Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Interview with Author Jan May


Jan May is a gifted writer and veteran homeschool mother of two. With over 20 years of teaching experience, her love for creative writing and her passion for well-educated children with godly character have formed the content of these books.

She is the Co-Author along with Karine Bauch of Creative and Crafty Writing the fun way to get kids to write. She is a graduate of the Institute of Children’s Literature and has a college background in Biblical Studies and Christian Education from North Central University, Minneapolis, Minnesota. http://www.newmillenniumgirlbooks.com/default.html

Interview with Jan May, author of The New Millennium Girls Curriculum

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? Joyce Meyer’s Power Thoughts. It is an amazingly encouraging book that has gotten me through some rough days.

What were your earliest memories of writing? I remember doing a report for Biology in high school on human cells thinking, “That was cool.”

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I wasn’t really encouraged in any of my homework as a child. It wasn’t until I was in a college composition class that I realized words could dance on a page and I loved it.

Are you working on a new book? Yes: Cali’s Contest of Courage. It’s a story about a little girl who wants to grow up and be just like her photo journalist father who also happens to be a Sergeant in the military. They excitedly join the: I’m Crazy for Critters Photo Contest together, thinking that this will be the greatest summer ever.  WhenCali’s dad gets untimely deployed toAfghanistan, she wonders if she can pull it off without him. Too make matters worse, her dad becomes missing in action and the family moves across the country to be with her grandma. The photos she takes all the along the way are good, but not the big picture she wants to win the contest. What will the future bring? It’s a great adventure of faith as she begins to realize that life is not all about her and God can help her through anything.

How did you come up with each character in your book? I think many of my characters  are a mixture of people that I grew up with, those all around me now, and people I have read about and liked. Of course I get to change them into what I want them to be, that’s the fun part.

If you were to chose a character from your book, which one would it be? I am most like Isabel. I was a big tomboy growing up; climbing trees, fishing, and NOT wearing dresses!

What was your favorite children’s book? As a child, it was Dr. Seuss’ Put me in the Zoo. I read it hundreds of times.

What is the most difficult part of writing? Revising and editing. It’s easy for me to write down my thoughts when the creativity is flowing. I enjoy visiting with my characters but I don’t enjoy the technical part as much.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?  I love gardening, photography, (much likeCali) and teaching creative writing to children. They honestly are the most creative people on the planet.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I haven’t had a bad review, but I have had writers block. I usually get out and do something in nature to clear my mind, have lunch with a friend, or go shopping. Sometimes I run my ideas past my husband, who gives me a fresh insight into my characters. That gets me going again.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? Encouragement that they can do anything, hope that life can get better, faith that God cares about everything in their lives and will help them reach their dreams.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Jan Karon. I love her Mitford books; she made me feel right at home with her quaint town and familiar characters. It was like visiting with family.

What author inspires you the most and why? Joyce Meyers, she writes about positive thinking and reaching your greatest potential.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I am a part time teacher so I write on the off days. I write several times a week, sometimes all day long taking breaks for laundry or a phone call.

 What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? In this day and age I think we have lost our moral compass. Choosing books that have a good take away lesson, where right is rewarded and wrong is punished are great reads for kids. I love how the schools are reinforcing this with their Character Counts programs. Ask around. Many parents are already familiar with some books their children have read. Librarians also can steer you in the right direction if you tell them what you are looking for.

What advice you would give to new writers? Keep at it! If you love it, that’s all the reason you need to keep going. Don’t give up! It’s a slow turn around business but it’s worth it when someone walks up to you and says, “I love your book and the chapter when…”

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? There are so many different needs for writers out there. Follow your goals and dreams by discovering where your gifts can shine. I really believe what the Good Book says, “A man’s gifting will make room for him.”

Thank you for this interview.

October 28, 2011 - Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. What wonderful ideas this author brings to young readers. I admire authors who care about morals and the take away for young minds. Looking forward to reading these books and sharing them with kids who might enjoy them.

    Comment by Terri Forehand | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Jan May seems to be a very passonate and dedicated author and (whether i win or not) i am definately going to look up and read her books. As someone who is interested in writing and i am also currently trying to write a novel myself, i cannot begin to say how ‘spured on’ i am by reading about her; she is a true role model!! xx

    From:
    Miss. L Fountain (lfountain1@hotmail.co.uk)

    Mad book enthusiast and lover of literature… xx

    Comment by Lucinda Fountain | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thanks so much for the interview and sharing your lovely books with us.
    Made me smile when you mentioned that you don’t like the editing and revision part of writing. My daughter (10 yrs old) is an author. She is so creative and comes up with amazing story lines. She has said the same thing. Her mind gets going on an idea and she doesn’t like to slow down to correct spellings or punctuation until after her idea has been put down on the paper.
    lisa.otis6 at gmail dot com

    Comment by lisawith4 | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  4. I am really glad I read about you here. I, too, am a homeschooling mom and cautious about what my children read. It is nice to learn of an author who shares the same concerns. Thank you for doing what you do!

    Comment by Ann W (@anncrabs) | October 29, 2011 | Reply

  5. A wonderful book. Our children need encouragement and faith in their lives. Your book sounds so unique and I really am looking forward to introducing it to my Granddaughter. Happy to meet you here Jan. :)
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    Comment by Carol L. | October 29, 2011 | Reply

  6. My daughter LOVES to read and I think that she would be very excited to receive these books. I think they are on the Christmas list! :) Thank-you for writing books that I can trust to be of value to my daughters!

    Nikki

    Comment by Nikki Gonzalez | October 30, 2011 | Reply

  7. Hi! The Institute of Children’s Literature sounds very interesting. I’m going to have to check that one out. The concept of the Creative Writing for kids sounds very interesting and I can’t wait to see this book closer. Thanks so much! Tina

    Comment by Tina Peterson | October 30, 2011 | Reply

  8. I am really glad I read this interview of yours , theres not alot of Authors with your outlook on morals and children keeping faith , my 11 yr old daughter loves to write little stories , and she tries to add a little of what she learned that week in church to her stories , I think it;s Wonderful !!
    Crystal Trent Dotson
    cfcbc@netzero.com

    Comment by Crystal Trent Dotson | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  9. Jan is such a source of inspiration! My two boys (11 and 13) love to write stories thanks to her creative writing class. She helps them bring their creativity and talent to the surface. I love her books too, because they bring a good story together with good and positive lessons!

    Comment by Claire Larsen | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  10. Thank you everyone for your kind comments! Look for my special Christmas Bundles with Free Holiday Craft Book Download. May you all have a blessed day!

    Comment by Jan | November 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,419 other followers

