain!

My Review: You wouldn’t want to know what I thought when I first read this book. I have to read it a second time to understand what Fuzzy Fella was about…LOL! This book is mysterious but it’s one that you will find charming. The story is told in rhymes. Fuzzy Fella likes to grow and stay around and sometimes vanished as quickly into thin air. Sometimes you will look for him and he isn’t there. You could find him in your stomach, or on your finger or arm in arm walking you down to be wed but can not be contained.

So who is this Fuzzy Fella, could he be your vision of love? Well, you have to buy your own copy to find out. Like the book said, a very true story for little kids, big kids and grown ups. Illustrations are funny looking but it does tell the story.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

(Rule 4. Winner/winners will be seleted from either the Book review comments field OR from the Author’s interview comments field.) So it would be best to leave your comment on both.

Giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comments should be left for the Book Review and the Author’s Interview 

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY!

Author is giving a copy to 1 winner. Giveaway Ends November 13th.

Winner will be selected by random.org

1. Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the book and your email address in the comment field below.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there 

https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/interview-with-author-natascha-taylor/#respond

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!

October 29, 2011 Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Interview with Author Natascha Taylor


 

 

 

Self motivated and free spirited, Natascha Taylor has built a career in tandem with her gypsy spirit. She maintains an eclectic client base while seeking adventure across the globe. This has led her to cross fields in the elaborate world of design, securing colleagues and clients of distinction, and enabling her to integrate all aspects of design. She has worked in theatre, the arts, fashion, film, and the corporate sector.

Natascha provides online solutions, identities, packaging, brochures, advertising, copywriting, illustration, animation and more for large corporations to small businesses. Her clients have included Disney, the Xfactor, Cigna International, theBBC, Soundtribe, Sam Sparro, Natalie Williams,TMGMarketing Group and many others. She is driven by her entrepreneurial spirit and collaborates easily, thriving on the creation and realization of unique ideas.

Natascha is also inspired by work that speaks to a greater purpose: working with the incredible hip hop artist Emmanuel Jal, a former child soldier whose warrior heart is set on peace and reconciliation. She contributes to his charitable projects with Gua Africa and now is collaborating on his upcoming Lose to Win Campaign. Among other charities, she has also worked with the Jamaican based charity Open Doors, creating its debut national campaign. Open Doors helps young artists inJamaicaby providing materials and guidance needed to bring the artists’ talents to the world.

Drawing upon her many skills, Natascha created her first children’s book. Philosophical, poetic, and filled with magical transformation, Willow Wise is written from the heart and has been followed by The Fuzzy Fella, The Beetle Barabus and Telephants. Dealing with emotions that reach across humanity these stories have been created to inspire, encourage and warm the hearts of young and old readers alike.

Formally trained, Natascha received a Bachelor’s degree in both illustration and design and she currently lives and works inLondon. Her extensive knowledge and experience continue to drive her – never forgetting that sassy swing kick opening the door to life, love, and laughter.

In her own words, “The greatest achievement in my life has to be birth of my darling daughterPhoenix. While creatively, the ultimate expression of my soul is never better spoken than on a makeshift canvas in the thickness of paint with the slashing of chalk and the pasting of layers, all in intimate conversation with the universe”.

http://www.nischnasch.com/bookshelf/

Interview with  Natascha Taylor author of The Fuzzy Fella 

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read?

My daughter and I have been reading Jonathan Livingston Seagull together. The classic struck a deep chord with me years ago and I am enjoying rediscovering the story with my angel,Phoenix.

What were your earliest memories of writing? My earliest memories of writing reach as far back as I can remember, as a child I wrote many heartfelt letters, I can still recall the purpose and energy behind them. I wrote stories for fun, and recited spontaneous lyrics for my constant impromptu singing. I always dwelled in poetry. It was a steady stream of thought.

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? Writing is something that came naturally; I was very deeply involved in my thoughts and observations of the world around me, and the people I love. Writing down my emotions was always a good feeling. I felt renewed by it.

Are you working on a new book? I am working on releasing several other stories that I have already written. These include Angry Potato Man, The Beetle Barabus, Telephants and Willow Wise. I also have constant creations and true‐life stories turning in my head that I hope to magic into form soon enough.

What inspired you to write The Fuzzy Fella? Many years ago, Neal Dlin who remains one of my most beloved and loyal friends, was prompted by my Mom to describe his feelings for me at the time. My Mom’s response to this “fuzzy feeling” was so innocently delightful. She had an action when she described Neal’s answer to me that was as sweet as a child’s. There was a light in her eyes I can still remember. Neal and I later revelled in our discussion about it, and we brainstormed this vision of love as this fuzzy feeling that is ever changing and could grow as big as a house one day. It was only years later, with the birth of my daughter, that the idea returned to me. Inspired by her, I became driven to finally combine talents and create children ‘s books. Following this I decided to turn the fuzzy feeling into a character for children to identify with and simply understand a deeper emotion. I have been blessed by my understanding and recognition of love in my life and all around; this gave much to reflect on and create from. Love in its simplest form is endless and everywhere, in everything…. I like that.

What was your favorite children’s book? I had many favourite stories as a child…classics like The Ugly Duckling and The Giving Tree…but I think my favourites were probably these little tiny beauties from our relatives inAustria. They were little books of different flowers and the fairies that lived in them…. another with little chefs cooking cookies in heaven. I didn’t understand a word as they were written in German, but they were the most beautiful things to look at. My Mom’s voice reading them was the perfect lullaby.

What was the most difficult part when writing The Fuzzy Fella? Writing The Fuzzy Fella flowed easily; producing the book was the harder step. Challenges of all kinds presented themselves and had to be overcome while maintaining self‐belief throughout any and all pitfalls. My father’s stroke ultimately pushed me to take the final risks. A promise I made to him while he could still hold my hand is one that could not be broken…it is a moment that will forever be imprinted on my soul and drive me beyond any doubt.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books? Outside of writing and promoting books I am also a designer, illustrator and artist. I travel as often as possible, driven by adventure, by family and by friends all around the world. And, of course, my most important incarnation is being a Momma.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? I hope that readers will take away their own understanding of the book…something that is sparked…a memory or a feeling. And if they are to take something from my words…I hope that it will be to come to understand that love truly is all around us. It is in the simplicity and beauty of life. Even in the ugliest or most painful moments of life, it can always be found. To truly understand the power of love, you must be willing to let go, only then can you embrace its infinite and glorious freedom.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? There are so many… Vikram Chandra for breathtaking Indian imagery and storytelling in Red Earth Pouring Rain. Mikhail Bulgakov for his posthumous magnum opus that is The Master and Margarita. Naomi Wolf for her brave gift of Misconceptions. Elizabeth Gilbert for her open spirituality and humour.

Kurt Vonnegut for his incredible style; Tom Robbins for the same reason. The heroic Antoine de Saint‐Exupéry for his deep insight in The Little Prince, a classic children’s book to dazzle readers of any age. This table would be filled with so many more guests ever after…and certainly would also include Gregory David Roberts.

What author inspires you the most and why? Gregory David Roberts inspires me the most at the moment because Shantaram has been the most engaging novel I have ever read. He writes about his own life with a laid back kind of honesty and humour I find pure genius. He is poetic and brave with an incredible ability to recall and charmingly retell real events of his life. The story is free spirited and unbelievably adventurous. He can beautifully illustrate even the most brutal of moments, and romanticize shady characters in a way so true to life. He is a true maverick…a kindred spirit. I cried my eyes out, and laughed just as hard.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I use very minute available to me to work, write, illustrate, promote, plan etc., and every minute unavailable to germinate ideas. Every moment of the day, no matter what you are doing or where you are, ideas present themselves. I hang on to as many as possible and grab the nearest pen.

What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? Let your children lead you.

What advice you would give to new writers? Don’t hold back, and be yourself. Use your own voice.

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? I have been developing a project based around The Fuzzy Fella. The project was tested on a primary school here inEnglandand is currently being adapted for integration at a correctional facility inCanada. This facility works to rehabilitate juvenile female offenders; these girls come from various and unbelievably challenging backgrounds. I look forward to the results and I anticipate adapting this project further as an anti‐bullying campaign. If there are any teachers or parents out there that may be interested in being involved please contact projectfuzz@nischnasch.com and follow the fella on facebook for updates, as well as general fun: www.facebook.com/FuzzyFella And OH! … Happiness, joy and peace to all of them also ;).

Thank you for this interview.

 

 

October 29, 2011 Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , , | 7 Comments

In My Mailbox #25


Look what I found in my mailbox this week to review and giveaway

 

Bettina the Bold: A Blind Butterfly Discovers How to Make Friends and CD written by Fiona Page

 

Secret Agent Jack Stalwart: The Hunt for the Yeti Skull by Elizabeth Singer Hunt

 

Secret Agent Jack Stalwart: The Mission to find Max by Elizabeth Singer Hunt

 

 

The Tinking Girl’s Treasury of Dastardly Dames. CIXI “The Dragon Empress” By Natasha Yim

 

In My Mailbox was started in November of 2008 by The Story Siren. This is a great way to feature Author’s books even though it might not be in the form of a review. In My Mailbox is a great way for bloggers to socialize and network their blogs, it’s also a great way for bloggers to share upcoming releases!

Anyone can participate in IMM and you are not limited to only sharing books that arrive via your mailbox. You can also share books that you’ve bought or books that you’ve gotten at the library

October 29, 2011 Posted by | In My Mailbox | , , , , , | 2 Comments

Book Review: Thank you, God, for loving me by Max Lucado


Thank you, God, for loving me by Max Lucado is a charming board book about Little Hermie the Caterpillar.

The first page shows Hermie kneeling to pray beneath an autumn tree bowing his head and saying, “Thank you, God, for loving me”. Hermie is so grateful that he goes on to thank God for watching over him and taking good care of him through each and every day. What a powerful message to show children how to communicate with God and know that God really cares for them. Even when they are afraid of the dark or have a gloomy day, God will always be there.

The rhyming text is simple to read and the illustrations are colorful and captivating. I highly recommend this book.

To order a copy visit http://www.amazon.com/Thank-Loving-Lucados-Little-Hermie/dp/1400318041/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>:“Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

October 29, 2011 Posted by | Book Review | , , , , | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,418 other followers

