Mymcbooks's Blog

Keepsake that Educates!

Book Review and Giveaway: Creative Writing Made Easy! Ends Nov 13th


Creative Writing Made Easy!

Paper Doll and Craft Book

The New Millennium Girls Curriculum: Creative Writing Made Easy -introducing Isabel & Isabel’s Closet-paper doll book written by Jan May, illustrated by Juliana Davis.

Isabel is a spirited eleven year old girl who lives on Angel Ridge Horse Ranch in the little town ofMistySprings,Colorado. “Winners never quit and quitters never win, for I serve the mighty God that lives deep within!” This has been her faith motto since she was three years old. Can her faith help her beat Kip Johnson in the bare back race this Thanksgiving, even though she’s a girl? Will it help her uncover the family secret that Grandmother Biltmore never wants her to find out? Will she survive “girl” camp? Follow Isabel and her lovable horse, Starlight, on a wonderful adventure in faith and find out in this chapter book for girls ages 8-12.

This is a fun and exciting creative writing curriculum designed to eliminate the work for the teacher. It is user friendly for grades 3 – 6 with easy step by step instructions. Whether your student is a skilled writer or just starting out, this curriculum will inspire a love for writing. A wonderful paper doll project is presented in each lesson that will keep your students happily busy for hours. The twelve lessons take the student from creating a character to developing a setting and plot. Learn things such as “Show Don’t Tell” and how to punch up your dialogue.

My Review: The author created this curriculum for Christian students which have been designed to easily guide the student through the writing process. The 12 steps help the student to develop a character, develop a themes and story ideas, create a plot and a setting, show, and don’t tell. Now you can begin to write the beginning of your story, writing dialogue that works the middle and the ending, how to spice up your story, editing your story and putting it all together.  

The companion book, Creative Writing Made Easy! A Paper Doll and Craft Book has 32 pages of clothing to design and  color, hairstyles and instructions on how to create a fun folder closet with bedrooms and scenery. These creative and interactive books will not only help students who would like to become a writer but have fun with the paper doll project. The author Jan May describes the New Millennium Girls as an ordinary girl with faith in an extraordinary God, growing up in New Millennium.

FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion in any way.

 

Giveaway Rules

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Giveaway Guidelines and Disclaimer

https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/giveaway-guidelines-disclaimer/

Comments like these would be deleted – Great contest, Please enter me, Love to win this!, This is so cute! So please leave a helpful comment relating to this book.

PLEASE FOLLOW ALL MANDATORY RULES – Rules not followed will be deleted immediately.

(Rule 4. Winner/winners will be seleted from either the Book review comments field OR from the Author’s interview comments field.) So it would be best to leave your comment on both.

Giveaway

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comments should be left for the Book Review and the Author’s Interview 

This Giveaway is Open to the US ONLY – Author is giving both copies to 1 winner. Giveaway Ends November 13th.

 

1. Mandatory: Please leave your comment about the book and your email address in the comment field below.

2. Mandatory Entry: Please click link below and read the author’s interview and leave a comment there 

https://mymcbooks.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/interview-with-author-jan-may/#respond

 

Do Not Forget to Click the link

above to leave Your Comment

  about the interview also!

October 28, 2011 Posted by | Book Review, Free Giveaways | , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Interview with Author Jan May


Jan May is a gifted writer and veteran homeschool mother of two. With over 20 years of teaching experience, her love for creative writing and her passion for well-educated children with godly character have formed the content of these books.

She is the Co-Author along with Karine Bauch of Creative and Crafty Writing the fun way to get kids to write. She is a graduate of the Institute of Children’s Literature and has a college background in Biblical Studies and Christian Education from North Central University, Minneapolis, Minnesota. http://www.newmillenniumgirlbooks.com/default.html

Interview with Jan May, author of The New Millennium Girls Curriculum

I want to thank you for being my guest here on Mymcbooks Blog

What is the last book you read? Joyce Meyer’s Power Thoughts. It is an amazingly encouraging book that has gotten me through some rough days.

What were your earliest memories of writing? I remember doing a report for Biology in high school on human cells thinking, “That was cool.”

Were you encouraged to write or was it something that came natural? I wasn’t really encouraged in any of my homework as a child. It wasn’t until I was in a college composition class that I realized words could dance on a page and I loved it.

Are you working on a new book? Yes: Cali’s Contest of Courage. It’s a story about a little girl who wants to grow up and be just like her photo journalist father who also happens to be a Sergeant in the military. They excitedly join the: I’m Crazy for Critters Photo Contest together, thinking that this will be the greatest summer ever.  WhenCali’s dad gets untimely deployed toAfghanistan, she wonders if she can pull it off without him. Too make matters worse, her dad becomes missing in action and the family moves across the country to be with her grandma. The photos she takes all the along the way are good, but not the big picture she wants to win the contest. What will the future bring? It’s a great adventure of faith as she begins to realize that life is not all about her and God can help her through anything.

How did you come up with each character in your book? I think many of my characters  are a mixture of people that I grew up with, those all around me now, and people I have read about and liked. Of course I get to change them into what I want them to be, that’s the fun part.

If you were to chose a character from your book, which one would it be? I am most like Isabel. I was a big tomboy growing up; climbing trees, fishing, and NOT wearing dresses!

What was your favorite children’s book? As a child, it was Dr. Seuss’ Put me in the Zoo. I read it hundreds of times.

What is the most difficult part of writing? Revising and editing. It’s easy for me to write down my thoughts when the creativity is flowing. I enjoy visiting with my characters but I don’t enjoy the technical part as much.

What do you do when you’re not writing or promoting your books?  I love gardening, photography, (much likeCali) and teaching creative writing to children. They honestly are the most creative people on the planet.

How do you react to a bad review and have you ever suffered from writer’s block? I haven’t had a bad review, but I have had writers block. I usually get out and do something in nature to clear my mind, have lunch with a friend, or go shopping. Sometimes I run my ideas past my husband, who gives me a fresh insight into my characters. That gets me going again.

What do you hope that readers will take away from your book? Encouragement that they can do anything, hope that life can get better, faith that God cares about everything in their lives and will help them reach their dreams.

Who are some of your favorite authors you would love to dine with? Jan Karon. I love her Mitford books; she made me feel right at home with her quaint town and familiar characters. It was like visiting with family.

What author inspires you the most and why? Joyce Meyers, she writes about positive thinking and reaching your greatest potential.

What discipline do you impose on yourself regarding schedules, goals, etc.? I am a part time teacher so I write on the off days. I write several times a week, sometimes all day long taking breaks for laundry or a phone call.

 What advice would you give parents on selecting the right books for their children to read? In this day and age I think we have lost our moral compass. Choosing books that have a good take away lesson, where right is rewarded and wrong is punished are great reads for kids. I love how the schools are reinforcing this with their Character Counts programs. Ask around. Many parents are already familiar with some books their children have read. Librarians also can steer you in the right direction if you tell them what you are looking for.

What advice you would give to new writers? Keep at it! If you love it, that’s all the reason you need to keep going. Don’t give up! It’s a slow turn around business but it’s worth it when someone walks up to you and says, “I love your book and the chapter when…”

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers? There are so many different needs for writers out there. Follow your goals and dreams by discovering where your gifts can shine. I really believe what the Good Book says, “A man’s gifting will make room for him.”

Thank you for this interview.

October 28, 2011 Posted by | Meet the Author | , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,418 other followers

